We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Lake Palace" OR "Palace on Lake"”
Review of Lake Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Palace Resort
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Dear travelers

Good points
beautiful resort, location awesome, clean and tidy, good food, swimming pool awesome.

Bad points:
-Doctor on call service not available after evening. As the resort is purely situated on lake side. doctor not easily available on a go..
-Little attitude of the few staff noticed.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yours_Truely101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Customer.

Thanks for choosing Lake Palace as your holiday destination and writing back to us with your feedback.
We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities which our resort has to offer specially the ambiance ,location , amenities and the recreation facilities.

Lake Palace is situated on the island as the access is through water in 18 Acres with all the rooms facing the lake and having many activities to keep our customers busy during their stay from water sports to indoor activities with Ayurveda being a must try .

You would be interested to know that we have a vast collection of Imported and Indian wines from different parts of the continent for our customers and also we are coming up with our live Sea food specialty restaurant and Bar and a new recreation center.

At Lake Palace, customer feedback is very important to us and your concern has been taken up with utmost priority with concerned.

You would be interested to know during emergency medical situation our customers are taken care off by providing them with immediate transfers to the nearest hospital by Motor boats or car so they get appropriate medical assistance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon .

Thanking you once again for your trust in our services
.
Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 391 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was there in this resort on April 11-12,2012 to organise an orientation programme.Travelled from Cochin to Alleppy,Alappuzha in kerala in India, by road and then by Boat organised by Lake Palace hotel.Very good cruise from mainland to Resort.After check in formalities ,which infact was not a smooth process,we had our Lunch in the restaurant.There appears to be a case for definite improvement towards smooth process of checkin.Similarly,the check out process is also very slow and irritatiing.I found only one person who has shown some keen interest to attend our guests ..Front Desk require reorientation and close supervision to make this Resort, which is surrounded by backwaters and beautiful location, a much more attractive.Food in the restaurant is very much satisfactory.But requires attention towards cleanliness.Conference room is well attended.House keeping is good.They attended the AC problem immediately.Rooms are certainly well maintained.But balcony of the rooms was very dirty.Smelling with Pigeon/birds? Room service needs attention and improvement in prompt service.Assessment of Manpower requirement in resorts of this nature should be entirely different than other hotels.All these are very little and insignificant constraints to enjoy nature,beauty ,culture and a feeling of comfort.The sunset cruise was very much enjoyable.We enjoyed a cocktail dinner.Infact the resort has an excellent property.I had a very good morning walk on 12th April.Let me share that I have experienced earthquake in the afternoon of 11 April,2012 i.e after my checkin to the room and before my Lunch.I was not really scared .My room was just on lake,-very closure to reception.
All said & done --.one should experience atleast a day and night stay in this Resort ,surrounded by beautiful nature,with members of family ,which I was deprived off.Lake Palace has an excellent potential to attract both domestic and international .

Room Tip: Obviously room on almost waters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bhima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Customer.

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your comments and recommendations with regards to your recent stay at Lake Palace Resort as feedback is very important for us and help us improve so we can come up to our guest satisfaction.
Its good to hear that your experience with the sunset cruise was good and you enjoyed the beauty of the property.
As advised by you regarding the Slow Check in and check Out process and the cleanliness, i ,would personally look into the matter as its a matter of concern for us and would be taken up with the concerned.
It might interest you that we are starting with a full refurbishment of our guest rooms, as well as our lobby, bar and restaurant and also coming up with our Specialty Sea food restaurant and Bar.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at lake palace so you could experience the resort as its meant to be with our customary high level of services.

Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had checked-in the resort on 2nd August, 2012. It was not a planned stay and was a "forced" one due to Public "Hartaal" (Strike) called by a political party. In Kerala, everything comes to a standstill during such "Hartaals". But it was a blessing in disguise as stay had been memorable. The property was excellent, very well maintained and is in the middle of backwaters. Rooms were very spacious and neat and clean with a good sized double bed. Toiletries provided too were of excellent quality. Lush green lawns, a big well maintained swimming pool, a good club house added to the attraction. However, billiards table need to be replaced or repaired due to torn cloth. The staff was very courteous and well mannered. You would get to know interesting facts from the staff and if I correctly remember the name of one Restaurant manager, Mr. Joseph, who told us so many interesting aspects about Alleppey. We missed on certain services like Spa, massage etc due to Hartaal, but we were conveyed that it had happened for the first time that services of the hotel has been distrupted. Lunch was not that good due to scaricity of the staff but hotel made all out efforts in fulfilling the basic requirement both in terms of food and housekeeping. During evening, after the strike got over, normalcy was restored and we enjoyed thouroughly. Hotel has a good bar, at a reasonable price too. Most of the brands are available. Food (south Indian) is good. Even north Indian food is "OK" with chapaatis need lot of improvement. Breakfast in the morning was not that lavish but still had a good variety - mainly south indian. The added attraction has been complimentary motor boat ride for about 1 hour in the backwaters of Alleppey. Though it was not a new experience for us as we had already spent a night in the houseboat but still a good experience. I would advise travellers to stay in Lake Palace instaed of spending a night in houseboat as you would be able to enjoy the luxury as well as backwater experience by way of complimentary motor boat ride and staying in the midst of water, away from mosquitos that becomes a menace in houseboat. Overall a memorable stay and is strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guptam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Dear Customer.

Thanks for choosing Lake Palace as your holiday destination and for a warm response.

Its the team effort which makes the guest experience to be a perfect and memorable one .We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities resort has to offer specially the ambiance , amenities and the recreation facilities.

Lake Palace is situated on the island as the access is through water in 18 Acres with all the rooms facing the lake and having many activities to keep our customers busy during their stay from water sports to indoor activities with Ayurveda being a must try .

You would be interested to know that we have a vast collection of Imported and Indian wines from different parts of the continent for our customers and also we are coming up with our live Sea food specialty restaurant and Bar and a new recreation center.

Strike is an unfortunate event as everything comes to a stand still , would apologies for the inconvenience caused due to that specially with the food as staffing couldn't be reinstated due to no movement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our property very soon.
Thanking you once again for your trust in our services and recommendation.

Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Hi,

It is a fabulous experience in Lake Palace Resort which we would like to share with the Trip Advisor Viewers!!

We are an Finnish MNC with sales and service activity in india for more than Six Years!!

Every Year we have a Sales Conference for our Customers & Partners in August!!

When it came for this year we planned to make it to the god's own country and chose Alleppey / Kumarakom as the destination.

Me & other colleague as event co-ordinator for this conference went in look out for few resort and freeze one!!

After looking on some other resort we Visited Lake Palace which was very impressive in the first time itself!!

The Reservation Manager Mr. Jobby Kuriakose was the one who took us around the resort and finally we took a decision to go ahead with this resort.

We had this event for four days and had guest's from all across India & Foreign.

The Check in was in express speed as none of our guest had to wait for more than Two Minutes to move out of reception and to the Buggi!! The Front Desk Manager Mr. Prajith had put in his concentrated effort in making this possible! Thanks to Him!!

The Rooms were fantastic with everything clean and neatly organized and gave a good feeler to all the guests!!

Even when there was some small issues coming in from some rooms on no water in pipe, the Engineering team swiftly acted to rectify the issue which was due to the damage in main pipeline because of some civil maintenance!!

When it came for the Conference arrangement the hall was prepared neatly as per our requirement with all the basic conference requirements placed neatly well organized before the guest checking in.

The F&B department (Mr. Shibu & Team) made sumptuous food. Even though the varieties provided in buffet was less (hopefully 3 Course) everybody enjoyed the taste food at all three times and all four days!!

It was a fantastic co-ordination between all the teams to see that the program flows smooth without flaws!!

And Finally to end up this experience, We from Vacon Team Thank Jobby Kuriakose who was a one point contact for us towards any requirement for all 4 days x 24hrs(literally we had a serious doubt when he slept??) and made this event memorable for the Whole of team.

We personally recommend viewers to try this resort as it gives you lot of sweet memories after you reach home!!!

Thanks to Lake palace Team for such a nice Property and services!!

Best Regards,
Rahul
VACON DRIVES & CONTROLS.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank srivatsav_rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Mr Rahul

Thank you very much for taking the time to let us have your comments and recommendations with regards to your recent stay at Lake Palace Resort.

Feedback is the essential tool we depend on at Lake Palace to ensure the level of services are maintained and up to our guest satisfaction.
Would request you to keep visiting our website for upcoming events and updates.and look forward to see you again with your friends and family.

Thank You once again for being a wonderful guest and having trust in us.

Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The location of this hotel is fantastic, when I step onto my terrace, it feels like I'm in heaven. The hotel itself is good. I really loved the food over there. The room was a bit far from the reception, but it just made for a better view, as it was in the middle of the resort. The rooms were good, clean and spacious.

If you are there ask them for the river cruise lunch. It was amazing.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASRomar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed at the Lake View Room.
The room was nice, spacious, clean and well decorated.
Food at the buffet was decent, they have cultural programs during dinner which is not bad either.
The sunset cruise provided by the resort was very pleasant.
The hotel also has a canoe ride, fitted with a motor. It can take you to local places that the big boats cannot. The ride was very enjoyable and the driver was also friendly
The Ayurvedic massage center is was good.

The check in was very slow was made to wait 2 hrs even when i checked in around 12 pm.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLP, General Manager at Lake Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Customer.

Thanks for taking out your valuable time and providing us with your valuable feedback. and Its good to hear that you enjoyed our property and services.
It Might Interest you that we at Lake Palace Resort are going for an Overall Up gradation of the property and will be starting soon with our Specialty Sea Food Restaurant and Bar.
As advised by you regarding the Slow Check ,would personally look into the matter as its a matter of concern for us ,
Moreover it would be helpful if you can provide us with your exact check in Dates with the guest name.
You can reach me directly at dgm@lakepalaceresort.com.

Arjun Kohli (DGM Operations)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here for 2 days and it was really a nice and comfortable stay, we dint find any problems with services or anything. food is good enough, I really like the breakfast:) moreover, They have good evening ferry which shows us sun set and outer area. It was really wonderful to see where the famous boat races are held.The atmosphere is very cool and peaceful. I want to stay more but as we have other places to see, i couldn't .So, all in all ,Nice and relaxing resort:)

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dev24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
720 reviews
22.1 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.3 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
614 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
2.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Palace Resort

Address: Thirumala Ward,Alleppey | Chungam, Alappuzha 688011, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $158 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Palace Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Palace is a Five star luxury backwater resort located in Alleppey at the banks of Vembanadu Lake, adjacent to the venue of the legendary Nehru Trophy boat race. Lake Palace Resort represents a quaint tradition, blended with modernity. Its architecture is delightfully Keralite yet comfortably modern and rich in contemporary ethos. Each of its rooms is individually decorated with a dramatic blend of old-world charm and modern accessories. While the Lake View Cottages feature a cozy lounge with mini bar, refrigerator, television, king size bedroom, en-suite bathroom with hot & cold running water and 24 hours room service, the Water Villas offer the rare feeling of being afloat. Its facilities include king size bedrooms that are beautifully appointed rooms with wooden furniture, en-suite bathrooms and 24 hours room service. Every balcony at Lake View Cottage offers a unassailable view of the unruffled Vembanadu Lake where the traditional country boats & canoes cruise gently along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Palace Hotel Alappuzha
Lake Palace Alappuzha
Lake Palace Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing