We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy and Stingy - and they try to rip you off as well” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Filthy and Stingy - and they try to rip you off as well”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2010

We had booked this hotel on a travel site couple of months ago for our honeymoon. Had seen good no. of facilities advertised in the hotel including pool and all. This was last leg of our trip and were looking for a nice hotel to round it up after having good exp. in Munnar and Thekkady. It was not to be. On asking for a nice room, we were given a room with scribbling on the wall, a small bed for 2 people to fit in, and one with hangings on bathroom which were coming out ! On asking for a change reception first said no room available but then on insisting said they had one which had too separate beds.. NO thanks to that ofcourse !
We thought maybe drinks by the poolside would be nice.. BUT the pool was under maintenance .. not even the lights were on when we went up top to this dry pool. Finally , asked front desk - a thing guy called Gomsy or Tonsy regarding early morning auto for our train. Chap shows he is thinking and says no auto available..but can book cab. Okay .. so how much for cab. Chap smiles and says 400-500 bucks for the 2 km ride.
So.. i told him to take a ride himself and said we'd try our luck.. In the early morning we found an auto within 2 minutes of going outside who took us to the the station.

Moral of the story - not only are they filthy and stingy, they will also try and take you for a ride. Book this hotel only if you've money to blow.... on useless things.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voyager_umesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    36
    14
    27
See reviews for
74
47
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2010

I'll remember my Alleppey trip forever, apart from great Back waters..another good reason will be that hotel. Best buffet dinner I had in Kerala...nice staff, great food, value for money. This hotel was a part of my package tour. Thanx to tour operator. Rooms were nicely decorated...one shouldn't miss the food specially the authentic Malayali non -veg cuisines here.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saikat_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

The hotel is located 3-4 km within railway station. The hotel is advertised as a city hotel, so do not expect a breathtaking view from windows. The appearance, cleanliness and hygiene is excellent. I should say the cleanliness and hygiene is comparable to the best anywhere in world. The value-for-money for this hotel is solid.
Best Experience: The cleanliness of the entire hotel and the minimalistic no-nonsense ambience is the asset for this hotel. However, the english/hindi proficiency of the staff has room for improvement. We missed the important fact that breakfast was complimentary (while checking in). Generally, it is the custom for the person at check-in counter to clearly explain (if required with a printed pamphlet) the facilities (complimentary or otherwise) to the customer.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimvaghese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2010

It was a last minute booking, and thankfully Arcadia hotel had a room available. Two women traveling by taxi in search of a hotel at night isn't the safest thing to do in an unfamilar location. I quickly used my mobile web, looked up hotels on TripAdvisor for the best reviews, and I found Arcadia to be one of the top ranking places.

The entrance was spanking clean, and it seemed like a professional, better-class hotel than the ones we passed by along the way. Should I mention that this is right off the main highway - which is a huge plus for travelers on the go!

There is plenty of parking for taxis and personal vehicles.

We didn't eat food at the restaurant, but were told that they served very decent meals. We did order coffee, and it wasn't the best and service is very slow.

The bell boy came to get our bags from our room the next morning, but failed to use common sense. It was raining outside, and he still insisted on taking our luggage down the steps without first checking where our taxi was.

Overall, the experience was good. The price was reasonable. And - most importantly, it was safe.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank w0rldtraveler373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

It's an average hotel: Everything you can expect from a real hotel with not much more (ok, some of the food is good).
But the room rates are really good. For that price, I have seen much worse in Kerala. So, if you are interesting in staying for the night, the Arcasia Regency is perfect. Clean, cheap, centrally located, and with all the additional services you might need.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ooe_stz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2010

I Visited There in a round trip to Kerela,My wife,me & my children enjoyed staying there the room was very good,beds were good, bathroom was also very good,luggage space rooftop swimming pool,centalised A/c was also working fine.

We liked the stay & would recommened every body who would like to travel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vipulkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

This is a very neat place. Kerala itself is very nice. It makes your trip more enjoyable if you choose good place to stay. We stayed here and liked it a lot. Rooms were cozy and comfortable. Food was also good.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choose77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel AJ Park
Hotel AJ Park
#20 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alleppey Prince Hotel
Alleppey Prince Hotel
#48 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
Pagoda Resorts Alleppey
#52 of 67 in Alappuzha
3.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Bonanza
Hotel Bonanza
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#3 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey

Property: Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey
Address: Near Iron Bridge, Alappuzha 688001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Regency Alleppey
Arcadia Regency Hotel Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing