We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank god for Raheem”
Review of Raheem Residency

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raheem Residency
Ranked #27 of 214 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 5, 2013

A friend and i ended up staying at Raheem residency for 1 night after i got really sick and we could not continue with our plans. We turned up one morning without a reservation as i needed a place to stay as have been pretty sick for the 2 nights before. Thank God they had a room available for us. We opted for the superior double room which was huge (especially the bathroom) next to the pool at a very good price, they do special offers so make sure you ask. The room was gorgeous cool very clean and what i needed to get better. The service was great and the pool area was really nice to get some rest and chill out as well as cool down. unfortunately you cannot swim at the beach which is opposite so it was quite nice to be able to cool down in the pool. My friend tried the ayverdic massage as well but was not really impressed as we had much better and cheaper while in the region. We also booked a table at the restaurant that night as i was feeling much better. The food was great but due to my stomach problems i was not able to try traditional cuisine. It is more expensive than what you can get around there but great little restaurant and even the international food menu was pretty good. Staying there definitely made us feel like we treated ourselves as it was a lovely little oasis and i definitely left the place feeling much better. If you were to stay, I think 2 days is enough. Overall great place to stay a little away from the hustle and bustle of the town and few meters away from the beach if you fancy a sunset walk.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the superior rooms which are by the pool. Maybe a bit more expensive but great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vassia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 249 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

This hotel really showed me that a good hotel makes or breaks a trip. After staying in 2 terrible hotels in Allephey, not picking this hotel sooner was one of the biggest regrets of the trip.

The restored hotel is really beautiful, the pool is lovely (since the Arabian Sea is a pretty sketchy place to swim with the rip tides), the staff were great, and the food excellent.

Although its close to the beach things usually shutdown around 10pm so its not too bad in terms of getting sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bza2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Sorry but the Raheem Residency offered more than it delivered. Very hard bed, no fridge, no tea/coffee facilities in room, jugs of luke warm water provided, with no fridge, this soon became to warm to drink. An owner who deliberately avoided the guests. On its plus sides the food, the staff and pool were very good. The staff especially were very friendly and hospitable. Relaxing and cross the road and you are on the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank jayefsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed here for just the one night and I second all the comments regarding the look of the place - it really is lovely - and the staff couldn't have been more efficient or friendly. However, there were no curtains or shutters on any of the windows in the room we stayed in (think it was called Beta) so consequently we woke up when the sun came up (which was really frustrating.) Couple this with the fact that the hotel is close to the railway line and the horns from the late evening/night trains also disrupted our sleep and you have two tired tourists! Ultimately, the first thing a hotel should offer is a good night's sleep and we didn't get it here.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank MissGDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The charming details of this heritage home really made my stay here so pleasant. The elegant wood, careful landscaping, and brilliantly colored textiles added to the ambiance, and I could sense the history as I sat and read in the veranda. During our stay, the staff was very warm and attentive as well.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DawnMarie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

A beautiful home, tastefully renovated and decorated, with ample space both in the rooms and in the common areas. The furniture is vintage or almost, and we loved the Kerala umbrellas swaying in the wind, the fresh flowers and colorful cushions.
That staff is mostly helpful, with a sometimes surprising reluctance to accommodate simple requests though, such as a massage after 5 PM (this did not seem outlandish, especially for a resort that boasts its "Ayurvedic clinic"). I booked the first night online and got a last minute reservation rate, but when we decided to extend our stay once there, the same rate was not spontaneously offered and we had to insist to get it...
Cleanliness is not an issue but the smell of linen and of the room in general was problematic, and verging on the moldy.
Breakfast is good yet minimal and houseboats certainly shouldn't be booked from the hotel, as they cost double the price that they are offered for in town !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth33000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After a 'hard' holiday in Madras, Raheem Residency was a savior! It was a family holiday, 3 couples and 2 children. We booked 3 rooms at this bungalow and was pleased to find that we were the only ones there. There are only 7 rooms in this hotel, and all the rooms were unique and special. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and kind! Food was great and the spa treatment was good. Highly recommended

Room Tip: There is a family suit opposite the spa. Great for a family of 5!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheriza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
6.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 71 in Alappuzha
646 reviews
10.2 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Motty's Homestay
Motty's Homestay
#30 of 71 in Alappuzha
103 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#12 of 214 in Alappuzha
114 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 185 in Alappuzha
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raheem Residency? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raheem Residency

Address: Beach Road | alappuzha, Alappuzha 688012, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 214 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $96 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Raheem Residency 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Raheem Residency at Alleppey Beach, one hour south of Cochin, is an 1868 colonial property which was passionately restored in a classic, Indian style in 2003 by a small Indo-European private limited company. It is now recognized by the Tourism Dept of India as a genuine Heritage Hotel of India. Originally built by an Englishman, it was the home of the Raheems, an eminent Alleppey family, for one hundred years. Expect an intimate personalized service that respects your privacy in a sophisticated Indian setting with echoes of the Raj. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Raheem Residency reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raheem Residency Hotel Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Alappuzha
Raheem Residency Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing