We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of Palmy Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmy Lake Resort
Ranked #20 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

As a retired couple travelling round Kerala, we arrived unexpectedly early at 6:00 am on bus from Cochin Airport, but were made very welcome. Merci is the perfect hostess - keen to help but without being pushy & her canoe tour of the Backwaters is a must. Good location as easily accessible to the town & the beach but away from the bustle.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan_and_Sue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    60
    15
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
72
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

I spent several days at Palmy Lake at the start of a trip through Kerala. Palmy Lake is walkable from the center of Alleppey or an inexpensive auto rickshaw ride. It's a quiet tree-shaded location and the owners are quite helpful with arranging local transport, as well as providing boat rides through the backwaters. The rooms are simple but nicely appointed and quite comfortable. Breakfast is provided and the bill of fare varies a little everyday. Wifi is available in the main house, but not in the cabins. Be sure you reconfirm your reservation before you arrive.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Merci's lovely homestay was a lovely relaxing choice in Alleppey. Rooms were basic but clean and bathroom with hot water. Lovely garden with hammocks outside. Everyone was very friendly and breakfasts, wifi were available in main house. Thank you for our stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Palmy Lake Resort is home to 3 generations of an Indian family who run a very welcoming homestay. There are a number of detached chalets in the garden, each with en suite, for guests. Breakfast is available in the main house & Merci & Bigi have a wealth of local knowledge and nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Changes in local taxes & energy costs have increased the rate from those advertised to 1200 rupees per night for a chalet but the quiet out of town location is well worth the cost.
The property is situated about 30 mins walk from the edge of the town centre, a further 30 mins being required to cross town, the beach being a further 30 mins walk. For the less energetic there is always a tuk tuk waiting outside. 50 rupees to town & 100 to the beach.
Allepey is awash with over 1000 houseboats but we chose to see the area by way of a government ferry to Kottayam - two and a half hours each way and 15 rupees per person, a bargain when compared to the several hundred US dollars for a houseboat. For a second days sightseeing we hired a small shikara for a few hundred rupees per hour to really get into the more remote parts of the backwaters.
We extended our stay in Allepey from one night to five nights because we felt so comfortable. A big thanks to Merci & Bigi

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardAndrew1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterthur, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

After having a horrible night in another guesthouse, we moved to Palmy Lake Resort. We stayed for 5 nights and really enjoyed our stay! The bungalow was clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. We also did a canoe boat trip for 5h, which was amazing!
The guesthouse is located a bit outside Alleppey, but there are always 1-2 rickshaws waiting outside the guesthouse... It is good that the bungalows are not directly at the water so you don't have the noise of the houseboats passing by.
The guesthouse is run by a nice family and they also provide a simple breakfast. Wi-fi is available in their house for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch, nz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

Spacious nice setting looking out to rice paddies clean, hammocks, balcony, lovely family. A bit far for getting food though you have to take tuk tuk to town. Only breakfast and water available. Good mosquito net on bed and screen on windows. Canals few minutes walk away. Boat trip organised 4 hrs was a bit average only saw one small canal otherwise just the big ones which aren't that great. Great boat driver though and boat but feel there was more to be seen and we were back early so he drove really slow and took us into a small dirty canal to kill time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandysun2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here on the strength of a good review in our guidebook. We arrived in the small hours off the night bus from Kalpetta. Thankfully, we were expected, having booked the previous day, and allowed in to the compound at about 4am. We were shown to our room with the formalities left for the next day and showered and slept well.

The room was spacious and had en suite and a ceiling fan. As I've sad in other reviews, there is no need for a/c as long as the fan works, as it did here.

The room was clean and the bed comfy. The power was cut off for a short period but this was no more than a minor inconvenience for us.

Breakfast was very pleasant and the cook was keen for us to sample tasty local cooking.

We saw in daylight that the setting was delightful, in a small compound. Our room was actually a separate hut with its own en suite, its little patio looking on to a small canal.

The owner was very friendly.

We spent most of a day on the backwaters. We resisted the offers of tourist boats and instead went for the ferry. This was a great way to see local people and watch how they went about their lives. After an hour we just got off and had a stroll along the shore in a small village where everyone we met greeted us with a smile and sometimes with a chat. One gentleman was kind enough to invite us into his house where he told us a little about his life.

Afterwards, we made the best mistake we could have. We got on the wrong ferry. This meant that we spent the hours leading to and after dusk watching the sun go down and even chatting, thanks to help from a couple of lads we met who spoke good English and were very keen photographers, to lovely and immaculately dressed women who worked the rice paddies at their knocking off time. These guys also helped us to get the right bus to return to Alleppey well after nightfall. Thanks guys.

We hardly kept social hours, going out to eat at the other end of town that night and getting back late. We were well looked after by the gentle people at the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
663 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 195 in Alappuzha
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mandala Beach House & Cottages
0.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmy Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmy Lake Resort

Property: Palmy Lake Resort
Address: North of Starting Point | Punnamada Road, Alleppey (East Alappuzha), Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Palmy Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmy Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Palmy Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing