We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so relaxing with interesting conversations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pooppallys Heritage Home
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Verden (Aller), Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“so relaxing with interesting conversations”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Spent 3 days at Pooppally´s and thorouly enjoyed relaxing in a beautiful setting just by the river. Joseph and his wife Cecily were so kind. Joseph helped arrange a massage and a much to be recommended 3 hour boat trip which took me into some of the smaller canals in the backwaters (not possible on a houseboat). Joseph also showed me his garden which is full of medicinal plants and herbs. We had wonderful long conversations (Joseph´s English is brilliant) which we both enjoyed enormously. And it was lovely to wander along the river bank or along the nearby canal and just watch colourful Keralan life. Cecily´s home cooking is much to be recommended. Thank you so much !

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank enj0y_travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    26
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bootsred@aol.com
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed for one night at Pooppallys on 12th December before a trip on the backwaters. Joseph and his wife are extremely accommodating and we absolutely loved staying here. The house is 300 years old so there's a lot of history in those teak walls. They made us very welcome and were easy to get along with. Joseph is a well educated man and speaks perfect English. In the morning he gave us a tour of his medicinal garden and even gave me a root cutting of a plant called elephant's foot which cures high cholesterol. I'm sure he can cure all ailments with his fabulous garden. Just being there makes you feel well. It's the most tranquil place in the world and we can highly recommend it. I could have stayed forever watching the boats go up and down the river.

Room Tip: Ask for a hairdryer if you need one - none in the room. Wifi in the dining room. The honeymoon suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XIB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2013

It's a couple of months since we stayed at Poopallys, and the thought of it still brings a big smile!
We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time there. The family home is beautiful and atmospheric, the garden an inspiration, and the river so relaxing. The Poopallys are a wonderfully welcoming and hospitable and interesting family. We felt at home from the moment our taxi pulled up and Joseph and Cecily came to greet us. Their consideration in helping us arrange the massages and the canoe rides and a cooking lesson, and giving us a tour of their garden, was unforgettable. The cooking lesson with Lisa was another enjoyable highlight. We fitted in a lot in our three days, yet it all felt so relaxing and easy-going, and very friendly.
We look forward to returning sometime for more!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Pooppallys
A beautiful old heritage homestay right on the water where you can relax on the veranda and watch the goings on of the river. Slightly neglected and run down when we were there due to the absence from illness of the maintenance staff. Wifi was provided in the dining room.
Lovely meals provided by the aging Joseph's wife Cicely, but one can't help feeling that his days of running the homestay alone are numbered. It is rather like being looked after yet feeling responsible for one's aging parents. Joseph has all his mental faculties but it would be better if they had someone to help serve the meals and welcome the guests and let him get on with being the expansive and generous host he is.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PalindromeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Our visit to Poopallys was a highlight of our trip. This was a great alternative to a houseboat to see life on the backwaters. Not only was Dr Joseph incredibly hospitable, he also had excellent suggestions for Ayurvedic treatments and a three-hour boat trip around the smaller backwaters. Our redwood bungalow looked over the river and had a back to nature feel. The experience was great value for money.The food was fantastic (including the best chicken biriyani I had in Kerala) and Dr Joseph was always happy to spend time to answer questions about Kerala.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucilu2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were collected from the railway station after an overnight train trip from Goa and led to our clean and comfortable room in one of the most peaceful beautiful locations I have stayed. The waterfront location is idyllic and there are pathways along the waterfront to the local village.

The food at pooppallys was some of the best we experienced in India, a wide selection at every meal and the opportunity to try authentic dishes. We have not found anything like it since returning to Sydney.

The hosts are warm and generous people. nothing is too much trouble. They were very helpful in organising a driver for us and arranging for our prebooked houseboat tour to pick us up from out the front of Poopallys. The host runs complementary spice tour of his garden which was a great experience.

Note. We stayed in 2008, not 2012, as per below.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoB1Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall City, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We can't thank Paul and Cecily enough for allowing us to share their beautiful home and for taking such good care of us. We were only going to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying five - we didn't want to leave. The location was ideal, right on the river (a much better choice than a houseboat), very quiet and relaxing. The room was clean, comfortable and quite lovely, and Cecily's food was amazing - we were introduced to so many new and delicious dishes, home cooked mostly with ingredients right from their garden. Paul arranged our drivers, boat tours and made sure we had whatever we needed, and we thoroughly enjoyed some great conversation. We hope to have the opportunity to stay with them again one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.1 mi away
Green Palace Kerala Resort
Green Palace Kerala Resort
#32 of 68 in Alappuzha
77 reviews
8.6 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#27 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kait's Home
Kait's Home
#30 of 195 in Alappuzha
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Rosa Mystica Beach Resort
#43 of 68 in Alappuzha
5 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tharavad Heritage Resort
Tharavad Heritage Resort
#46 of 195 in Alappuzha
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pooppallys Heritage Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pooppallys Heritage Home

Property: Pooppallys Heritage Home
Address: Ponga P.O, Alappuzha 688512, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pooppallys Heritage Home Alappuzha
Pooppallys Heritage Home Hotel
Pooppallys Heritage Home Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing