We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise on the backwaters with a lovely family”
Review of Green Palm Homes

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Green Palm Homes
Ranked #11 of 198 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise on the backwaters with a lovely family”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed with the wonderful family at Greenpalm Homestay in January 2014 for three nights, and we could not have been more delighted. The family - Ammachi, Thomas, Matthew, Maria, Philip, and all the extended family members - are all so welcoming and warm. The property is gorgeous - three wonderfully appointed, spacious, and cool homes set right on the pretty backwaters, with lush rice-paddies and farm land at the rear. We definitely recommend taking an evening walk with Matthew around the island, with a lovely relaxing canoe ride at the end.

Communication from the family prior to our stay was clear and prompt; Philip even spoke to the taxi driver on our behalf while we were navigating our way from Kollum. The food was absolutely amazing - Ammachi's cooking was the very best south Indian food we ate. We also took a cooking class with her, which we highly recommend.

It was a wonderful, peaceful, tummy-filling stay with an absolutely wonderful family. Highly recommended.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin Oz Trip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    46
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
100
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Radi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The most relaxing place to stay on a traffic free island surrounded by nature. Maria, Philip and their two delightful young daughters were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. They could not have done more for us and we felt very much at home. All meals cooked by Maria's mother were excellent and included in the price. We enjoyed walks and canoo rides gliding silently along the lush green water-ways, surrounded by paddy fields, hibiscus, palm and banana trees, observing darting King Fishers and colorful waterside life, it was idyllic and all so stree-free. A big thank you to you all for the wonderful hospitality, our stay was perfect and we left to return to Europe with some fantastic memories and photographs.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

One of the highlights of our trip in India!! When my husband and I arrived in Alleppey, we were wondering what all the hype about the backwaters was, but a short ferry ride later, and we arrived on the beautiful island of Chennamakary! There was no room to stay in one of the main houses, so we were given one of their amazing cottages with stunning views over the rice paddies....paradise. We ate delicious food, canoed and cycled around the island, and shared amazing stories with the lovely and welcoming family! We felt so relaxed and only wished we had longer than 3 days! We would highly recommend staying here instead of getting a rice barge (which looked really touristy) to truly experience the beauty and tranquility of the backwaters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

When your host is waiting to meet you at the boat jetty, you know this is the start of something good. A genuine family set-up. The mother is a superb cook, and even shared with me demonstrating in her kitchen, and her sons are most knowledgeable. The central dining/lounge area was most comfortable and condusive to open interaction between guests and the home families. The morning and evening walks took us into the "village world" and allowed contact with the local people.The return from the evening walk was quite a spiritual experience with call and response singing. between the leader and the boatmen. A kitchen garden to die for - every spice and herb growing to be utilised for the dishes provided.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beulah and Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed here as part of a 28 day tour of India with G Adventures. This homestay was one of the first in the area. The host family is very nice and the mother was an excellent cook. Her masala chai was the best I had in my 6 weeks in India. There are only a few options for vegetarians but they tasted great. The rooms are simple, each with its own bathroom. AC is an additional charge. We just used the fans and were fine. The amily took us on a walk of the island and then a nighttime boat ride, serenading us with folk songs.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macinng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Denis, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We should have stayed more than 3 days !
Philip and Maria are the best hosts you could dream of, Maria's mother cooking is just delicious, made with everything grown in their garden (cooking lessons are a must, and you really can cook them home), the house is pleasant...

In our opinion, staying in Green Palm homestay is better than a houseboat trip : you can canoe in the small backwaters and see the backwater life, paddy fields..., the islands are charming, the morning walks are very interesting, you can go biking...

Well we spent 3 great days for Christmas 2013.
Emmanuelle & Jean-Baptiste

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

We originally planned to stay two nights but extended it to three nights. We both arrived full of cough s and colds and Philip and his wife really looked after us. We were not pressurised into doing any of the activities but I would really recommend going on a least one of the walks around the village/island and to go off exploring the back waters by ur self or by canoe or bike. The bird wildlife is brilliant and well worth the journey for any budding photographers. The toddy bar is an experience not to be missed.... but maybe not repeated (an acquired taste!). Really relaxing place. Yes it is three houses and quite busy but we found the family really friendly and welcoming.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.6 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
6.5 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
0.5 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#1 of 158 in Alappuzha
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ayana's Homestay
Ayana's Homestay
#6 of 198 in Alappuzha
215 reviews
5.0 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#1 of 198 in Alappuzha
418 reviews
6.4 mi away
Thoms Homestay
Thoms Homestay
#8 of 198 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Palm Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Palm Homes

Property: Green Palm Homes
Address: West Chennamkary P.O., Alappuzha 688501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Green Palm Homes Hotel Alappuzha
Green Palm Homes Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing