We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Affordable, Clean Boat House”
other travelers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
243 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 243 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Subramany...
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable, Clean Boat House”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Took a a single house boat for a day. The co coordinator Parvathy ensured a hassle free booking and even arranged a railway station pick up and drop cab service. Rooms were neat and clean.

Food served tasted good and the menu was simple and highlighted Kerala cuisine. Being vegetarians the options available were good enough to enjoy the stay.

the house boat needs a little more maintenance in common areas such as the dining room to make it a five star experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karthikey...
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Neat house boat with good food. Value for money”
Reviewed February 1, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Took a 3 bedroom house boat for a day. Co-ordination and hospitality of the staff was prompt. Rooms were neat and clean. Food was simple and tasty. Booked it for 14.5K good value for money. The house boat needs a little more maintenance to make it look great.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 2, 2016
Thankyou for your review. Happy to hear that you enjoyed the trip .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamsTrave...
MUMBAI,INDIA
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Good Staff / lacks Hygiene”
Reviewed January 29, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Booking: The booking was a breeze with the support of Ms. Parvathy.
Special Request: After reading the reviews of many other houseboat companies i had made a request to parvathy on hygiene conditions in our boat. But we were disappointed on the same. The rooms had mosquito, the pillow covers and bedsheet had some stains and the kitchen was not up to the mark.
Saved our Day: The staff of the houseboat were fantastic. They guided us very well. Especially the person handling the kitchen. The food was tasty but we didnt eat much seeing the kitchen conditions.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staff
Liked least: Hygiene
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2016
Thank you for your valuable suggestions.
We would like to point out one thing , we always tell our guest not to compare houseboat with hotel as we have some limitations .
Will definitely look into your suggestions for future trips.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abhishek...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service & Value for the money!!”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
3
people found this review helpful

For an overnight, I stayed on this houseboat. Staff took our luggage from finishing point right up to our bedroom on the boat and welcomed us with a plum cake. Bedroom and houseboat was very clean and everything was neatly arranged. We started from finishing point (in front of the Hotel Ramada) around 11 AM. We sailed for around 2 -3 hours before boat was anchored for our lunch. We stopped around paddy field surrounded by the palm trees. It was a very nice location.

As we both were vegetarian, we informed staff in advance about our food habits. Staff served us a hot and traditional vegetarian meal. After a sumptuous meal, we sailed again into the lake for another 2 – 3 hours to finally stop at an Ayurvedic Massage Centre. It was not part of the package, but we took it as we heard a lot about it.

By the time we left the massage centre, it was already a dusk. Setting sun over the lake water was leaving very nice pattern. Staff took us to a remote place (but not completely secluded) where Pournami houseboats are docked for the night. This place was a little bit away from the chaotic lake. Staff gave us a hot and fresh dinner. We had to leave early (5 AM) next morning, so, we requested staff to drop us at the finishing point by 5 AM. They gave a morning tea/coffee and also packed us a breakfast.

In all, service, cleanliness, staff behavior, locations shown and promptness was very good and I’ll definitely refer it to my friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service from staff and their cordial behavior
Liked least: Staff should provide mosquito repelant
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadeemsma...
Mumbai, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not worth for the price paid”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had gone for our honeymoon trip to kerala and we booked a 2 room houseboat which was supposed to be the star of the trip, but unfortunately we did not enjoy much as it got boring . Overall its just a 3 to 4 hour ride and for the price we paid i will say it was not worth at all . The houseboat was also old and shabby . The best part was the food cooked by the crew .

I would not recommend a houseboat trip to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Just the food
Liked least: the Houseboat itself . it was too old
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Dear Sir,
We would like to point out few things. First of all you enquired for a 1 bedroom private houseboat on Dec 30th. Even though we had informed that 1 bedroom private houseboat is not available you were ready to book the 2 bedroom houseboat as you need a private houseboat. It was purely based on your decision. So on a peak date 2 bedroom rate will be very high. And you were given the 2 bedroom private houseboat itself. And the most important thing is when a client is coming from a far location it is there responsibility to make sure that they arrive without much delay . There will be a continues cruising till 5pm & next day morning there will be a cruising for 1 hr. But if the client arrives late we have technical difficulty in extending the cruise after 5pm. And we always informs our guests that houseboat is based on traditional concept & it can never be compared to a hotel or resort. All these points were mentioned before booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balaji_29...
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pournami Houseboat Alleppy - Excellent service”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked one bedroom in Pournami houseboat, we were allotted in a 3 bedroom boat.
The boat was very good with neat rooms, comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, AC, cabinets in the room, table, and the deck had sofas and a dining table. The staff was friendly and good at their job. the cruise in the backwaters for the full day from 12 p.m. till dark was carried out very nicely by explaining different spots by the staff, they stopped at various spots on the bank so that we could buy fish / other eatables / items and it was also good for a walk in the farms...
Food served on the boat was very good, although we felt quantity of fish was less. Next morning breakfast was provided and we were taken back to finishing point. The trip on Pournami houseboat was a memorable one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cruise on the backwaters
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlwynCabr...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant and serene time”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed on the Pournami houseboat from Jan 2nd to the 3rd morning. We were 5 adults and 2 children including an infant. I really enjoyed the houseboat stay and this was my first experience with houseboats. They had it all planned well and the food was really really tasty and well prepared. I connected my cell phone to the sound system and danced off to the music with my family. We docked the boat at a village in the evening where they shut off the open end of the houseboat with mosquito nets. The television could not get a signal but we had an option to fish. I caught a fish, while my wife caught two. We had a really good time. The tour if more descriptive about the places, then that would make it even more interesting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience and the food
Liked least: The tour wherein I did not know what I was looking at or passing by
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing