We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pournami Houseboat Alleppy - Excellent service”
other travelers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
283 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 283 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Balaji_29...
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pournami Houseboat Alleppy - Excellent service”
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We booked one bedroom in Pournami houseboat, we were allotted in a 3 bedroom boat.
The boat was very good with neat rooms, comfortable bed, excellent bathroom, AC, cabinets in the room, table, and the deck had sofas and a dining table. The staff was friendly and good at their job. the cruise in the backwaters for the full day from 12 p.m. till dark was carried out very nicely by explaining different spots by the staff, they stopped at various spots on the bank so that we could buy fish / other eatables / items and it was also good for a walk in the farms...
Food served on the boat was very good, although we felt quantity of fish was less. Next morning breakfast was provided and we were taken back to finishing point. The trip on Pournami houseboat was a memorable one.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Cruise on the backwaters
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlwynCabr...
Mumbai, India
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pleasant and serene time”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed on the Pournami houseboat from Jan 2nd to the 3rd morning. We were 5 adults and 2 children including an infant. I really enjoyed the houseboat stay and this was my first experience with houseboats. They had it all planned well and the food was really really tasty and well prepared. I connected my cell phone to the sound system and danced off to the music with my family. We docked the boat at a village in the evening where they shut off the open end of the houseboat with mosquito nets. The television could not get a signal but we had an option to fish. I caught a fish, while my wife caught two. We had a really good time. The tour if more descriptive about the places, then that would make it even more interesting.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experience and the food
Liked least: The tour wherein I did not know what I was looking at or passing by
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anandpras...
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and well maintained houseboat.. very courteous staff”
Reviewed January 1, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Very well maintained and clean houseboat.. especially for Deluxe category..
Food was authentic Kerela cuisine and north indian (on preference).. both prepared very well.
We bought some extra fish on the way... expensive but fresh.. the staff cooked that for us and I must admit it was one of the best preparations that one can expect..

Rooms are well furnished though I would have preferred a little more space.. at times it felt claustrophobic.. the front deck compensated in terms of space anyway..

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juhi_0808
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent yet Affordable houseboat”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We had a great stay with Pournami Houseboats. They are very reasonably priced.
Cleanliness and hygiene is very well maintained. Food was fresh and yum. Service was also very good. From boarding till the end, everyone was very polite and helpful. Super clean bathrooms, with good water flow etc.
Make sure to tell your lunch, dinner and breakfast timings to the cook, and stick to it. it will help both sides.
Go for the luxury houseboats (with 24 hour AC) as it tends to get quite humid. Immediately after sunset, the insects increase a little bit, so its better to sit indoors with the AC. They put a mesh net, but its not 100% insect proof.

The owner, please take care of a few things:
1. replenish the carrom board set, we wanted to play but the strikers were missing.
2. Instruct the cook not make so much extra food. Maybe for the first meal its okay, but tell them to ask the guests to get an idea of how much to cook. There was A LOT of food getting wasted, which made us feel really really bad.
3. the lightings in the room were a little bit dull. maybe add just one more bright bulb there.

These are the only things i needed taken care of.
All in all, amazing trip. Very relaxing. Great stress buster.

thanks!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarika V
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay at Pournami houseboat”
Reviewed December 28, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Food was very good, hygienic and homely. One of the crew member, Vinod, was very prompt in serving the food and providing the service. Sailing time should be more at least 1 more hour in the morning, it started at 8:15 am back to the port which was only for 45 mins or lesser. We were little upset about the interior of the boat, the water cans and few things were scattered and not properly kept which spoiled the look of the boat. Also, few areas in walls and one or two electric points were broken and not working. The boat needs to be maintained little more. I will recommend this houseboat for the food and the service.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Food and service
Liked least: interior of houseboat, the interiors need to get upgraded as the boat was old and walls of the bedrooms and the electric points were broken.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav_ch...
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
Reviewed December 22, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Never seen such arrogant people in my life.
Food was a big let down. Cold and limited quantities were served to us. No sheets were provided, only rough blankets.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing
Liked least: Rude behavior, Cold food served, no bedsheets. staff was drunk
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buharie B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at pournami boathouse.”
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stay at pournami boathouse with my family was excellent and truly memorable.
The staff were very helpful and resourceful. They have a friendly aroma with them. Food prepared by them was top notch and it feels like home. A truly enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Date of stay: December 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing