We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent stay at pournami boathouse.”
other travelers have booked this property
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
243 reviews
Full Exterior View of Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Area in Pournami 4 bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sitting Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Luxury Bedroom in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Front Area with TV and Sofa Set in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dressing Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Dining Table in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Sofa in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Corridor in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bedroom Art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Bed and Bedroom art in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Wash Room in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
Shower Area in Pournamis' 4 Bedroom Luxury Houseboat
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Houseboat -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 243 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Buharie B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent stay at pournami boathouse.”
Reviewed December 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stay at pournami boathouse with my family was excellent and truly memorable.
The staff were very helpful and resourceful. They have a friendly aroma with them. Food prepared by them was top notch and it feels like home. A truly enjoyable stay. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parinda_M...
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our first houseboat trip”
Reviewed December 14, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

There are around 1500 houseboats in this region and it is really very difficult to find out which is good and which is bad. We were referred to Pournami houseboat by our hotel owner and we didnt go wrong about it. It was a neat and clean 3 room houseboat. We went for a day trip as we were a small family of just three. It is advisable to stay overnight in a houseboat if u are in a big group. The food provided was delicious. The staff was very courteous and made sure we had a nice and pleasant ride. Our ride began at 11 and ended at 5 pm. The boat passes through the backwaters and takes a halt for lunch at a shore. The rates vary from season to season so its difficult to negotiate in peak season. Overall experience good. Would definitely recommend it to others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backwater ride
Liked least: The interior... it could be renovated and made up more traditional style.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
Thankyou for your review. We are really happy that you enjoyed the trip:). Plus you have written the 100th review :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msraut77
mumbai, india
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Treasured stay with Pournami Houseboats”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed with Pournami for only one night in Allepy in Nov 2015. We had booked their 4 bedroom houseboat. The overall experience was very good. Below are the positive n negative points.

Positive:
~Excellent crew. Prasanna and Sharad along with a chef were very polite and ready to make sure our stay was memorable and nice!
~Food was awesome. Veg and Non Veg food was really delicious. The presentation of food was neat and appealing.
~Rooms were nice and clean. Linen was clean and crisp too. We were very particular about this.
~Cruising was so pleasurable...

Negative:
~No geyser facility and hence the crew was providing hot water in buckets. That was very disappointing.
~Desserts should be included in meals.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renuka R
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Excellent staff and very comfortable houseboat!”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I travelled with a few friends and we had the houseboat for 24 hours. The staff on board the boat is excellent. They were very helpful. They spoke English - which helped since 5 people on board the boat were Americans - and the food they prepared was excellent. They were always happy to answer our questions. The scenery is really calming and we even bought fish by the side of the lake for the staff to prepare for dinner! It was a very smooth ride from start to finish and I would highly recommend this houseboat to anyone visiting Alappuzha!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kishore D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Outstanding Trip”
Reviewed December 5, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed overnight on Pournami excellent well maintained houseboat. Ensuite bedroom was spacious and clean. The staff were very good who provided us with delicious meals, snacks and fresh fruit throughout the trip. In the evening, mosquito nets were pulled over the seating and dining area. The houseboat also had large screen T.V. with clear reception.
Many thanks to Ms Parvathy and the staff for making this a memorable trip for us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well maintained houseboat, good food and very good staff
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrakashMa...
Mumbai, India
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Strongly Recommended”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Hello,

Our stay at Pournami houseboat was the best experience in Kerala. I along with 8 other friends of mine opted for 24 hour house boat and every penny paid for the stay was worth.

Houseboat staff were very helpful and kind. I would strongly recommend anyone visiting Kerala to opt for Pournami Houseboat.

Regards,
Prakash M

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murali r
Bengaluru, India
1 review
“it was a good vacation”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Have you been on your trip yet? If not, I would suggest you try Pournami house boats when you make your trip. Their boats are beautiful and unlike anything I've ever seen. Try their website to see about offers they have. I found the trip to be very interesting as my family & friends experienced it for the first time. Their boats come in various sizes and rates vary, but they are all equipped with AC and have tvs. The boat we went on had a way to enclose the main living area so that when we stopped at night at the backwaters, A great place to go and relax and unwind.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2015
Thankyou !!! We are very happy to hear that you will be recommending to your friends in future. Infact we are really touched when ever a guest writes a review and call us to inform :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing