We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpacker-friendly right by the water's edge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #138 of 223 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2014

The most important thing you need to know about this place is it is on an island so from the centre of Alleppey you get a tuktuk a couple of kms and then a short ferry ride. This is arranged by the accomodation owner or manager. Get yourself to Cafe Paradiso in Alleppey and ask for Antony (the owner) and he will sort you out. We had a lovely stay at Lake Paradise but it's not for everybody - we stayed in the bungalow which was basic inside but with a lovely outlook over the backwaters. The food was good and all the staff very helpful. We did the backwater canoe trip with Ranjeed which was excellent and highly recommended as an eco-friendly way to explore the backwaters.

Room Tip: Choose the bungalow, although basic it has the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthwestCiderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 15 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were two couples for two nights. Best points- You get your privacy, they have a bamboo shack facing water, property is at very good place, small property so not much disturbance.
Bad points- There are only 5 rooms- out of which 2 rooms which we were staying in were very small. Food problem.. you have to carry anything to everything you want to eat. Mr. Johnson the guy who was taking care of the property was good.
We also tried Kayaking here
Overall not bad but can be improved a lot by just improving on two three small points.

Cheers.

Room Tip: Choose a A/c room, they are little bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank varshas27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

The location of this place is the main draw. Situated on a large island just outside town, the location means you can watch (and hear) the palatial river boats as they pass along the busy waterway. When our party of four arrived, having reserved two of the five rooms, our first impressions were that we would have a peaceful place to chill out and relax. However, home stay this is not!

The rooms are basic, the food is overpriced and their is no sense of this being a home. It is a business. In fact it is more than one business. The peace and tranquility were disrupted regularly due to owner Antony's decision to combine business enterprises.

Every morning large groups of tourists on Antony's "backwater tours" descended upon the island early in the morning. They were directed to sit on the veranda directly outside our rooms, ready to be served their tour breakfast. Meanwhile, we had to squeeze past them to get out of our room, try and find somewhere to sit and watch as they were presented with their breakfast. When we asked for our own breakfast, the staff member snapped at us, saying that it was late and he was busy because they had a lot of tours that day. Silly us for, assuming that, as guests, we were the staffs priority. We were promptly told we couldn't have the South Indian breakfast as it takes too long to prepare - so why is it on the menu? Oh, of course, it is for the tours - not the actual guests, who can't get food anywhere else unless they get a boat off the island. But guess what? All the boats were being used for the tours! So, you'd have to walk to the government ferry and pay to get off the island. At this point it becomes more of a money trap than an island paradise.

At lunch the groups returned to feast on their lunch. We had been enjoying relaxing on the veranda and were promptly told to move so these people could use the table to eat their lunch. After all, we were just the paying guests, why should we have somewhere to sit and enjoy the view?

When tours were not visiting the island there was nobody to assist us.

If you are considering staying here, I would advise you not to. We have stayed in home stays all over India and this is the worst. It isn't a home, it's a restaurant with rooms attached. A bad restaurant at that!

Room Tip: Check the ceilings in the rooms as some shower you in unidentifiable debris in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Georgina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked 3 nights and stayed 1 night. For the price you can find much nicer accommodation on the beach side. The rooms did have AC but were very bare bones on everything else and the proprietor was never there to oversee or manage the operation so if an issue arises his position is I got your money . The backwater is a crowded space with house boats moving about all day. If you are looking for an oasis this is not the prime location.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mjkiefer2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Awesome view, amazing Lounge.
Would find lots of house boat passing through with out hindering once privacy. Quite,calm, cool, peaceful location covered with greenery.

I would not say its cheap/budget hotel (probably due to season rates), its a small property with good extracts.

Owner Antony is not up to the mark, money minded, how ever care taker Johnson (9633458943) and Rajeev (9656421698) (Capt Jack Sparrow - Ferryman) was friendly and courteous.

Its an island resort only connection from main land would be ferry,they don't have parking area but to depend on pay and park (customer to pay),Ferry to resort and back are neither included in room rent, but boat ride was awesome.

Tips:

- MOST IMPORTANT carry mosquito repellent cream before you reach, will not find any near to this place, do thorough shopping before you take the ferry.
- Good for relaxing
- Go for cottage, other rooms are not spacious,cramped, but are clean.
- Food was tasty and good (Only Kerala traditional menu), could improve on menu,book food in advance, since its glorified home stay
- Try village tour by small boat, worth the money
- Best for parting, provided you have entire place occupied (3 rooms + 1 cottage)

Stayed as couple

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sab_Backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I would only recommend the Lake Paradise Resort for the location. Everything else was mediocre at best. It should also be noted that the Lake Paradise is only accessible by boat, provided by the resort. So if you plan on walking about town after sundown, you will have to arrange pickup by phone. The property is located in the backwaters of Allepey. The location is beautiful, but be advised this is a no frills kind of place.

The food was tolerable but cold most days. Food is served family-style with fellow resort guests. Guests receive whatever food is prepared that day, so if you're a picky eater or have food allergies, be advised.

We sprung for the deluxe room with A/C. The accommodations were so so. I'd call it glorified camping i.e. bare bones.

We did enjoy a very nice boat ride through the backwaters provided by Anthony Tours for the Lake Paradise, which I would highly recommend.

Overall, I would recommend this resort for the adventurous traveller just looking for a place to crash. For someone interested in a good meal, warm shower, and a nice room, look elsewhere. Maybe spend a little extra money for a nicer resort along the backwaters, there appeared to be quite a few.

Likeliness I'd stay here again....doubtful. Do I regret it...not at all.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank wh0wantscake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed here a couple weeks ago. Love that it is an island and you have to take a boat to get to. I think the place has a ton of potential.

Some things I didn't enjoy: The food was not so great. One night, there was only two fish for three people, another night it was cold. Also, the room had no sheets when we entered. I know it's a minor inconvenience, just was kind of surprised that I had to ask for them.

Overall, it was an average stay. Some unique charms (and the boat paddlers were very nice) and very well-connected to other activities in Alleppey. I'd definitely choose this over a house boat, still.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valenc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.6 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.6 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
426 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
805 reviews
1.1 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
859 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort

Address: Near Starting Point, Nehru trophy Ward | Sndp Thodu, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 223 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $23 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home stay property, comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort is a perfect place to enjoy a laid back vacation with family or friends. Lake Paradise gives you an excellent view of backwaters and you can explore the real Indian village culture and Keralian food. You can do activities like Fishing, Swimming, Kayaking, village walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Paradise Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing