We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“extremely relaxing”
Review of ATDC House Boat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
ATDC House Boat
Ranked #55 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The water, trees, low rumbling noise of the engine at the backside of the boat makes one really grounded and relaxed. The crew were friendly, eager to cater. We felt safe during the night. When the boat was at a halt, we walked inside a village. Was beautiful.

Room Tip: Important: One should keep informed that the checkin time is noon and the boat is on the move only t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BranStark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 101 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

Though the house boat is not a new one, the crew members made our day the best in our life, Mr Rajan who drive the boat, and Mr. Sasi who treated our tongue with his mouthwatering dishes. The food was amazing. The whole boat is only for us, me and my wife. The bed room size is nominal, and the furniture, TV, AC all are not much impressive. But they made us much more comfortable with their warm hospitality, which made us be at home. Thanks Sasi and Rajan for your wonderful service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesprabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Having paid $175 for one night for a premium houseboat, my wife and I were expecting a good experience. We knew that the room itself would not be luxurious, and that we were paying for the entire experience of staying and cruising on a boat, with good food and hospitality.

We showed up at exactly at the check-in time of 12pm. We boarded what looked like a very old beat-up boat. The bedroom itself looked fine. However, the whole boat was not maintained well - fixtures were broken, outer railings in the sitting area were broken, the roof which is supposed to be of a distinct thatched style mostly had plastic sheet. The bathroom was clean but the kitchen was really dirty!

The boat started 45 minutes late at 12:45pm. Two crew members were on board. They barely spoke anything other than the local language Malyalam, which we don't speak. Therefore, communicating was very difficult throughout the trip. However, the cook was very friendly. The boatman, not so much.

We were served lunch around 1:30pm. Food was good. Then, it was hot and humid and we requested them to turn on the AC. We paid an extra $35 for round-the-clock AC. Otherwise, the AC timings are typically 9pm - 6am.

The boatman told us that AC wasn't working! WHAT?? Didn't they check it in the morning before leaving? He also said that they would dock at 5:30pm and get it fixed. We said fine, not a big deal. I called the operating manager and he promised that the AC mechanic would be waiting for us at the dock.

The day goes by. Finally, at 5:30pm we dock at a really dirty area full of hyacinth. The stagnant water was smelly and super disgusting. There was trash floating all around, dead ducks and what not! The boatman said that they had no other choice. Apparently there was an electricity outlet only at that point. Three other ATDC boats were docked there, and hooked up to power.

Our AC mechanic was nowhere to be seen. We kept calling the manager who kept saying "we are reaching in 20 minutes", "we are almost there" etc. In the meantime, the boat had also developed severe electricity connection problems. Power would out go out every few minutes, leaving us in the dark with swarming bugs, mosquitoes, and bats.

We started panicking for our safety in the dark, docked in the middle of nowhere! Finally, at 8pm, 2:30hrs after the promise, the manager came and apparently fixed the AC. By this time, we were exhausted, sweating like crazy, and very worried about our safety and security.

With the AC running, the manager left. But then boom, power went out again! And this kept happening again and again.

At this point, I called the manager and said please just get us out of here! Finally, at 8:30pm the boatman started the boat up, sailed in the dark without any lights, and just based on luck for 45 mins, and took us back to the boarding point.

Then the ATDC guys put us in a car and took us to their hotel, another 30 mins away, for the night. Next morning they also gave us a ride back to Kochi.

Oh, and forget about their promises about serving you beer or giving you fishing rods to fish. Our whole trip was centered around the houseboat experience. We spent hundreds of dollars on flights, hotels and houseboat all for a ruined vacation! Worst experience of my life! Avoid ATDC like plague.

Oh and I should mention in the end that the trip was booked through a big India-based online travel agent. While we were having the problem with AC and power, I actually called the travel agent to report the problems. Later on, when they followed up with the houseboat company, they first said that "there were no problems". Only after the travel agent probed a lot, they admitted what actually happened.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
13  Thank ProverbialYeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Pros
Food was served what we asked.


Cons
AC is available but not working properly. It too few hours to feel the cool air from AC that too a very small room. No remote for AC also
TV was available but not working
No CD player
Very bad management of time.
Food (veg food) was OK only (definitely cant say it was good).
Boat house was not that good for a deluxe facility.
Lot of lizards
The boat we traveled was not value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mani98765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The trip itself was great however after seeing the other boats I felt be over paid for our experience. The boat was moderately clean and food was decent. The crew on the boat had limit English which made it difficult to communicate. It felt as if we were on more of a home stay experience then a guided tour.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

At the outset the booking process was very smooth and had a very prompt response from the ATDC Staff. The day before our travel we were guided properly abt the person to contact and the boarding address etc....

At the boarding point we had a representative of ATDC (He could hav had a uniform so that we could have identified without calling the ATDC office) we were taken to the boat by the Houseboat Staff. The service of the houseboat staff was very good.

Food: Typical Kerala food, that was ex termly tasty.......

Guess, the particular boat we traveled was little old so that the appearance was not that good, but the Houseboat staff made the stay very comfortable

Thanks to the Service by the Houseboat Staff, they were very friendly and made us comfortable and provided us what ever they could.

We were given fishing rods for fun activity..............

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vignesh_Madhavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Horrible experience touring with ATDC House Boats, We were given a 2 BHK house Boat which was in a very poor condition, Seats were torn and Broken Chairs. Staff and service was not worthy the price paid, Not customer centric at all, No nets were provided in the living area due to which there were Mosquitos after 7pm.

Food was quite tasty hence covered up for the mess up which happened, but overall not a worthy stay with ATDC.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SZHusain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.8 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
747 reviews
14.7 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 70 in Alappuzha
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Cosy Houseboats
Cosy Houseboats
#5 of 179 in Alappuzha
318 reviews
3.3 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#3 of 179 in Alappuzha
295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverine Resort
Riverine Resort
#8 of 179 in Alappuzha
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ATDC House Boat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ATDC House Boat

Address: A.T.D.C. Houseboat Jetty | South of Pallathuruthy Bridge, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 179 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $110 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — ATDC House Boat 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your ATDC House Boat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
ATDC House Boat Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing