We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“House boat”
other travelers have booked this property
One bedroom premium houseboat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
65 reviews
One bedroom premium houseboat
Enter aSun bed
HouseboatLiving area
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
Houeboat Bedroom
Houseboat front view
Houseboat Bedroom
One bedroom premium houseboat welcome drink
Houseboat Bedroom
Houseboat overview
Houseboat photos
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Kitchen
Houseboat Living area
Houseboat Passage
Houseboat Dining
Houseboat Bathroom
Housbeoat Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District, Kerala

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“House boat”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Its very nice place to visit
Very wonderful & beautiful place
For couple this place is very amazing..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DreamTrav...
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality and great experience - can go again”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

To be honest i was worried when i was booking Nova House Boat , as i was reading some negative reviews and spoke to Mr Eldose and he assured for a good stay as i was with full family.

Indeed he was correct it was one of the best stays i have had and in last few years. Excellent boat house , very well maintained . Great friendly staff , my request for food was taken care of .

Thank you Mr Eldose for all your support and even helping with pick up and drop to different cities .

few points to keep in Mind.
Be at Boat at 1200 noon as they can only row till 530 PM only as per govt directive and in morning its from 7-8 Am which sometime is very fast as you get up and you miss. Also check out is 9 AM . on enjoy on the day when you check in .

overall highly recommended and will visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NadiaCorp
Leek, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great staff, dated and tired accommodation”
Reviewed February 1, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a night on the backwaters with Nova Holidays Houseboat. The captain and cook were very good at attending to our needs - making space for us on the upper deck to birdwatch. We had lovely vegetarian Indian food including snacks and tea and coffee whenever we wanted. The bed was comfortable and clean, and we had a/c - a necessity as the sleeping quarters was sealed off by glass windows/doors to protect from mosquitoes and other insects. Unfortunately the boat was nothing like that shown on the web - the decor was very tired and dated, and the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Talking to other tourists however, it sounds like this is not unusual for the price paid. Eldhouse communicated well from the outset, was very accommodating and a pleasure to do business with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachin192...
Chandigarh, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overall nice stay”
Reviewed January 31, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

To begin with clean, comfortable Houseboat with co-operative staff ( Pardish & Sarul )- great hospitality. Flexible enough to modify the route of the houseboat according to guest choice, love the living area. Only thing which disappointed us was at the time of booking we enquired if the houseboat has a deck and we were assured that there is a deck for us to enjoy the serene beauty of Kerala backwaters but upon arrival we came to know that deck is there but not functional at all and not even furnished due to rule passed by government banning the construction of decks on houseboats. If there was such rule we should have been told the truth at the time of booking. But upon insisting they did make some sitting arrangement at the deck which was satisfying at the end.
Secondly, since we had heard that the best food in Kerala you get is the one cooked by the personal chef on the houseboat but unfortunately we did not get that taste. Firstly, they made very blanned food and when we told them to make it little spicy and flavourful all we got was food full of RED CHILLI powder (specially Non-Veg food) which caused bad acidity and stomach bug since we were not used to consuming so much HOT food. Also on our last day we requested them to make AALU-POORI( Patato gravy with fried indian bread) and the poori was more like PAPADUM :-) ( atleast they tried )
Although their traditional Vegetarian south Indian Preperations were outstanding. In a Nutshell overall good stay would recommend since houseboat was very clean and comfortable. If only they can improve in terms of food it may be one of the best houseboats to cruise with,

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cutleros
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Top 5%”
Reviewed January 20, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We had a chalet at Nova Homestay (highly recommend) and then walked the 200m to our house boat for a two-day tour of the backwaters.

Our boat was absolutely excellent, with facilities you would be happy with in a London three star hotel. The bedroom and bathroom were well appointed and attractive and the boat had a separate dining room - which is most unusual - and the front lounge had a comfy settee and, most importantly, a chaise long on each side - great for viewing life sliding by without a cricked neck!

In fact, we saw few better boats from the hundreds we came across on the two days (yes, there are nearly 1,000 houseboats on the Kerala backwaters - all of which seem to be different sizes and designs). Hence, my suggestion that this boat is on the top 5%.

The food was generally good, although the cook tended to cremate all protein - chicken, fish and, annoyingly, the prawns we had bought from the waterside - although this is not unusual in Kerala!

Some tips:

* Try to get the boat we had, number 1484/16, as not all Nova boats are as good, as other reviews suggest
* take your own toiletries, as all you get is a small bar of soap
* take your own beer, if that is your thing
* if you can afford it, do the two day cruise as you will see much more of the backwater life, away from most of the other hundreds of boats

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert G
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing boat but great staff”
Reviewed December 16, 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 on a 4 bed houseboat. Sadly the boat was nowhere near as nice as the ones in the photos - it was grubby and needed some love. We did complain and they agreed to send another nicer boat out to meet us in the eve so one couple could stay on it (they weren't keen to sleep on ours).

The trip itself was fine, staff were great and food good. We made it fun in the end, and had a good time, but I would recommend asking Nova to send pics of the exact boat you're getting.

Overall Nova need to be honest with people about the quality of the boats - it was an expensive trip after all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ariela W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I had an incredible stay at Nova Holidays Houseboats. The views and landscapes were beautiful, the facilities were clean, comfortable, and relaxing. Bintu and Sakhesh were a lovely team of staff members who looked out for us and made our stay so pleasurable. I would recommend this houseboat experience for others

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing