We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very bad experience!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
Ranked #81 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Pune, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very bad experience!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

After reading good reviews we had booked this hotel through makemytrip.Sadly we were in for a big disappointment. We wanted to cancel our booking but the hotel cancellation policy was non refundable.Double room size is very small and bathroom was very dirty.Inspite of complaining the housekeeping did not clean it.There was a damp smell in the room and the towels provided were stinking which were changed but was only a bit better.For a family/couple stay would not recommend it though if you want to just go for the domitory option it might be o.k. as it is cheaper. Tariff for the double room is very expensive for the kind of room that is provided. Would suggest the management to convert the double room also into a dormitory.For the same rate you will get better rooms in nearby hotel or even in a resort. Food is also very costly(e.g tea is for Rs50 when you will get it for Rs7 in a nearby restaurant).Would be good if the food is also reasonably priced.They have a dirty canal nearby which is the starting point for the boats and definately not situated 'along the dreamy backwaters'. There are lots of homestays right along the backwaters.You will get better option then this.

Room Tip: don't book single room not worth it....just book dormitory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jasazp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    52
    15
    3
    19
See reviews for
23
28
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels I ever visited. Perfect for solo travelers but also recommendable for couples or with whomever you are :) The rooms are very clean and they have a beatifull garden as a communal area. The staff James and Hari are just great, they will make sure you have a comfortable stay.

Thanks guys!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Auke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Great hostel to stay. Hari and James really went out of their way to make us feel welcome and catered to our every need. Relaxing spot near the boats. I would recommend anyone going to Allepey to stay at Vedanta. Oh and bring mosquito repellant!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chinomarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

My sister and i had an amazing time during our stay here. All of the staff were wonderful and went out of their way to help us plan trips and days out. Hari cooked us lunch a couple of times and it was beautiful food. We met other great people staying here and had such an incredible experience. so good, that we returned a couple of weeks later!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bonnie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had stayed at another Vedanta hostel in Fort Kochi and so we expected this place to match it - unfortunately it did not quite manage it! The dorms and beds were the same but the service wasn't.

Felt slightly railroaded into taking a more expensive private room when a dorm one would have sufficed. The staff were fine with us changing back to a dorm room but tax was added to the price of the dorm bed... this was not the case in the previous Vedanta so we weren't too sure why this one varied? I might be mistaken as to what type of accom (luxury or standard) can charge this tax so not entirely sure about that one.

But in any case if you are on a budget, this place is clean and comfortable but nothing particularly special.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllieK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

A fantastic place to stay on vacation...very affordable,clean comfortable and an excellent staff catering to suit your needs to the best of their abilities...loved the lounge area where i had the opportunity of interacting with people from different nations and expanding my cultural experience...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank adisure3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

What more you expect for such a meager amount they charge. It was a shared accommodation in AC room with attached bathroom. The staff were friendly and location was good. They have some space inside campus for relaxing. You can also ask for a bicycle to roam around. The house boat boarding point is just 1 km from this place.
Only drawback is the food. They could not serve me anything except toast/Sandwitches and coffee. Need to boost up your kitchen with good continental food considering the large number of foreigen tourist who visit this place.

Room Tip: there are some restaurants in vicinity of this lodge which can save your day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashu802005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
12.1 mi away
Suvasam Lake Resort
Suvasam Lake Resort
#33 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
21.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.4 mi away
Cosy Regency
Cosy Regency
#59 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Seaside Residency
Seaside Residency
#74 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
2.4 mi away
Funky Art Beach House
Funky Art Beach House
#19 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.5 mi away
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
Paradise Inn Yoga Retreat
#90 of 191 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters

Property: Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
Address: near HMCA Chapel | Punnamada Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey, is located along a network of rivers and is a perfect launchpad to enjoy a beautiful sunny day on the famous Kerala backwaters. The property is set on a vast expanse of lush green lawns and it’s architecture draws inspiration from local elements. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing