We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
Ranked #102 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a cute hotel located near the backwaters. Room was very nice with good ac. Bathrooms were good with hot showers. Service was good as well, the staff are excellent.

Strongly recommend this place to anyone visiting Alleppey and looking for a wonderful nights sleep with an element of fun.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe double room overlooking the garden!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 174 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We came to Vedanta Wake Up! in Alleppey because of staying in the one in Kochi. 6 of us stayed and the rooms were immaculate, the garden was gorgeous and Micheal, the Manager, was extremely helpful and took us down to find a houseboat in the morning and also booked us taxis and tuk tuks when we needed them. Chai or coffee in the mornings and useful tips for the surrounding area. Worth staying in!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomAndElly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a great spot. The hostel is in a lovely peaceful setting. Although it is a little way from town autos are readily available for minimal charge.
the rooms were new, fresh and CLEAN - as was the bed linen.
Nice obliging staff who were just learning the run of the property.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chealNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I had a really nice stay at this place. Michael is extremely nice and helpful. Good place to meet people. The only thing is that there is no wifi and food available but that didn't really bother me that much. Lovely gardens, clean dorm room.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rt85_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice and friendly hostel and the perfect location to enjoy a boat trip on the backwaters. The house and the garden are peaceful and the rooms are simple but clean.
Just make sure to have the detailled address: it is quite tricky to find!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne-Sophie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We arrived here to find that some of the "available" services we had selected the property for were in fact not available. Namely, there was no WiFi or internet (which was critical to our future travels in India and Sri Lanka) and no restaurant / food service (unless you like street food omlettes, the nearest restaurant is a 15 minute walk to town). This was incredibly disappointing because the property is extremely lovely and well set and the fact that they advertise things which are not there is a let down. The staff on site explained the property has only recently opened and its clear to me that they have opened for high season without having everything ready. When we complained to the staff on site (Michael), it seems there is nothing he can do and has no power to make any decisions by himself which is a total hindrance - please be nice to him as he is a really good guy and the situation is not his fault - we weren't able to speak with anyone with any responsibility at Vedanta about matters - you will see how badly supported staff are from the boss in Mumbai for yourself. If they can get things sorted out re services available and staff support or better described to avoid disappointment it could make this property really good.

Room Tip: To find a room, don't follow the map on Vedantas own website - its nowhere near the true locatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aldolara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Had a lovely stay with Vedanta. Very clean rooms, decent breakfast - Walkable to main attractions - its about a 15 minute walk to the main bus station in Alleppey, and about a 5 minute walk to the point where you get boats for the backwaters. Very organised, and one of the first things they give you is the local tourist map. Safe and enjoyable place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sedric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#7 of 70 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
802 reviews
0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters

Address: near HMCA Chapel | Punnamada Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India (Formerly Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $60 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vedanta, the highest state of consciousness and self realization can be achieved only while traveling. Vedanta Wake up! India’s finest chain of backpacking hostels, was conceived to address the primary concerns of backpackers and budget travelers. Vedanta Wake up! along the dreamy backwaters, Alleppey, is located along a network of rivers and is a perfect launchpad to enjoy a beautiful sunny day on the famous Kerala backwaters. The property is set on a vast expanse of lush green lawns and it’s architecture draws inspiration from local elements. Our rooms are designed keeping comfort and cleanliness in mind. We offer shared rooms with en-suite bathrooms as well as superior private rooms for families. At Vedanta Wake up!, we offer you an environment to meet fellow travelers in our lounges which are fully equipped with computers, free Wi-Fi, television sets, DVD players, movies, book exchange libraries, guitars, board games, maps and eateries. Our eateries will provide you with hygienic and sumptuous meals cooked by our in-house chefs any time of the day at very minimum charge. We encourage our guests to socialize and get to know each other through local bar crawls, sight-seeing trips, dinner outings, movie nights, karaoke nights and other fun activities almost every night (and there’s no curfew!). We provide assistance in arranging local tours and visits to nearby tourist attractions so that our guests can soak in the sights and sounds and have a memorable holiday experience. We also organize classes such as cooking, yoga, Indian classical music and Ayurvedic massages. You can check in any time of the day. Our young and energetic team will provide you with every comfort possible to make your stay fun and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing