We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish molly...But kinda overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Avees Puttu House

Avees Puttu House
Ranked #18 of 80 Restaurants in Alappuzha
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
kochi
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great fish molly...But kinda overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We bought some stuff from avees as take away. The fish molly, and vellepam were excellent. The duck curry was good and the beef was good.

But, They didnt encouraged us to order a lot more than we needed and ended up wasting quite a lot.
Besides, the prices were on the higher side for the ambience and class they offer.

I may prefer buying stuff from a toddy shop next to the contour resort.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank imjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    59
    25
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

During my recent visit to Kerala, i was thrilled to see a new decent restaurant come up near my house ( Changanaserry – Karukachal route) and made it a point to visit the place. Thinking of surprising the family, i went to this place and ordered for take away, i waited for 1 hr and 45 min for the food, for every 20 min i kept on reminding the staff about my order and each time the manager would go inside the kitchen and say that the food was getting ready, finally i lost my temper and had to cancel my order and asked for a feedback form, which they never gave. Frustrated i gave them a piece of my mind. Finally ended up taking food from the nearby thatuu kada. Overall a terrible exp and i could see many more frustrated faces like mine. Please ensure that your staffs are trained for crowd management.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bangalore9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great lunch thali”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We stopped here for lunch on at least 3 occassions --- even as a north Indian, I found their typical Kerala Thali very good with Sambhar, 2/3 dry veggies, brilliant butter-milk to wash everything down and appams on the side (as an extra order) and nice --- I also had the Karimeen fish a couple of times and it was outstanding - the service is nice and friendly, the place is clean and simple and overall leaves one with a great feeling of having had nice clean affordable food which is not too heavy also --- their food though finishes by 215 in the afternoon so if later than that, they may not have any left

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManavAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerala
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Superb.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had lunch from this restaurant several times. I usually take Fish Molly (Karimeen) which is their one of the specialities. Puttu is also very good. Almost all dishes are very tasty and worth value (Though a bit costly). You can purchase good Puttu podi from there for home use. Anyway I like this place too much.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BARISHKOHINOOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food but limited choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Food was excellent. Choices limited if you are there at the wrong time. At 2 pm they were out of fish curry. Service however was very good. Fabulous view of unending rice fields.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vanmazhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avees Puttu House also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
 

Been to Avees Puttu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing