We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice and relaxing place ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Ranked #7 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A nice and relaxing place ”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Depending on the type of places you have been staying at in India, this place offers a bit of luxury and modern amenities tucked away in the back waters. Bed was really comfortable and I had a great night's sleep finally ... (Potentially, as I was shattered from my trip) but still a very nice stay.

Food was good, restaurant staff very friendly and really nice view from the pool area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hime-chn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Backwaters.

Hope you will recommend our property to your and dear ones.

Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    142
    38
    6
    5
See reviews for
146
128
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location , great staff , nothing is too much trouble for them, beautiful view from the pool area,great sunrise photos over the lake if you can wake up early,very relaxing stay ,organised overnight boat tour for us ,I would highly recommend this hotel , this hotel is a credit to the owner and staff

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Martinzivic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

As rightly mentioned the Sunrise is the something which we would request all our guest should enjoy.

Looking forward to serving you again as we sincerely thank you once again for your stay in Deshadan Backwaters.

Warm Regards

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Beautiful location for a relaxing getaway.Located on the banks of Vembanad lake gives a great view from your cottage itself.Staff are very friendly and helpful.Decent room rates with complementary breakfast and the restaurant offers you meal of your choice.We tried mainly the Kerala sea food delicacies which was a little expensive but worth spending..

For the sightseeing option the resort arranged as a sunset cruise in the Shikara(large boats) with a reasonable rates,
Hotel has an infinity pool,but the pool closes at 0007pm and even the Ayurveda center closes at 0800pm.So no scope of any night time activities.

Room Tip: Request for a room with lake view and order your required menu at least an hour early as they as per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Divya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Backwater Resort form your stay in Kerala Backwaters.

As rightly mentioned it is a relaxing gate away in Backwaters.

Hope you can share your good experiences with your near and dear ones.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is really a superb resort to stay in Allephy.

You will really enjoy the time you spent here, everything is so nice and so beautiful. We really enjoyed each and every moment we spent here.

We stayed in lake view room and it was excellent. It has a very nice view to backwater and swimming pool.

Very well maintained swimming pool and also it’s big enough to play around.

We stayed here for 1 day and I felt like one day here is not sufficient to enjoy the beauty of the resort, location and back water. Definitely will go back again

Comes to food..you will get the best food for your money.. we went to Kerala for 6 days..this is the best place we got the nice good..this is the best..

Thanks to all of you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kondal_kolipaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for making us so special by going through your comments.,

We will make sure that in days to come we will receive such good comments.

Looking forward to serving you soon.

Warm Regards


Anup Balan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The resort was far from the main city some 16 kms and deep inside, reaching there is difficult from Alleppey as no direction or signboard.

Reached late in the evening, check in was smooth as I had booked in advance but front staff were not welcoming.
I booked Pavilion room which has no view, in fact the rear rooms were too congested. the view from the hotel is fantastic with swimming pool overlooking the large magnificent Vembanad lake.

The resort was fully occupied mostly foreigners, the resort is good for relax but no life.

Room Tip: Don't go for Pavilion rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_mar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing Deshadan Backwater. Resort for your stay in Kerala.

As mentioned Pavilion rooms does not have view but we have the best views form Lake view .

Looking forward to serving you again.

WARM RAEGRDS


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Place is amazing. Calm, serene n peaceful. Next to the backwaters its an apt place to watch sunrise, fishing at the backwaters. Staff at the resort are really friendly and cordial. Food is good too. Very well maintained cottages and the resort. I was very happy to stay here. I would definitely recommend this place if you are visiting Allepey.

Its worth to wake up early to watch the beautiful sunrise here.. :)

As the resort is always occupied, there is no flexibility with check-in time if you are checking in early. Check-in time is 1PM. We had driven all the way from Bangalore and reached at 11AM. But we had to wait till 12:30PM to get the room.

Meantime, they arranged for welcome drink, sandwiches and tea for us at the cafeteria.
Stay here was really memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadhana_Dikshith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Deshadan Backwaters and enjoying the best of sunrise view for our property.

We have also taken note on the check -in time as we have understood the concerns raised; will be sorted out soon.

WARM REGARDS

Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Away from the hustle of the small Kerala town of Alleppey, you will find a hamlet called Muhamma. Tucked away in Muhamma on the banks of the Vembanad lake is an enclave of serenity called Deshadan. This property is a peaceful place to stay & relax next to the nature with almost all the modern amenities and traditional ambience. An infinity pool adds to the glamour of this place.

No ships or speedboats to disturb your tranquility. No speeding cars or angry horns to disturb the peace. You see an occasional fisherman go in a traditional canoe, or a tourist houseboat built to blend in with the landscape or maybe just the china net doing it's duty. You can be with yourself and at peace.

In short, if you are looking for a place to relax and laze around, then this is the place to be in.

The staff are very helpful and guide you for whatever one wants to do. However, please note that the room service does not work past 10:00 PM.

Room Tip: Choose the 400 series room. The rooms are bigger compared to the 100 series and the 200 series. Each...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripsofSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANUP000, AGM- BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for being so poetic about your experiences with Deshadan Backwater.

We are totally overwhelmed with you lovely comments.

Looking forward to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
13.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
1.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
5.9 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
7.3 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deshadan Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deshadan Backwater Resort

Property: Deshadan Backwater Resort
Address: Kaipuram, Muhamma, Alappuzha 688525, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Deshadan Backwater Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deshadan Backwater Resort, Muhamma, Aleppey is situated on the Vembanad Lake. 22 rooms which 02 private pool villa. The property has an infinity pool along with the kids pool. Restaurant along with Ayurveda center is situated on the waterways. The property can be checked-in through Road and Boat access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Deshadan Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deshadan Backwater Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing