We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Coconut Lagoon(Kumarakom)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Vivanta by Taj(Kumarakom)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocobay Resort(Kumarakom)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (398)
Filter reviews
398 results
Traveler rating
171
161
49
8
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
161
49
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvembanad lakeswimming poolsuperior lake view roompathiramanal islandf b managerbackwater resortshikara ridebeautiful backwaterbird sanctuarychinese fishing netsgames roomneat and clean roomscheck in was smoothnearby villageexcellent locationsmall propertybuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 398 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

From the minute we arrived we knew myself and my wife made the right decision staying here, finding a hiden gem! Our room was lovely and had a great view of the lake as well as having a lovevly bathroom, with wifi in the room, and a modern tv, which we hooked up our hard drive to.Theres loads to do,the hotel arranged some fishing rods for us to fish, they also arranged some push bikes so we could explore the nearby village all of free of charge, unlike some hotels..The hotel was very helpful in organising a boat cruise for us, at very short notice.The staff are very kind and friendly and helpful. Its the little things that count and they would constantly do little things that made our trip better...For example we had a very early morning flight, where we left way before the kitchen opened...they made sure we had a proper breakfast before we left inspite of the time.We had a lovely valentines week there, and would return! For a establishment thats only 4 months old, this hotel has the potential to becoming the best resort in Alleppey.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkResh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, AGM- Business Development at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Sir,


Thank you for rightly mentioning the term what we are known as.

We hope our valued guests will come and experience the best of Deshadan experiences at all times.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

A great new hotel in an awesome location on the lake. Facilities are excellent, the rooms are great, very clean and comfortable, and staff can arrange a boat trip for you at a good price. It's also worth using the push bikes they have for guests to explore the local area. We met some real characters in the nearby village and sampled some local cuisine!
Unfortunately the hotel hasn't quite got up to speed with the food situation as yet and a lot of what's on the menu isn't available and the service is slow. I think that they are aware of this and things will improve once the hotel becomes more established.
If you are a drinker be aware that the hotel doesn't always have alcohol so you might want to check this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimieeandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for showcasing the property as the up coming best property in town.

We will maintain the best services at all times and keep Deshadan Brand at its peak.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This sparkling new establishment showed great potential to be a first rate resort in the not-to-distant future. Excellent rooms, nice grounds (including infinity pool) and acceptable service. Would definitely return here

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your great comments which appreciate the fact that Deshadan Backwater is the property to reckon with in the future.


Assuring the best services at all times and we would keep your foresight as our priority.

Warm Regards

Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Got it reserved through 'booking.com' for my family stay at Deshadan backwater. Having experienced Deshadan's hospitality before in Munnar, I was sure that I can expect more fun in this splendid Backwater resort. The scenic ambiance, the best in class guest service and authentic Kerala cuisines made our vacation a most memorable one. I would love to visit this place again in the coming years. Definitely, a recommended destination to enjoy your holiday with beloved ones.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhilashvpillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your great comments.

Such enthusiastic comments give us the privilege to say come to Deshadan and feel the warmth and take everlasting memories back home.

Assuring the best services at all times.

Eagerly waiting to serving you again.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Working in the hospitality field, i consider myself a hard to please client and booking into Deshadan after hearing some gutt comments from websites and friends back home in India. All i wanted was some peace and quiet and that was all more than what i got. Muhamma is far enough from hustle and bustle yet you dont seem feel lost. I had a villa by the pool and away from the rest which also helped. The chef seemed to cook up amazing local cuisine but was also willing to go the extra mile at breakfast for some continental dishes.
Only draw back i could find was lack of a bar, but i took that on the stride and was glad that i could stay off the drinks for few days.
Staff seemed busy but was friendlily yet not too intruding....we were left alone for much needed calm....loved it and will be back

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unnirkrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anup B, Director of Sales at Deshadan Backwater Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Sir,

The best comments we have received till date.

We are making sure to maintain the best of Deshadan hospitalizes at all times.

Looking forward to serving you again at any of our properties.

Warm Regards


Anup

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews