We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very disappointing!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arakal Heritage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arakal Heritage
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Alappuzha
Köln
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

From all placed we slept during our trip through Kerala this is the only one we would never recommend to anybody! Compared with other homestays Arakal was the most expensive one, but we were shocked about the bad quality of food - nearly always cold, and neither fresh nor tasty - and about the missing service - one day the whole family was even out and there was nobody around that could care for us, they left us alone...We got so much used to the heartful atmosphere anywhere in Kerala, but at Arakal we had got to know the other side.....the only positive aspect is the beautiful beach nearby...so spend your money elsewhere, you will get more for it!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kitti1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    2
    5
    5
See reviews for
12
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

If you want a quiet, secluded place close to the beach you must try this homestay run by a very welcoming and hospitable family. The accommodation is delightful. We had a comfortable double room with an attached shower and wc. The setting is delightfully Keralan. Palm trees, miles of white sandy beach within 5 minutes walk and very pretty countryside nearby. The food is plentiful and stunning. Homecooking at its best.

Room Tip: Ask for the bungalow with a tree growing through the veandah roof. Unusual and very pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AsiaSheba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
svendborg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Reading the reviews of this place I am unable to understand why they so positive. For the price of INR 6000 for a double room incl. meals I had expected a bit more (In Fort Cochin we paid INR 4800 for a very nice room at a good hotel where everything worked and INR 1000 for meals). There was absolutely nothing to do here except sit in a chair and relax. However in the evening there were a lot of moscitos and we had to go inside. The moscito net was too little
to cover the whole bed. The food was ok but nothing more. It did not have the touch of somebody who really cared (example: the honey was in an old pineapple jam jar, the rice was served in pots on the table). I am writing this because it says on the home page how fantastic Mini's kitchen was. It was not. The beach was very dirty (people had gone to the toilet in the sand). We left after one day because we could not stand it. The couple was nice enough but
at that price we felt cheated. It is realy far out. I think it is an ok place for young people and back packers but what do you do all day if there is nothing to do? I cannot recommend it.
In my opinion it should cost max. INR 5000 for everything, the kitchen should improve considerably and the beach should by cleaned up.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlaSvendborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

A last minute addition to our holiday plan and what a gem. We had a terrific 3 days at this wonderful homestay where our cottage was excelent and the hospitality was excelent. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was perfect. Our only complaint......we could not fit all the wonderful food in without bursting ! The beach is reached via a short walk through palm trees and past fishermens cottages, with happy children anxious to talk to you. You will find that apart from fishermen mending their nets and launching their boats, you will be the only ones there. Paradise.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October with our 5 year old Granddaughter. We had a really lovely time and the family were absolutely lovely, making us feel very comfortable and welcome. Minni cooked us some delicious meals and went out of her way to accommodate our granddaughter who is a very fussy eater - it did'nt help that the bag I had packed with all her food in was mislaid by the airline. The area surrounding the cottages was fantastic, with hammocks hung between the trees and a pond containing lots of fish. The walk down to the beach through the trees and over a backwater inlet which was crossed by two tree trunks and a rope slung between two trees was just magical for both our little one and ourselves, and the night that Abi took us on a walk around his property to show us the wooded area beyond his house which was alight with fireflies was amazing......a moment I will never forget. The cottages are clean and the bed was comfortable, I really loved the open air bathroom, both during the day with the sunlight pouring in but also at night with the dim lighting giving it a fairytale feel. As others have commented the beach could do with a bit of a tidy up but its not the worse beach i have ever seen. All in all would highly recommend this as a place to stay and I certainly hope I am fortunate enough to visit again some day. thank you once again Abi & Minni for making our stay so enjoyable. Jackie Paul and Maddi Moomins

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatjackswants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

Whilst our stay was a while ago, the memories of it are still fresh! Arakal heritage was the first place we stayed in Kerala and it was a great place to start! We were greeted by our friendly hosts and a view of intricately carved rooms surrounded by palm trees with hammocks ready and waiting between them-amazing!

Off the beaten track and without a sign so definitely worth asking autorickshaw/taxi driver to give owners a call for directions!

Homestay a walk away from a beautiful beach where we were able to sunbathe without any probs. Never before have I been to a beach which was pretty much deserted! A real highlight was watching the fishermen fish and the ladies gathering together the catches as the afternoon drew on. Ladies will let you get involved too if you fancy it!

The room was basic but comfortable and complete with walled outdoor bathroom which was a real novelty!- birds calling and butterflies flying overhead! Room also had its own verandah which was lovely to sit out in.

Mozzies and flies of some kind came out to play at night but repellant coils were provided and verandahs are fumigated with some kind of insense to keep bugs at bay. Definitely worth keeping lights off in room at night as another way of keeping flies out.

On the pricey-side but rate inclusive of room and three meals a day and tasty ones at that..king fish curry a favourite!

A good stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennid2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We decided to treat ourselves to a 3 day stay as recommended in the guide book. Having traveled all day with our 2 year old we arrived at 3.30pm and had to wait over an hour to get into our room - not a great start! Room was dark, bathroom small, fan was old &rickety and could hear the neighbors (arranging to check out early). There is lot of standing water around and you can't sit out in the morning with the mosquitoes. We changed our room which was better but a bit rustic, not sure how clean the outdoor shower room really was with constantly leaking cistern, mosquitoes in the room and to top it off the AC broke down. Worse part is that Abi made up the bill in his head when checking out and tried to charge us 500r for drinks and didn't seem that bothered about charging full room rate with broken AC. If this place was half the price we wouldn't complain but it is totally over priced and needs some serious investment in the property to justify charging what they do. On the plus the food is quite good and location peaceful..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeInAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
5.4 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#19 of 65 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#23 of 65 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Ayur Island Resort
Grand Ayur Island Resort
#12 of 65 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#15 of 65 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 65 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motty's Homestay
Motty's Homestay
#24 of 65 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arakal Heritage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arakal Heritage

Property: Arakal Heritage
Address: Alappuzha 688530, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 Hotels in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Arakal Heritage Alappuzha
Arakal Heritage Hotel Alappuzha
Arakal Heritage Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing