We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect view & Peaceful environment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Ranked #29 of 62 Hotels in Alappuzha
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect view & Peaceful environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed at Kayaloram Heritage Lake resort for 3 nights in a lake view room. The resort has the best view of backwaters with peaceful and calm environment. Awesome place to relax. Service is OK too many problems with the AC and power cuts.
Overall nice place to stay and relax.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChetanKulthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    61
    24
    19
    17
See reviews for
51
72
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I found Kayaloram heritage resort to be a cute place situated on the lake. Our room was adequate in size, but was extraordinarily hot and the air conditioning would not work. We called the desk four times to ask for help; once the receptionist even hung up on us. We would have opened the windows, but the mosquito net was so dirty and old that mosquitoes were actually resting on the net. Also, the net had big holes in it so coverage with the net was impossible.

Over dinner we found out that other hotel guests had experienced similar challenges with their air conditioning and that the front desk staff have an auxiliary switch to turn off and on the air conditioning. We finally rectified this issue only to have some sort of animal try to scratch its way into our room late at night. If I had wanted to camp in India, I would have simply brought a tent and avoided paying for a room at a hotel.

Room Tip: Select a room close to the reception as there is a temple that has loud speakers towards the back of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravelerfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanesh123, Manager at Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to review our heritage property.We truly value the opinions of our valuable customers like you .We will seriously consider and take necessary step to rectify the electricity problem in our area .Thanks & Regards from Kayaloram Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Faridabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Overall experience: Very good - 1). good location (right on the lake) 2). good food 3). courteous staff 4). clean rooms

Couple of things that stood out for us was: 1). Staff is very courteous and helpful. We were travelling with 5 month old infant and the staff was very helpful in taking care of the kid while we dining or enjoying other facilities. 2). Location, right on the lake, you can just hop on to a boat to take a lake ride if you want.

Rooms: Clean with mosquito and insect nets. I felt the lighting inside room could have been better

Room Tip: Be prepared to pay in cash during check-out. Either did not have a credit card machine or may be it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wild_Styln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Staff friendly and accommodating. Need to ensure they have your preferred soft drink or beer in advance. They only had one bottle of beer at lunch & a couple bottles of soft drinks available. Rooms are clean with mosquito nets. For some reason they want you to pre order your dinner as it takes 45 minutes to cook. We asked if the chef could cook us some local southern Indian food of which she did. The dishes were not on the menu & they were delicious - worth the wait. The trip into town was easily organised but there is not much to see.

The pool was unclean ok to put your feet in.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_S18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Really a great lake side resort to stay in. Though its a bit difficult to reach but once you reach there it seems to be very great place. We booked a lake view room and room was very nicely done. We ordered lunch and dinner and I must say food was good and we enjoyed our stay very much. I would say this a value for money for me as I got 30% discount from cleartrip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Nitesh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Theme of Heritage hotel is very good and I liked it. Your heritage room will let you feel like you are living in the ancient time.

Location is very good. You can see the backwaters from the hotel. They have provided the benches where you can sit and enjoy it.

But to reach at hotel, you need to go thru very narrow streets and it will take some time to find the hotel.

One bad thing is that you need to order the food in advance and they take hell lot of time to get it prepared. You will feel like this wait is never ending.

And beware of mosquitoes. There are lot of mosquitoes (may be in all hotels not sure). They will provide you the mosquitoes net. This net is very different and it actually feels good to sleep in that net. I liked this net :).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrashantMahajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhanesh123, Manager at Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Greetings from MIR Hotels & Resorts!

Dear Mr: Prashant Mahajan,

Thank you for taking the time to review our heritage property.We truly value the opinions of our valuable customers like you and we are happy that we had fulfilled your expectations.We will seriously consider and take necessary steps improve the food service & quality .Wish you a wonderful New Year 2013!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have our booking in this resort from 22nd Dec 2012 to 26th Dec 2012. I have booked for Lake View room as shown in resort photo, but i was given a room which was neither lake view nor pool view. We checked in to resort at night, so could not realize the room location, but in morning when i asked the manager to change my room, they said they do not have any other room available, but would change it next day, but did not do that and i was in that room till 26th. Somehow i felt being cheated by the resort management.

Food is very costly and taste wise it is avg. Swimming pool was not cleaned regularly. One will find lot of insects, dead leafs etc in the water.

Only Good part of this resort is, its location .. it has the amazing view of backwater lake.

Room Tip: Book lake view room only after seeing it at the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sibabrata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#6 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
10.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#13 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
21.0 mi away
Emarald Pristine Island Floating Resort
1.1 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Property: Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Address: Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayaloram Lake Resort Managed by Mir Group of companies, Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort,set in the enchanted landscape of Alleppey, offers impeccable services at par with international standards. Ideally suited for business travelers and tourists alike, the resort is set in lush green settings of Punnamada in Alleppey, the Venice of the east. Kayaloram is a true blend of the rustic ambience of Alleppey and the facilities of a modern resort.The resort also offers an Ayurvedic centre which has all the major treatments.Kayaloram has been classified under the title of Heritage Resort, by the Government of India.Sizzling backwaters Cruising along the stunning and unique backwaters of Alleppey gives you the most enchanting holidaying experience. The back water cruise along the narrow canals that interweave the rustic villages of Kuttanad gives you the most awesome experience. Hear the ripples of Vembanad Lake and feel completely relaxed in the rustic charm of the villages. It is fascinating to watch the village girls engaged in the various house hold chores in front of every house & men doing their daily works. Enjoy the savor of fresh coconut water; watch the toddy tappers tapping fresh toddy & village folk active in making coir from coconut husk.Alleppey gives you much more beyond these. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ETB and Agoda so you can book your Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing