We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel desperately in need of good managers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Ranked #31 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Hotel desperately in need of good managers!”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

How a good property with a beautiful locale and eye catching landscape can spoil a holiday by its poor managers; I learnt by spending a night at this "Luxury" resort, where all anti Luxury items were in plenty, for example power cuts, non functional AC, non working generator, live insects for company in bathrooom, TV without set top box, and very limited choice at the breakfast table. Unfortunately the smiling faces wth polite voices do not make up for poor performance, and it could not stop me from changing my plan from 2 nights stay to 1 night at the most........not to return till mprovements are evident.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    75
    30
    24
    19
See reviews for
66
80
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We opted for this hotel after seeing the rating & reviews on trip adviser, but after reaching there we were little disappointed. Entrance garden was not maintained at all, long grass, no flowers, and dirty canal, very poor landscaping. But as we proceeded to our room some hope emerged because the view from the room was amazing. But what followed took away even that hope.

It’s not only the doors and the room that gave it a heritage look but also the TV set, AC, and toiletries are antique. Ac didn't work for more than 5 minutes. During power cuts the generator broke down and the whole resort plunged into complete darkness. The dressing table was without any glass top and the underlying rails refused to hold anything. The pair of lizards in the room was also from the same era, kept chatting whole night. Bath room was without roof and insects/reptiles will keep you company.
The only silver lining was the constantly smiling & helpful restaurant staff.
Pine apple juice and fruits were excellent. Idly was also good but rest of the food was below par.
Our initial booking was for 2 days but we were fortunate enough that our travel agent arranged another resort for the next day which was too good.
All in all there is no sign of luxury in this “Luxury Resort”.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ritu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

First impression good.
Chalets set in flat beautiful garden- unclear in what way this is a Heritage site.
Good size room with dark panelling,beautiful wood workmanship; bathroom is part outside, so you shower in the open. (no roof.
Good meal on arrival, but as 4 of our party of 6 were ill whilst visiting other food not experienced although final breakfast somewhat basic.
Swimming pool
WiFi- in reception not working
The room set up meant neighbours sitting area outside my window, had to use safety pins to close curtains for privacy.
A/C intermittent and needed. Fan
Firm bed.

A leasant hotel , good food,let down but a lack of attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacredcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2012

we stayed at this wonderful resort 2weeks ago.It was an amazing experience, the care we experienced from the staff was stunning.We enjoyed every moment of our holiday in Kayaloram.The special attraction that segregates kayaloram is the view.View from the lake facing rooms are literally a feast for the eyes.Its atmosphere is ideal for relaxation.When we talk about Kayaloram we must say about their open bathrooms(roofless)which are unique.The food served at the restaurant was amazing.the butterfly garden and pets adds the beauty.We thank kayaloram for making our trip memorable.

Room Tip: lake side rooms got pretty good view of the backwaters
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

No words to express, me and my wife had a great time at Kayaloram Lake Resort of Mir Group.We are from Australia, have been to Kerala, India many times, always we used to stay in 5 stars, but this time fortunately my friend suggested this place, this is something different. Great location, right on the backwater. Food was fantastic, tried out few local dishes, special thanks to Chef (forgot name, too tough to remember Indian names). Got the food as per my taste as our orders were taken by the Chef directly. Staffs are very friendly, always with a smiling face and an attitude to serve. It was just 2 short stay, I am coming back in December with my friends to have fun...but haven't got the rooms confirmed yet as they are totally sold out in December-January. Manager has promised me that he will give me a room in their house boat, if they cant put me in their hotel room. Any way big thanks to all...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

A very peaceful hotel set in very beautiful surroundings. The hotel staff are very friendly and attentive and every one of them made us feel more than welcome. The gardens in the hotel are lovely and well maintained. The view across the lake is absolutely stunning and seeing the moon reflected on a very still and peaceful lake was wonderful.
The room was well maintained and clean. The swimming pool, rooms and the whole area of the hotel appeared to be washed and cleaned every day.
We would definately would loke to stay there again.
The only negative was the food in the restuarant. It was good but could have been much better

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in Kayaloram a couple of weeks back..the resort is beautiful. We had booked lakeview rooms. The view of the lake from our room was breathtaking.The roofless bathrooms were a good experience. It was diwali and so the whole resort was lit up with pretty diyas.
The greatest letdown was the food in the restaurant.On the day we reached the resort they had limited guests and hence we were told that there wasnt much of variety The fish served wasnt fresh, thats the least one can expect from them. The next day they had a huge number of guests and the restaurant staff said its tough to attend us as they are busy preparing meals fpr the big group of people so we had to go to the city looking for food.

I would recommend this place for a stay but make sure you have your meals outside

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suprithanayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
19.8 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.2 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
5.7 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 68 in Alappuzha
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
6.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
3.9 mi away
Casamaria Beach Resort
Casamaria Beach Resort
#25 of 68 in Alappuzha
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort

Property: Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Address: Punnamada Alleppey | Alleppey, Alappuzha 688006, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayaloram Lake Resort Managed by Mir Group of companies, Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort,set in the enchanted landscape of Alleppey, offers impeccable services at par with international standards. Ideally suited for business travelers and tourists alike, the resort is set in lush green settings of Punnamada in Alleppey, the Venice of the east. Kayaloram is a true blend of the rustic ambience of Alleppey and the facilities of a modern resort.The resort also offers an Ayurvedic centre which has all the major treatments.Kayaloram has been classified under the title of Heritage Resort, by the Government of India.Sizzling backwaters Cruising along the stunning and unique backwaters of Alleppey gives you the most enchanting holidaying experience. The back water cruise along the narrow canals that interweave the rustic villages of Kuttanad gives you the most awesome experience. Hear the ripples of Vembanad Lake and feel completely relaxed in the rustic charm of the villages. It is fascinating to watch the village girls engaged in the various house hold chores in front of every house & men doing their daily works. Enjoy the savor of fresh coconut water; watch the toddy tappers tapping fresh toddy & village folk active in making coir from coconut husk.Alleppey gives you much more beyond these. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Hotel Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Alappuzha
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing