We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Motty's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motty's Homestay
Ranked #30 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I came to India for the first time in January 2011. Friends suggested to stay at Motty's Homestay and that is what i did. I happy I did that. I stayed in India for two month and travelled around south India. I stayed at Motty's Homestay two times. First when I arrived and before I left. I think Motty's is the best place to arrive in India and I am sure it's the best place to relax before you leave the country. I have had best time in India and specially at this place. They are wonderful and lovely people and I have no word to say how much I love being at there place.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maaalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    11
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
11
54
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I travel to Alleppey once a year for work, and plan the timing of the trip around availability at Motty's. I have been to Alleppey on and off for some years, and stayed at most of its better hotels. Motty's is the only place I now stay at.

The architecture and interiors give you a real sense of Kerelan high culture, and Motty and Lali are welcoming and warm hosts. And so I return year after year.

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Aref_Kenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton,
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed in the downstairs room which has a verandah facing into the garden and an outside shower, loo and washbasin, with a small fish-pond, cleverly protected from the view of the neighbours, which was a new and relaxing experience for us, being so close to the sights and sounds of the garden. The room is air conditioned and comfortable, its only drawback is a lack of cupboards and wardrobes if you are the kind of person who likes to settle in to a place. Their house is within walking distance and auto rickshaw drive of Alleppey centre, the main canal boat jetty and the lake shore. What made our stay remarkable was the warmth of our welcome, Motty's local knowledge, which he is happy to share, and Lalli's hospitality and cooking, Breakfasts and evening meals were opportunities to sample (or perhaps feast would be a better word) on Lalli's Keralan specialities, and if we were around in the afternoon, delicious cold drinks or coffee and tasty snacks appeared on our verandah. On our last evening, Lalli invited us into the kitchen to show us exactly how chappatis and puris are made, and we left with a book of recipes put together by her and her sister. Motty arranged with a local man to take us on the small canals in the backwaters: a trip which included an early morning ferry ride, and a lazy three hours (for us anyway, as someone else was doing the paddling) in what must be one of the most beautiful places in the world, watching village life going on by the shore and netting small fish which we ate for lunch. Motty also drove us into Alleppey and showed us iplaces to walk in the town and for lunch. he even drove us to the station to catch a late train. It was really like staying with friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Zootcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We had a wonderful few days with Motty and Lali just after New Year - they were charming and friendly, cooked us amazing food every night (and the occasional tea-time treat), gave us a fab cooking lesson (we're still making aloo puri most nights), and helped to organise a great morning out to a family and village on the backwaters (where we were taken on a backwater birdwatching canoe trip, complete with breakfast and an amazing home-cooked lunch).

We got a bit confused on our arrival - this isn't Motty's beach houses further up the coast - but we soon settled in. Our room was beautiful, nice chunky wooden furniture, with a lovely balcony for reading in the evenings. We got eaten by mosquitoes, so stock up on insect repellent. We weren't that keen on Alleppey itself, but you can hardly blame Motty or Lali for that!

We'd thoroughly recommend Motty and Lali's place if you're staying in Alleppey... Make sure you do the canoe trip and cookery lesson!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwindonBadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Motty's Homestay is a great place to stay in Alleppey!

There are three rooms available to guests, one connected to the main house & two located in a annex upstairs & downstairs respectively. We stayed in the upstairs of the annex and the room was very spacious with very nice fittings.

There was both a double bed & a seperate single bed (presumably we had been put in the family room), and a oustide balcony which was lovely to sit out on just reading or relaxing.

The bathroom was covered, but the with one wall open to the elements (although still covered with a blind), but this gave you privacy whilst making you feel like you were getting washed with nature & a nice touch we thought. Only slight downside was that the water pressure in the shower was very low so that it was not much more than a dribble (but this could just be that we didn't know how to use it properly!).

There is also a well kept, nice little garden outside which was great to sit & relax in.

The house itself is located just 5 minutes walk from the main road that runs through Alleppey so you can walk to the canals & centre in 15 minutes or so which is great. The beach is a good 30-45 minutes walk, but you can always take a tuk tuk or taxi if you prefer.

Motty & Lali are excellent hosts & Lali makes some tasty authentic Keralan food, which you can eat either in their dining room or outside on the veranda. They will talk to you over dinner too & if there are other guests staying also (it was only us at the time of our stay) then they will join you.

Motty can also easily organise backwater tours (we did the 4 hour morning tour in a smaller boat which we would recommend as you get to see the narrower canals which the large houseboats cannot access). These backwaters are great for their natural beauty & it is a fantastic way to watch the locals go about their lives.

The homestay experience may not be for everyone, but if you want an authentic experience away from the big resorts, living with some great hosts who will feed you tradional food & make you feel very welcome then Mottys Homestay is the place for you!

We would certain stay again if we came back to Alleppey!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wunderlust78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

This homestay is perfectly located in a peaceful and quiet place, but only a few minutes walk from the centre of Alleppey.
Motty and Lali were fantastically helpful, in advance of our trip organising a houseboat for us, and once we were there advising on local transport and things to do.
The house is beautiful. We had a big bedroom, beautifully furnished, with mosquito nets over the windows, fans and air conditioning. We also enjoyed the famous outdoor bathroom which lived up to its reputation. It is a good quality hotel-style bathroom, but outdoors (with high walls for privacy), with a pond and palm trees! Amazing. Outside the bedroom were seats where we could enjoy Motty's gorgeous garden.
A tip: you cannot identify this place from the outside as it doesn't have any signs or anything, so phone in advance for directions, or ask your driver to if you are coming by car.
We stayed here over Christmas and were treated to a typical Keralan Syrian Christian Christmas breakfast which was delicious, as well as a fantastic evening meal where the food was very tasty and we very much enjoyed the company of the other guests as well as Motty and Lali.
Motty's homestay is a fantastic find as it is close to Alleppey town whereas most of the places to stay in this area are on the water, which means you'd miss out on visiting a fascinating place. I think this is why the price may appear a little high - you are paying for the fact that there is not a lot of accommodation of this quality in this area. Definitely worth it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizard078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Having just left an idyllic beach resort at Marari, we wondered how much we would enjoy moving to a homestay in bustling Alappuzha. But as soon as we stepped into Motti and Lali's home we felt safe and comfortable. Our room was stylish and spacious, with a lovely terrace overlooking the garden. Meal's at the homestay were delicious and entertaining, as a half hour conversation with our hosts told us more about Kerala than we could learn from any guidebook. Motti is not just a homestay owner, he is also a holiday planner, and we were very happy with all the accommodation he arranged for us. He organized the most splendid excursion of our holiday, which was a day-trip in the backwaters with one of his friends, a villager from the backwaters. Between feeding us breakfast and lunch at his home, we meandered through the quieter and smaller canals in a canoe, miles from where other tourists go. Because of Motti and Lali's advice, we felt we got a much more authentic Keralan experience. The singing from the festival and temples nearby added to the charm of the place. All in all we had a wonderful stay, and were glad we met such a warm and knowledgable Keralan couple. And you couldn't be in better hands with respect to planning your travel and accommodation in the region.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Europeanfamily3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
2.3 mi away
Alleppey Beach Garden
Alleppey Beach Garden
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
5.1 mi away
El Oceano Beach Villas
El Oceano Beach Villas
#14 of 68 in Alappuzha
58 reviews
6.7 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
3.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
50 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aquabliss
Aquabliss
#21 of 68 in Alappuzha
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motty's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motty's Homestay

Property: Motty's Homestay
Address: Kidangamparambu Temple Street, Alappuzha 688 013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique Heritage Homestay accommodation offering peace and tranquility in the quaint little town of Alleppey -the gateway to the Backwaters" This traditional Syrian Christian home with it's gardenn view verandahs bring back old world charm . Comfortable en-suite bedrooms offers warm hospitality and excellent food. Guests have exclusive use of the comfortably furnished sitting room with its beamed ceiling and wooden antique furniture, and guests own private entrance. Emphasis is on the food which is cooked for you by the lady of the house using fresh local ingredients and home grown produce. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Motty's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motty`s Homestay Hotel Alappuzha
Motty's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing