We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Exposure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Exposure!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our driver called the Emerald Isle (EI) number to get directions to the ferry point. Once there, a boat took us across the river to EI where we were greeted by our host, Mr Vinod Job. Although we arrived late for lunch (it was 3.30pm), our host ensured that we were served with steaming hot food. I was a bit concerned that the food would be tailored to suit the Western / tourist palate. As it turned out, my concern was misplaced. The food was simple, delicious and authentic Kerala fare. We had a total of 3 rooms: 2 Heritage rooms and 1 ‘Granary’ mini-suite (all air-conditioned). The rooms were more than satisfactory although the old doors squeaked and creaked (as would be expected) whenever we shut or opened the doors. The kids observed immediately, with some alarm, that there was no TV in the room (I was grateful for that). The en-suite open-to-the-sky shower was a delight. Vinod, ably assisted by Sam and Tom, attended to all our requests: ayurvedic body massage, a trip in an auto-rickshaw to Alappuzha town for some shopping, fishing in the fish farm on EI's own premises, an insightful evening cruise in a country boat through the river and canals (we all paddled),and a demonstration of toddy-tapping (and toddy tasting). We were also entertained to some folk songs heartily sung by the “toddy-tapping boys”. In the evening, we were assailed by commando-trained mosquitoes. Thankfully, we came prepared with our mosquito repellant spray. The river didn't seem quite so suitable for swimming. So we didn't. Overall, I was grateful to Vinod and his Team, not only for their warm hospitality but also for the exposure that my city dwelling kids received from their 2-night stay at Emerald Isle.

Room Tip: The Granary mini-suite is perhaps more unique than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manoj_solas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    58
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
129
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierentz
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful old house restored.
Rooms are amazing, the spot is very well located if you like wonderful sunset as well.
The food was excellent and the owner of the house is very friendly, full of
interest and very close to his customers
Very nice to have a shower outside

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Welcomed by the owner as we arrived by boat at night to this beautiful homestead, we were instantly blown away by this beautiful and tranquil spot. Top-notch friendly service with excellent attention to detail. Wonderful rooms with big comfortable beds and an outdoor shower. Fantastic home-cooked food served under the stars on the waterfront with the buzzing and chirping and the wildlife. A highlight of our trip for sure!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OxxN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the wonderful emerald isle. We heard it was one of the best homestays in India and it didn't disappoint. The building is a gorgeous heritage conversion; every room has its own character and is decked out in original stylish fittings as well having an airy roofless bathroom.
The surroundings are peaceful and host Vinod will bend over backwards to organise any excursions to the town that you might fancy. You can enjoy delicious home-cooked Keralan specialities together with the other guests under the mozzie net as the sun goes down. Ask about a cooking demonstration if you want to find out more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Vinod and his team really did pull out all the stops to make our stay super special, from delicious nutmeg drink and tour of the grounds on arrival to the free upgrade to the best room (see if the granary store is available, grand bed and outside shower!) this one night stay was a special treat following a frankly underwhelming houseboat trip the day before. The food was unbelievable and al fresco dining area a treat. Took a walk to the church and met some ultra friendly locals, ask for a map!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandShelley80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for our final 2 nights in India....on a cycling tour with Kalypso Adventures. We arrived on bike, but many people arrive by boat....the main road is not far from the other side of the river.
The house is a traditional wooden Indian villa...lovely dark wooden walls and interiors. There is a lovely garden with hammocks in the back garden, overlooking paddy fields. The rooms are well air conditioned....and need to be because it can be pretty hot & humid here. The dining area is alfresco....but thoughtfully netted off....so no insects to bother about. The food was wonderful, and the staff attentive.
The river is at the foot of the front garden, and it is very easy to wander round the canals and say hi to the local people. There is a temple just a nice walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

It was an nice experience arriving at the Emerald Isle via their country boat. It makes u forget your stressfull city life and u get to start enjoying the true village life.

The Heritage Villa is an luxury accommodation amongst the natural surroundings & village life. It is surrounded by river on the front side and green paddy fields at the rear.

The rooms are excellent, the bathrooms are unique-open to air showers, the food is excellent and the service is prompt .

The property is quite big, one can walk around, lie on the hammock, or walk along the river or u can take a cycle ride

The Hosts Mr Vinod & Mrs Lismy are hospitable and very caring, making sure our stay was as comfortable as possible.

The cultural evenings is quite colourful.

Looking back to stay at this place again!!!!!

Regards
Hemanth Gogia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hemanthgogia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
25.8 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#17 of 68 in Alappuzha
93 reviews
12.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 68 in Alappuzha
181 reviews
6.4 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
810 reviews
3.5 mi away
Xandari Riverscapes
Xandari Riverscapes
#3 of 160 in Alappuzha
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa

Property: Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Address: Manimalathara | Chathurthiakary, Alappuzha 688511, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 160 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful waterways and backwaters of the Kuttanad region of Central Kerala lies Emerald Isle, an exotic haven of tranquility, seemingly remote from city life, yet barely 10 kilometers from Alleppey Town. Tucked away on this delightful island lies the Emerald Isle Heritage Villa, an ancestral Country House set in 9 acres of secluded grounds – your Retreat into a Paradise of Peace. Emerald Isle Heritage Home is situated in an island resplendent with exotic flora, breathtaking flowers, myriad birds and butterflies to make for a memorable holiday, affordable and unforgettable. A truly wonderful way to spend your time on the banks of the backwaters of Kerala! Our house, dating back 150 years, retains its original architectural features, mostly in teak, with splendid wood carvings. There is also a fine Ara, the timber storeroom used in former times for the golden harvest of rice – golden because the island’s lush green paddy fields turn gold at the time of the harvest. Our property stretches across 9 acres including lush green paddy fields and fish ponds. All meals are served in dining room. Please ask us if you want to have any special facilities like Ayurvedic treatments or houseboat rides. Emerald Isle is ideal for those wanting to relax, sun themselves or getting away from it all. The tranquil air here is salve to frayed nerves and everyday tensions. Read a book or taste the locally harvested ’toddy’ fresh from the coconut trees ! When you tire of lazing in a hammock, or sunbathing in the courtyard garden, you can take a walk around the island, go fishing or have a swim. Emerald Isle Heritage Villa offers peace, privacy and pure relaxation. There are only 5 rooms (All Air-conditioned) for guests and each has its own en-suite Open-Shower bathroom with all modern facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have been tastefully done and open to the sky above to give you a feel of being truly closer to nature at Emerald Isle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Hotel Alappuzha
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing