We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magical location...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Magical location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife truly enjoyed our 3 nights at this very authentic property...it was the highlight of our Kerala vacation. The location cannot be beat. Because it is located on an island...you have no traffic just a very authentic village.
We loved the village walk...the locals were friendly. We did a 6 hour Shikara boat backwater cruise which was perfect because we wanted to experience all the small canals in the area...not the big busy canals. The massages at this property are ok...but not the best we had in Kerala.
We booked the luxury cottage as we are not home stay type of travelers but wanted to have the experience. Vinod set up a private dining table for us on our porch which we truly appreciated....and served us a private candlelight dinner every night. Amazingly...we did not see a mosquito our entire stay here...because it was the dry season.
We did not have hot water half of the time. The bed was disappointing...as it was a foam OK...but when the cover sheet came off the foam..the foam had nasty perspiration stains.
Overall a very authentic experience which we will never forget...

Room Tip: Luxury cottage is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrBeach77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review.

Pleased to let you know that we had won the “Lonely Planet Magazine”--Best Homestay of India ---2013.
Ref:- Page 127 of “Lonely Planet Magazine”-India of May 2013.

Award function is at ITC Hotel Mumbai on 7th June.

Our Facebook page is "EMERALDISLEKERALA"

Best regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    56
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
124
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moss Vale, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

This home stay was a delight. Set on an island, it is small (four rooms and a cottage) but very attractive. Meals are served outside and they are very good and the service attentive. We enjoyed an island walk, guided by the map provided. It was a hot day and it was a relief to find a tuk tuk for our return. Our room was attractive and included a pleasant outdoor bathroom. Free Wi-Fi was available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review.

Pleased to let you know that we had won the “Lonely Planet Magazine”--Best Homestay of India ---2013.
Ref:- Page 127 of “Lonely Planet Magazine”-India of May 2013.

Award function is at ITC Hotel Mumbai on 7th June.

Our Facebook page is "EMERALDISLEKERALA"

Best regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Emerald Isle homestay was our first experience of the Kerala backwaters and where we stayed for 2 nights in January. The owner Vijo welcomed us on the mainland and a short ride across the river delivered us to a place of paradise. A cool drink from the ever smiling Sam set the scene and we were shown to our room. The room was beautiful as was the whole place and had such a relaxed atmosphere, from lounging in the garden hamocks to watching the sunset over the backwater palms with a cool beer. The excellent dinner was prepared by the in-house chef and was superb and great value, Dining al fresco on the beautiful warm evenings was a great antidote to a snow bound UK. The location was excellent and gave us the opportunity to walk around the local villages, this gave us a fascinating insight into the everyday lives of the local people. All in all, a great place, where staff Sam, Tom, chef and owner Vijo made us very welcome.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review.

Pleased to let you know that we had won the “Lonely Planet Magazine”--Best Homestay of India ---2013.
Ref:- Page 127 of “Lonely Planet Magazine”-India of May 2013.

Award function is at ITC Hotel Mumbai on 7th June.

Our Facebook page is "EMERALDISLEKERALA"

Best regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived by boat for our two night stay. Wonderful character filled former rice storage property immaculately converted to luxurious accommodation. The open air shower was great. Fantastic attentive staff, especially Sam and Tom, not forgetting chef made our stay a pleasure. A 30 second stroll to the river's edge to sit and watch life on the backwaters and fabulous sunsets was a highlight. In the garden we lazily wiled away time overlooking the paddy fields in a hammock....bliss!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilary_crosby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review.

Pleased to let you know that we had won the “Lonely Planet Magazine”--Best Homestay of India ---2013.
Ref:- Page 127 of “Lonely Planet Magazine”-India of May 2013.

Award function is at ITC Hotel Mumbai on 7th June.

Our Facebook page is "EMERALDISLEKERALA"

Best regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of our trip with our three girls around Kerala. Vijo gave us a fabulous welcome, with nutmeg juice on arrival. The big beamed bedrooms had a real olde worlde charm - yet with very comfortable beds and good air conditioning (when it was on). The girls were thrilled with the raised bed in the hayloft room, but the outside bathrooms were the best bit. The whole place is beautiful and very clean. The food, which we shared with the other guests at the long table outside, was exceptionally good. The staff took care to make sure the kids were catered for and had enough. They loved their lunch served on a banana leaf and every meal was very different from the last. Vijo arranged a wonderful boat trip around the local waterways where the scenery is truly stunning. Emerald Isle is a fabulous way to experience the backwaters. Just sitting on the verandah and absorbing the atmosphere is a treat in itself. We would all go back in an instant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emlyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for the beautiful review.

Pleased to let you know that we had won the “Lonely Planet Magazine”--Best Homestay of India ---2013.
Ref:- Page 127 of “Lonely Planet Magazine”-India of May 2013.

Award function is at ITC Hotel Mumbai on 7th June.

Our Facebook page is "EMERALDISLEKERALA"

Best regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We spent only one night at Emerald Isle but it was definitely worth it. The hotel and grounds are superb, we had an amazing room with outdoor bathroom and could enjoy several activities like canoe and massages. The food was excellent as well, served outside in the garden. It was very quiet an relaxing. Originally we were supposed to spend two nights on a houseboat, but did not regret having only one night and instead one night at the Emerald Isle. Very warm welcome from the host.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here early in December, 2012. Just 2 couples in the hotel and treated superbly. We occupied the heritage room and the open air bathroom was fantastic.
A wonderful place to stop and do nothing except walk the backwaters, relax, eat, receive massages and look at the farm.
Thoroughly reccommended

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
3.2 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
12.2 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#1 of 150 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa

Property: Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Address: Manimalathara | Chathurthiakary, Alappuzha 688511, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 150 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful waterways and backwaters of the Kuttanad region of Central Kerala lies Emerald Isle, an exotic haven of tranquility, seemingly remote from city life, yet barely 10 kilometers from Alleppey Town. Tucked away on this delightful island lies the Emerald Isle Heritage Villa, an ancestral Country House set in 9 acres of secluded grounds – your Retreat into a Paradise of Peace. Emerald Isle Heritage Home is situated in an island resplendent with exotic flora, breathtaking flowers, myriad birds and butterflies to make for a memorable holiday, affordable and unforgettable. A truly wonderful way to spend your time on the banks of the backwaters of Kerala! Our house, dating back 150 years, retains its original architectural features, mostly in teak, with splendid wood carvings. There is also a fine Ara, the timber storeroom used in former times for the golden harvest of rice – golden because the island’s lush green paddy fields turn gold at the time of the harvest. Our property stretches across 9 acres including lush green paddy fields and fish ponds. All meals are served in dining room. Please ask us if you want to have any special facilities like Ayurvedic treatments or houseboat rides. Emerald Isle is ideal for those wanting to relax, sun themselves or getting away from it all. The tranquil air here is salve to frayed nerves and everyday tensions. Read a book or taste the locally harvested ’toddy’ fresh from the coconut trees ! When you tire of lazing in a hammock, or sunbathing in the courtyard garden, you can take a walk around the island, go fishing or have a swim. Emerald Isle Heritage Villa offers peace, privacy and pure relaxation. There are only 5 rooms (All Air-conditioned) for guests and each has its own en-suite Open-Shower bathroom with all modern facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have been tastefully done and open to the sky above to give you a feel of being truly closer to nature at Emerald Isle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Hotel Alappuzha
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing