We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homestay in the Backwaters”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Delightful property with a warm welcome from its owner, the family has lived there for many years, comfortable rooms with outdoor shower/loo and outdoor dining, a lovely terrace with comfy chairs for an afternoon siesta. You arrive by boat and there are walks and boat trips you can do from the house, and lovely grounds with hammocks by the paddy fields for relaxation. Excellent food although I'm afraid I couldn't face curry for breakfast, but there are alternatives!
Peaceful location in a beautiful part of the backwaters. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
There are newer reviews for Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 252 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2012

Emerald Isle is a unique property in that the family that has lived onsite for generations now makes it available to visitors. The family members we met were incredibly warm and welcoming, and the meals here were the best we may have eaten during our whole stay in Southern India. Emerald Isle is situated on a gorgeous spot between the backwater canals and rice paddies - for anyone with an interest in the heritage of the area, this will be an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

You arrive at this backwater retreat by boat, and it presages the magical experience you will have.. The hosts are eager to ensure that your stay is perfect - they will arrange for trips on motor or paddle boats - which are perfect ways to explore the meandering backwater byways. There are appealing hammocks for relaxing with views of lush gardens and beautiful rice paddies. The food is delicious, varied, and abundant and is beautifully served in a newly installed outdoor dining area. Sam, an articulate, intelligent, and gentle sole can guide, serve, and make sure you have a wonderful time. I would opt for time at Emerald Isle instead of one of the houseboats.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the cottages
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

The hotel is well situated between the canal and the rice field, allowing a lovely experience of the backwater ambience. Before you arrive, be sure to arrange for 1) Sam, a local staff member, to accompany you on your boat trips, as he is knowlegeable and speaks ; and 2) Outdoor dining. The outdoor dining is very lovely and the dining room is windowless.

Room Tip: Avoid Room #1 which has a sleep loft and a bathroom door that only closes when locked. The cottage i...
Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
Thank MsTravelingNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our second stay in Emerald Isle, and loved it just as much this time. It is a beautiful, peaceful place, and we loved our local walks, the boat trips, and just being in such a serene yet interesting environment.
The Granary room was very comfortable, and the food was good.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My night at Emerald Isle was terrific: some of the best food, sights, and conversation of my time in India. The room and outdoor bathroom were very special. I highly recommend listening to the toddy tappers singing in the evening. What a special place!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This delightful locale was a drive and a boat ride from Alappuzha, but well worth the trip. It is on a small island and the hotel is on 1000 acres of rice paddies and is considered a national historic site. We especially enjoyed the many gardens and trees, including the coconut palms that are tapped for toddy. There are only 4 guest rooms, but dinner is included in the room rate, and we were serenaded by several locals who sang traditional folk songs. A lovely evening!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaNelltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EMERALDISLEkerala, Owner at Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for the Great Review.

By your support we got awarded with "Certificate of Excellence" 2012 also.

Thanks & regards,

Vijo Job & Vinod Job
Emerald Isle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
26.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
5.7 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
183 reviews
25.8 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#57 of 68 in Alappuzha
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Aveda Kumarakom
Aveda Kumarakom
#2 of 26 in Kumarakom
741 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 164 in Alappuzha
198 reviews
2.2 mi away
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
Maria Heritage Homes and Spa
#17 of 201 in Alappuzha
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa

Address: Manimalathara | Chathurthiakary, Alappuzha 688511, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Specialty Lodging in Alappuzha
Price Range: $100 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the beautiful waterways and backwaters of the Kuttanad region of Central Kerala lies Emerald Isle, an exotic haven of tranquility, seemingly remote from city life, yet barely 10 kilometers from Alleppey Town. Tucked away on this delightful island lies the Emerald Isle Heritage Villa, an ancestral Country House set in 9 acres of secluded grounds – your Retreat into a Paradise of Peace. Emerald Isle Heritage Home is situated in an island resplendent with exotic flora, breathtaking flowers, myriad birds and butterflies to make for a memorable holiday, affordable and unforgettable. A truly wonderful way to spend your time on the banks of the backwaters of Kerala! Our house, dating back 150 years, retains its original architectural features, mostly in teak, with splendid wood carvings. There is also a fine Ara, the timber storeroom used in former times for the golden harvest of rice – golden because the island’s lush green paddy fields turn gold at the time of the harvest. Our property stretches across 9 acres including lush green paddy fields and fish ponds. All meals are served in dining room. Please ask us if you want to have any special facilities like Ayurvedic treatments or houseboat rides. Emerald Isle is ideal for those wanting to relax, sun themselves or getting away from it all. The tranquil air here is salve to frayed nerves and everyday tensions. Read a book or taste the locally harvested ’toddy’ fresh from the coconut trees ! When you tire of lazing in a hammock, or sunbathing in the courtyard garden, you can take a walk around the island, go fishing or have a swim. Emerald Isle Heritage Villa offers peace, privacy and pure relaxation. There are only 5 rooms (All Air-conditioned) for guests and each has its own en-suite Open-Shower bathroom with all modern facilities. The en-suite bathrooms have been tastefully done and open to the sky above to give you a feel of being truly closer to nature at Emerald Isle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Hotel Alappuzha
Emerald Isle - The Heritage Villa Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing