We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mouldy and overpriced”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Ranked #42 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mouldy and overpriced”
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in December 2010, upon recommendation from Lonely Planet. Firstly can we say this is NOT a resort. As we travel around India, we have found lots of hotels claiming they are resorts and are not, so do not be fooled. I don't know why these hotels bother calling themselves resorts as there is no need to, why not be creative, like Lakeside retreat or historic home stay? What we can say about this place is that the location is amazing. You will need to walk down a dirt path for around 300 metres from where you get dropped off on a auto rickshaw and you will arrive right on the lakeside, the views are stunning. The main house of the 'resort' is very historic and beautiful from the outside. There are also "Bungalows". We looked in a Bungalow and a Room in the main house and both smelt SO bad of mould it was repulsive. We didn't have many other options so decided to stay in the room in the main house. Apart from the intense mould smell, the room was pretty average and plain and the bathroom was tiny. The door to our room was a barn style door that opened onto the dining room, not much privacy at all. Apart from the room, the service was very cold and unfriendly, apart from one of the lovely cleaners and two of the waiters. Most of the staff seemed to do nothing, when they could be dramatically improving this place by firstly dealing with their mould problems. The food at the hotel was pretty good, but you had to order your food 4-5 hours ahead of time, which we found annoying. We did have lovely tea and biscuits whilst enjoying the view on the balcony. This place has great potential if there is some interest taken by the staff to improve this place. Staff taking an interest in their guests and smiling would be a good start and then starting with the small things, like nice aromas in the rooms. fresh flowers, the little things that make a stay memorable. We have been travelling for 3 months and all our memorable stays at guest houses and hotels are due to friendly staff, good service and the small things like a fresh smelling room, fresh flowers, a little something that sets your hotel apart from others. All in all this was an extremely overpriced "resort", even though we have found all accommodation in India is very overpriced.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daveandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    9
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We were very disappointed by this resort after having read the good critics it got in some guides. We had to stay in a very small and dark room in the main house, with a tiny bathroom, and very basic equipment. The resort itself is nice and calm, friendly staff, and situated straight on the Punnamada Lake/River, from where you can start great canoe tours through the backwaters. Nevertheless it was a big disappointment, make sure to ask for a cottage if you book here, they are probably a better value.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLJ27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

paris
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

After the rush of the train and the croud in India, it was a very nice stop.
The long walk from the road was not my favourite, I was happy with my backpack ; )))

But I was really happy when I discovered our cottage room, with the open air bathroom, the nice view on the canal (yes ht nature is a bit noisy, but I am fine with it)
I think I would'nt sleep in the regular rooms they look a bit unconfortable.
The breakfast was fantastic and the ayurvedic most welcomed.
I would recomend the cottage room only, and I regret we didn't take our diner there and decied to went out, the city is really sad in the night (by the way if you want to have a drink before or after diner ask if you can bring your own beer)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsabai75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Very simple hotel and great service, we went for the ayurvedic treatment for three days. A very relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

It was a peaceful stay in a pleasent weather condition. Resort situated at a location full of natural beauty......well maintained. It was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

In the Backwaters area. Stayed there for a couple of days. The bungalows are not exactly charming, rain went through the roof, had a visit from a rat. The open air bathroom is somewhat nice but located under the trees (inhabited by a myriad of crows). Kind of noisy and the frequent passage of houseboats spitting their fumes is not exactly cool. Staff, specially waiters were very nice.
Next door Malayalam hotel offers same location, more comfort with better rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

having been in kerala for 2 weeks, and thoroughly enjoyed all six hotels, some with funny indian quirks, we were not happy at our arrival at this resort. the staff were unfriendly from the start and a very surely girl showed us to our room which was situated at the back of the hotel with a 12inch square window looking onto a rubbish tip. the room itself was dark and damp with three dormitory style beds in a row. we looked in sheer horror, refused to take it and went back to reception. after a lengthy negotiation, we were upgraded to a cottage at the front of which we had to pay the upgrade although we were refunded by our tour company, Banyon Travel at the airport. althought the cottage was a vaste improvement, it was stiffling hot, no swimming pool as we had been promised and very noisy with rooks on the roof, most of the staff were unextremely unfriendly, the dining room was like a school canteen and when we managed to escape one day early than planned (there is a transport strike for one day so we were stuck!) our bill had been wrongly added up obviously not in our favour and there was no apology. i would not recommend this place to anyone although the massage we had was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.2 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
80 reviews
20.6 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
8.7 mi away
Shanthitheeram Lakeside Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.3 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#16 of 68 in Alappuzha
191 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort

Property: Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Address: Thathampally, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#14 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Hotel Alappuzha
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing