We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Ranked #42 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
paris
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice quiet stay”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

After the rush of the train and the croud in India, it was a very nice stop.
The long walk from the road was not my favourite, I was happy with my backpack ; )))

But I was really happy when I discovered our cottage room, with the open air bathroom, the nice view on the canal (yes ht nature is a bit noisy, but I am fine with it)
I think I would'nt sleep in the regular rooms they look a bit unconfortable.
The breakfast was fantastic and the ayurvedic most welcomed.
I would recomend the cottage room only, and I regret we didn't take our diner there and decied to went out, the city is really sad in the night (by the way if you want to have a drink before or after diner ask if you can bring your own beer)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumsabai75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    9
    9
    13
See reviews for
20
39
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

Very simple hotel and great service, we went for the ayurvedic treatment for three days. A very relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaxyRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

It was a peaceful stay in a pleasent weather condition. Resort situated at a location full of natural beauty......well maintained. It was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnandAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

In the Backwaters area. Stayed there for a couple of days. The bungalows are not exactly charming, rain went through the roof, had a visit from a rat. The open air bathroom is somewhat nice but located under the trees (inhabited by a myriad of crows). Kind of noisy and the frequent passage of houseboats spitting their fumes is not exactly cool. Staff, specially waiters were very nice.
Next door Malayalam hotel offers same location, more comfort with better rates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

having been in kerala for 2 weeks, and thoroughly enjoyed all six hotels, some with funny indian quirks, we were not happy at our arrival at this resort. the staff were unfriendly from the start and a very surely girl showed us to our room which was situated at the back of the hotel with a 12inch square window looking onto a rubbish tip. the room itself was dark and damp with three dormitory style beds in a row. we looked in sheer horror, refused to take it and went back to reception. after a lengthy negotiation, we were upgraded to a cottage at the front of which we had to pay the upgrade although we were refunded by our tour company, Banyon Travel at the airport. althought the cottage was a vaste improvement, it was stiffling hot, no swimming pool as we had been promised and very noisy with rooks on the roof, most of the staff were unextremely unfriendly, the dining room was like a school canteen and when we managed to escape one day early than planned (there is a transport strike for one day so we were stuck!) our bill had been wrongly added up obviously not in our favour and there was no apology. i would not recommend this place to anyone although the massage we had was good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Alappuzha hotels

Mumbai
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

We stayed here out of compulsion rather than by choice. We had to get on houseboat next day and this was the nearest one. The other resort (Kayaloram) was full and it was already 7 in evening. Review is as below.

1) Resort location is good and room rates are reasonable. We dont get a A/C cottage so had to stay in a room.

2) Room doors open in the restaurant directly! thats the most wierd thing I have seen. Rooms are basic and had a cupboard. Bathroom were decent. The resort had a typical Keralayite look. Dont expect a 3* service as they are a bit short staffed and it's ok for a night's stay.

3) We dint had food at the resort because they had limited options and we were pure veg. (to top it, Jain too!) We had food at Arya's in Alleppey town. Though there were not many options there also but we had better food.

Over all a not so bad resort for one night if you have houseboat planned next day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinuworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2010

Oh my God you guys! We came to Alleppey for the houseboat tour but having stayed here and gone on the houseboat, i can honestly say that you get more value staying at Keraleeyam. Make sure you ask for the cabin because some rooms connect directly to the restaurant and nothing to write home about. The little cabin we had did not have a/c and honestly I didn't miss it. It was located just meters away from the lilly padded, undulating, lazy waters of the canal. From the comfy chair on our porch or the hammock nearby you can watch the parade of humming houseboats put put by. This is advatageous because you can assess the good from the bad and the just plain ugly houseboats. In addition, the scenery is...well...scerene.
The inside of the cabin was charming and romantic with little mosquito netted, clean white sheeted beds. The bathroom was fully functional and you even had the option of a warm shower (rare, I know). There was a little wardrobe for your packs and a cute desk and chair for documenting your trip or writing to family. One night the skies opend up in a downpour and I was sure that the thatch roof would leak. I humbly stand corrected. Not a speck of rain touched our gear so we went outside and loafed on the porch.
This may be the alternative to the houseboating business that Alleppey is known for. You certainly get better value for 1710Rs a night. To be honest, we did end up with a good houseboat and good staff, but we found that the overnight trip was overpriced. Go to Keraleeyam and book ahead, they can fill up fast. Oh yeah, did I mention that they give full body oil massages for $800Rs? Need I say more?

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indiatrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
21.2 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
9.9 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
0.9 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
0.3 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#16 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort

Property: Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort
Address: Thathampally, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#14 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Hotel Alappuzha
Keraleeyam Ayurvedic Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing