We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice but a little bit expensive”

Antony's Tours and Travels - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: We Antony's Tours & Travels provide a complete tour and travel guide of Kerala. We are a Kerala-based organization Promoting Eco friendly Tourism, specializing in Inbound Tours & Travel services. We are a young, energetic and enthusiastic team of professionals, headed by a group of experienced individuals with a combined field experience of over six years. Village Tour with Canoeing Including Food & village Stay:Program Visiting: Narrow Canals, Out of from Big Boats, Quiet Places, Rice Field, Shell Making, Palm Wine (making from coconut tree) Swimming Facility, Walking in Village Areas, Island places,Rowing, Visiting Non Touristic Places and Villages, Watching birds Etc....Starting Time : 8.30 Am from a village, till 5.00 Pm Includes: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner (veg & non veg ), Botteld Water, Tea/ Coffee, Coconut Beer for Taste, Fruits.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the home stay that anthony's running, and he offered us the eco cannu trip for 1250 rupees per person. we got everything that he told us that would be in the trip - we saw the villages, got a nice lunch at the captain's house, and had a great time. raji - the captain, all the time wanted that we will be happy. we got mineral water and fruits and drank the backwater booz- tudi. although the great trip, I think that it is a little bit over priced. I believe it should be around 800 rupees maximum.

Thank Jeffetyefet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binson, Manager at Antony's Tours and Travels - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing us and it was nice to meet you and also we are happy that you enjoyed our canoe tour. Our Village tour is totally different than others, the boat, places we visit, duration on the boat which will be more than 06 hours, distance we cover, fruits, water, pick and drop, toddy etc..... you wont get this from others! maybe they will offer cheap price but you get also that kind of quality, and our tour is not same,we are professionals and we are doing it well organised... so how can you say its expensive............? maybe you should try the both then i am sure you will not believe anymore that our tour is expansive, there are lots of touts around the streets and they will try to sell cheap quality boat tours but you never find them again...people like you who wants a nice experience not rather than taking chances they will come to us for sure! Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"boat trip"
in 6 reviews
"his wife"
in 7 reviews
"eco houseboat"
in 2 reviews
"stopped for breakfast"
in 2 reviews
"helpful guy"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"lunch and dinner"
in 2 reviews
in 4 reviews
in 5 reviews
in 3 reviews
in 9 reviews
in 4 reviews
in 5 reviews
in 28 reviews
in 8 reviews
in 8 reviews
in 8 reviews

34 - 38 of 51 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

We spent 4 days in Aleppey at Antony's guest house which is in the heart of the town. (It is close to the KSRTC bus stop, market, the canal and even the beach). The place has about 6 rooms which are in a quiet locality. They are basic and clean. Renting a scooter for a day is a good idea and you can explore the town and its outskirts without many problems. But the bicycles (which are free for the people staying at the guest house) are the best way to explore Aleppey.

After settling in, we decided to go on the eco tour of Aleppey organized by Antony's Tours and Travels. Everything was on time. We got a bag full of tasty fruits and bottles of water for the day. After the initial half an hour of crossing the wide open part of the lake infested with huge houseboats which kept grunting like trucks, we made our way into the quaint channels where the big boats can't come. After breakfast we went deeper into the heart of Kainakari and could see the people going about their daily routine in this unique place. (The water level in some areas is above the paddy fields / unique to very few places in the world)

Because the boat is not mechanical, the ride is at a nice and easy pace and lets you soak in the local atmosphere. Rajeevan, the captain, who is a very simple and jovial person could convey lots of interesting bits of information and facts in pidgin English. There is a paddle right up in the front of the canoe and you can sit and paddle in tandem with him which can be a lot of fun.

He took us to a toddy tapper's house and we tasted the most amazing toddy ever. Later on in the day along a narrow channel, we alighted the canoe and started walking alongside the boat. Its a different world altogether and walking on the path lets you be part of it rather than just be a spectator from the canoe.

Lunch prepared by Rajeev's wife was mouth watering. Served on the traditional banana leaf, the simple meal of freshly made fish curry with rice and poppadums was just the right thing to eat after a fruitful day.

Things to carry : Sunscreen, mosquito repellent (just in case, we didn't encounter any mosquitos), a cap or bandana to cover your head and sunglasses.

Overall a unique experience. A motorboat may be faster and cheaper but nothing compares to this ecotour. Highly recommended.

Thank varundot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

We decided to do a canoeing trip on the backwaters instead of an overnight houseboat, mostly because of the costs and because we liked to see some of the smaller canals of the backwaters.

The canoeing trip we did with Antony's tour was poor and we found ourselves bored most of the time. Firstly, the backwaters weren't a nature-experience as we expected but much more just busy man-made canals with a lot of buildings/development on the sides. After canoeing 30 minutes we were already getting bored, because it was going just soooo slow and there was not much to see. After an hour or so, our boatman stopped for breakfast at a place along the canals, and put before us a local Keralan breakfast meal. We don't really like that kind of food as breakfast, but we would've eaten it if it wasn't badly prepared and almost cold.

After breakfast we went into a smaller canal for some time, which was nice, but after a short break we went back the same way! Boring again, because there was not that much to see and it was going too slow for our taste. Our boatman couldn't really speak English and so said almost nothing, and seemed to be moaning all the time because the rowing was so hard. We were getting bored and were annoyed when we stopped at the boatman's house for lunch. A homecooked meal served on a banana leaf which was washed in the dirty, digusting canal! We ate some but had lost our appetite. After that we sat around for a while, but wanted to continue our trip after 45 minutes or so. The guy then told us that he needed to rest for another hour because it was so hot in the afternoon and that rowing was hard work, We weren't told this was part of the trip so we insisted he continued, and after another half hour we finally went on with the trip, which was mostly through canals we had already seen (boring!), to the end point.

Back at Antony's guesthouse (we stayed there for one night after the trip) we explained to Antony himself that we didn't enjoy the trip. Part of it was because our expectations were different, and part of it because of the bad execution of the tour and the non-English speaking 'guide'/boatman. Antony listened and seemed to understand and offered us to stay the night for free, which was a really nice gesture.

Thank SquirrelAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We booked a houseboat with Antony's tours and travels after reading the positive reviews online. we paid 50% of the booking amount as advance and when we reached Alleppey we were asked to pay the balance amount before boarding the house boat. We booked a 1 bed room boat, but we were taken to a 2 bed room boat which looked very much like a storage warehouse/dumpyard where one of the bedrooms was locked with all waste items. The other bed room was opened for us.
We were welcomed with:
-a yellow (supposed to be white) towel torn everywhere
-a very old torn bedspread
- a pillow in miserable condition.
- Old AC with no remote and default temperature setting of 25 deg.

We called up antony to explain the condition and his response was "...Dont be kidding...i cannot hear your bla bla bla...do you expect me to provide u with a new boat..". This guy was very polite during all previous conversations and we were surprised to hear such a response. When we asked him to refund the amount, he said he can refund only 70%. We had no choice but to spend the day in that dirty place.. It ruined our whole holiday.

In toto, this guy is a fraud. He does not own a boat, instead he acts as a broker/agent. Dont go for it.

4  Thank SushmaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
binson, Manager at Antony's Tours and Travels - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

We are sorry for the in convince happened by us, we understand your problems and we always try to solve the problem but you make lots of unnecessary complaints which beyond our control, even we are ready to change the boat for you, once you called us from the boat regarding the complaints just after you start the journey, we told you right away to stop the boat and we will come there to solve the problem,but you told its alright you want to continue, about the sheets we replace it right away. how can you expect premium category facilities in a normal houseboat which you are not paying enough. houseboat payment option is prepaid that you know before you booked. and we respond all the time to your needs. houseboat is a moving property so we have some limitations.We are operators we never say we owned houseboats and you got what you booked form us, we never run away with your money, so how can you say we are cheaters. people like you who only looking to make complaints rather than enjoying your time. we are sorry, meantime we will take care of our future clients to provide better service, they can understand by previous reviews.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked our canoeing day tour with Antony and it was a wonderful experience. The canoe is very basic - no frills but its best to explore the backwaters as it takes you through the narrow channels where the houseboats cant reach. Our captain Rajeevan was very good, friendly and we relished the food cooked by Rajeevan's wife. We also booked our cab through Antony's travels and I would like to mention that I havent met a more helpful guy than Subhash in my life. He showed us all the possible places within the limited time we had and he is a very honest and punctual guy. We also visited Antony's cafe and tried cappucino which was very good. All in all, Antony and his team are doing a great job and thank you guys for the wonderful memories.

Thank vsm993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antony's Tours and Travels - Day Tours also viewed

Alappuzha, Alappuzha District
Alappuzha, Alappuzha District

Been to Antony's Tours and Travels - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing