We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect look-out in the backwaters”
Review of Thevercad Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Thevercad Homestay
Ranked #11 of 211 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 15, 2012

George is the perfect host. He is very well connected and respected in his region. He takes the time to get to know you and proposes activities or invites relatives to make your stay perfect. All this while he stays at the background, never imposing or pressing.
George's children speak English very well, are open to share their knowledge, show how to catch shrimp, tell about school life ... .
The house is located at a big channel, at the opposite bank of the end of a road. It is a real busy spot where you can observe the Backwater way of life while it passes in front of you.
Behind the house you can do walks through the rice fields and observe the ingenious water management, visit a church, meet neighbours, ... .
The house is beautiful, authentic, clean, quite impressive woodwork.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaSinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 112 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed with George and his family for two nights in April 2012 and had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and all the family were very attentive of our requirements. Our rooms were well furnished with fabulous outdoor bathrooms.George organised two river trips for us and Alex, his son, accompanied on these giving us useful information along the way.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We stayed few nights in Thevercad Home Stay and it was everything we could wish.

The house is over hundred years old, perfectly preserved, and nicest in the area. House and rooms are very authentic, facilities are made to modern traveler with authentic twist - shower under the sky is very well thought of.

Family is very friendly and meals were just incredible.

Homestay offers motorboat or canoeing, but the drivers were not speaking English. So we have asked one of sons to guide us for canoeing trip. He is speaking English very well and his guiding was just perfect - describing day-to-day life of people, sharing his plans and giving a glimpse to how local people think and live. We explored small canals which are much more interesting than big busy ones.

The location of the house is very good as well. You may just stare at the boats in the busy river or lay at the shadow of mango tree. Family is overwhelming with their care and attention.

If we would travel to the region again, definitely it would be a place to stay. Besides, homestay has only two rooms, so book well in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RimantasZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

I am an experienced traveler but this is the first time I've bothered to write a review. Thevercad was a lovely homestay and family are absolutely lovely. My friend and I enjoyed sipping fresh juices and fermented coconut water and watching the all the school children and boats go by the front of the house. I only hope that all future guests treat the hosts with the respect that they deserve. I still think of the wonderful home cooked meals, the tours around the family farm, watching George catch a fish from the pond out back and so much more. I can't wait to go back.
Jennifer S W

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We fully recommend staying at Thevercad House, and can't speak highly enough of our experience.
The location is lovely, with boat crossing to the atmospheric, beautiful teak house and room, with the best shower room ever, open to the skies which allows for secret sunbathing, not so easy in modesty-minded India!
The hosts, George and Bindu, couldn't be kinder, more helpful, interesting, quietly available when needed. Bindu is one of the best cooks in Kerala, an artist in the kitchen, and George has many trophies under his belt from the snake-boat races, which he now captains. We felt great warmth in their company, and in their care.
We were so glad to stay here, where we could walk the backwaters without seing one tourist. Alleppi is not a place to visit unless you have to, and the tourist houseboats, over 600 of them, all go the same route, are remote from the villagers, and can be cockroachy and poor on food, not to mention pollutant...
This way, we could enjoy watching them pass by and, thanks to George, were able to take out a wooden boat and paddle through the unfrequented backwaters, an authentic atmosphere and experience that we relished.
The Thomas family are kind, decent, trustworthy, honourable people, and we loved our stay with them in their beautiful house.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights over christmas 2011. George, Bindu and their family could not have been more friendly and hospitable. Bindu's home-cooked food was simply delicious.
The room was comfortable and very nicely decorated and we spent hours out on the verandah enjoying the views and tranquility. There are some great walks around the local villages nearby and George was very helpful in organising a boat trip.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregorycrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this welcoming and tranquil homestay. The family of George and Bindu and their lovely kids took care of us in the most hospitable way imaginable! If you are looking for a peaceful way to experience the real keralan country life - this is the place to come!
The absolutely delicious, authentic and abundant homecooked meals were a true keralan experience.
The rooms are beautifully decorated with authentic charm of this traditional family home. The outdoor bathroom is outstanding and we could not get enough of the view from the patio (right in front of our room) overlooking the canal.
George, as a highly respected snakeboat-captain, organized canoe-trips in the vicinity of the homestay and a motorboat trip to one of the snakeboats. Self-guided walks in the area around the house through the paddy fields are also one of the highlights here.
Staying at this gem of a homestay was the highlight of our Kerala trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philipp J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
24.3 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.5 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 70 in Alappuzha
840 reviews
2 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 181 in Alappuzha
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Bella Homestay
Bella Homestay
#4 of 211 in Alappuzha
343 reviews
5.4 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#34 of 211 in Alappuzha
58 reviews
3.8 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thevercad Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thevercad Homestay

Address: Kainakary, Alappuzha 688 501, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $86 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Thevercad Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thevercad Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing