We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well located budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Sisir Palace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sisir Palace
Ranked #108 of 192 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Pune
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Well located budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in November'13. Even in November, days are bit humid in Alleppy, therefore we decided to stay in AC room. Boating point is nearby as the backwater canal is just opposite to the hotel. From the balcony of room, we could see boats moving around. Market is 200 meters away from the hotel, hence the hotel is very well located. You can go walking to the market. Hotel has a restaurant at the ground floor. We took 3 meals there and all meals were of reasonable price and good taste. Restaurant staff served us with lot of care. Hotel management staff is very co-operative and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing backwater are better for viewing some action from the room itself
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
10
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

My Husband and I were there for two days ie, 19th and 20th Sept 2013. Rooms are clean, and comfortable. Toilets are senior friendly and clean and well designed. I really did not expect such a comfort in a Budget Hotel. We were in a standard room, which was as good as deluxe, and each room has a lovely balcony. My rooms balcony gave me the feel of a house boat. Entire exterior of the Hotel is designed like a house boat, which is the beauty of Alappuzha, Kerala.Best part about the location is that one can see houseboats right from the entrance of the Hotel. Very friendly and obliging staff. We appreciate Alaxzander, the manager, who went out of his way in receiving us and guiding us.He made us feel so homely, that we felt sad to say bye to him.

Room Tip: A/C rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Padma_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nellore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

As I serach for a decent hotel for us near Alleppy busatnd. I thankfully found Sisir Palace just on the other side of the canal, 5 min walk from the Busstand. As we went in, the hotel looked beautiful with woodencarvings on the front side. we really liked the room. It is spacious, rich looking, modern and comfortable, including the bath room. Rs 1000+tax is a very reasonable tariff. Attached restaurent is an added extra. Food and serving is good. The management should be given credit for good maintenance, moderate pricing and smiling staff. Though I loved to stay for one more day, but could not, due to other commitments. I strongly recommend Sisir palace as hotel to stay for any families vising alleppy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tripnellore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Really happy we found Sisir Palace and our room was perfect. It overlooked the street beside a canal. The room was clean and beautifully decorated with an adjoining balcony. The food we ordered was from the restaurant below and it was excellent. Apart from the great comfort, the service was impeccable, the staff were extremely pleasant and efficient and the managers were some of the nicest people I have met in India. Will always remember Sisir Palace where I spent a memorable birthday although it was a dry day in Kerala :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NatashaElkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida, null, Malta
Level Contributor
76 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Kerala was the last leg of my journey so i looked to book a nice quiet place overlooking the water. The photos of the website are horribly misleading and the hotel is located in a noisy place with cars and bikes honking for most hours of the day.

The good things about the hotel, room was clean, had interet and tv with English channels. The staff was amazing. It is located across from public transport which allowed us to use the boats to visit the backwaters time and again.

The downside... We booked all inclusive so when we went to order food we asked for a limit, they said we had none but when we reached our limit they charged us extra...not much but that defeats the all inclusive bit. I asked for an iron and they sent a guy who returned my clothes neatly folded....great service I thought....after two days they mention their favourite two words...extra charge... The charge is ridiculously cheap but they were not upfront with it. Towels were smelly and stained...take you own along.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed here for few days after a really bad trip in the backwaters (beware of Granma tours, they rip you off), and the place was Balsam for the wounds. Immaculate rooms, roomservice worked like a charm and the place was alltogether very clean and well kept. Sadly for the last night there was an indian studentgroup who made lots of noise, but the nights before that were a nice change for the -sometimes noisy India. The food in the restaurant downstairs was amazing (simply put).

Room Tip: ask rooms furthest from the mainroad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noseleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

We have visited Kerala many times and always have a stay in Alleppey. We went back again January 2012 and decided to give Sisir Palace a try as it was new to us. We found it to be an excellent choice, you cannot fault the accommodation in any way. The rooms are beautiful, clean and spacious. Bathroom was excellent and room service too. We stayed in one of the rooms at the front with a balcony and we were able to sit and watch the life of the city go by.
We had breakfast in the restaurant below everyday again you could not fault the service, quality of the food and the price.
We took an indian family for dinner one night and there were 7 of us and it only cost just over £10 included fruit salads, ice cream and fresh lime sodas!!
We enjoyed it so much we will be back there in April and have already booked the room.
If you are looking for a good place to stay in a busy city this is the one.
Combine it with a trip on the backwaters with Aqua Holidays whose office is a few yards from the hotel or ask in the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indiaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.4 mi away
Cosy Regency
Cosy Regency
#62 of 192 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
1.6 mi away
Seaside Residency
Seaside Residency
#72 of 192 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lake Gardens Resorts
Lake Gardens Resorts
#63 of 192 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Vrindavanam Heritage Home
Vrindavanam Heritage Home
#54 of 192 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
Vedanta Wake Up - Backwaters
#81 of 150 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#48 of 192 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sisir Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sisir Palace

Property: Hotel Sisir Palace
Address: Opp: Boat Jetty, Nr.Mini Civil Station | Finishing Point Road, Alappuzha 688013, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sisir Palace is centrally located business hotel with 16 furnished rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Sisir Palace Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing