We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great homestay in the backwaters of Kerala with a wonderful family”

Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods
Ranked #105 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great homestay in the backwaters of Kerala with a wonderful family”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My friend and I spent the last night of a 9 day trip to Kerala earlier this month (Jan 2013). The warm family went out of their way to make us feel as comfortable as possible, and ensured that we had a complete immersion in their surroundings as well as some of the best meals we had in our entire trip.

We were the only two guests staying there that night, and we learned that our hosts, Johnny and Seena, keep it that way. They only take guests periodically, and rarely have more than two rooms occupied when they do. This means that the place is very quiet and relaxing, and also allows the guests to get to know the family really well.

They went out of their way to show us how to fish, show us all the different fruits and flowers growing on their property, and even how Toddy (the local drink) is extracted from coconut trees.

The location is certainly off the beaten path, but very nicely located in the heart of the backwaters. Because of this it is very quiet and beautiful, though wonderfully maintained with en-suite bathrooms, hot water, air conditioning, a common room and lots of activities to keep you busy. And as others have said, Seena's home cooked meals were really among the best of our trip, if not the best.

While internet access is not available through WiFi, they do have a PC that can be used.

I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to disconnect and enjoy the nature of the backwaters with a very warm and welcoming family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kunal B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful three days staying with Johnny and Seena's lovely family at Edayadil Tharavadu. They were charming, hospitable and welcoming and we were very well looked after - nothing was too much trouble. Our en-suite room was clean and comfortable, the excellent meals were delicious and expertly prepared by Seena who shared her passion and knowledge with us about the keralan cooking methods. We learnt a great deal abut the world seen from the Indian point of view. The house is set in a beautiful rural area - surrounded by a network of small canals, lakes and rivers. The local community were friendly and welcoming. All in all a great experience.

Andrew and Rachel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 218rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We had a wonderful day at Edayadil Tharavadu, though one day was too short to explore the beautiful site and its surroundings. From arriving by kayak right at the gate of the house till the departure, we enjoyed wonderful Kerala hospitality and the delicious food. The children liked playing and fishing, bird-watching and walking in the neighbourhood was for the adults.

Felix Bachmann, Annet Witteveen, Tom & Sam; Bangladesh & Europe

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annetfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

This is probably one of the best places that we stayed on our trip to Kerala.

Many homestays that we stayed in were perfectly ok but they couldn't match the location and the welcome we received from Johny, Seena and their family. They just couldn't do enough to help us and made us feel completely at home. We had some fantastic family meals together where the whole family chatted with us and we learnt so much about the area and India in general - and Seena's cooking was some of the best we had had too!!

The location was stunning. The house is set right in the heart of the backwaters (and so much better than the terrible overnight house boat we went on the day before - don't bother with this expensive and poor experience!). We walked through vast rice paddy fields and Johny took us personally on a canoe trip through the forest and back waters where we saw kingfishers and beautiful scenery. We saw a lot of the village life around where he lived and Johny has a a huge selection of spice plants in his gardens along with cockerels and a lovely dove cote!

All in all if you want some where magical and special to stay this is it!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0.0 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods

Property: Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods
Address: | Kannady P.O., Alappuzha 688504, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
KERALA HOMESTAY BACKWATER HOUSEBOATS & HOLIDAY PACKAGES. Enjoy the enchanting beauty of KERALA, stay with a family in a village, be a free bird in the beautiful HILLS & BEACHES of Kerala. Taste the mouth-watering dishes, watch & study the different cultural art forms of Kerala, mingle with village people etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edayadil Tharavadu - Lakes 'n Woods Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing