We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and comfortable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breeze Backwater Homes
Ranked #30 of 204 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The last place we stayed at before returning to the UK, and just what we needed. Peace and quiet with the rooms and bungalow overlooking a backwater where there were no motorised tourist rice boats, just a few fishermen paddling past!
Nothing was too much trouble and Sreevith, the owner, was always on hand to arrange excursions, ie to the beach by tuktuk was Rup 280. He also has a small covered boat which is let out daily with a man to punt you around the backwaters and also a rice boat which you stay on and is punted by two men, and a very competent chef. There are two bycycles that you can borrow to explore yourself if you wish. All in all a lovely place and only a short drive from Cochin and Alleppey.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good, but the bungalow is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janechater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 120 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Ended up here more by luck than judgment as we had no idea how close it was to Cochin (it only took 1.5 hrs to the airport). It is closer to Cherthala rather than Alleppey, in a much quieter area with almost no other tourists. It is very peaceful as there are very few motorised boats - and no tourist rice barges at all. The resort (rather a misnomer as they only have 4 rooms!) has its own punted houseboat, as well as a punted day boat and a canoe that guests can use themselves. It is extremely friendly and casual, and in a great location. They are a 15 minute tuktuk ride to a beautiful beach - totally unspoilt - great to view the sunset, have bicycles you can borrow to cycle around the area which is full of fishing villages (loads of Chinese fishing nets), and great hammocks/swinging chairs if you just want to sit and admire the view. The rooms were very clean, showers good with solar hot water, and food (prepared by Asha when we were there) absolutely delicious - home-cooked Keralan fare. Sreevith, the owner, is working extremely hard and deserves to do well - he is a very kind and caring host.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank aj300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Following four days in Fort Kochi, we hopped in a taxi and made the one hour trip down to Breeze Backwater Homes for a trip on their house boat. We had booked this from the UK based on recommendation and decided on one night on the house boat and one night in their 'honeymoon cottage'.

The location is in a relatively remote area of the back waters, away from the chaos of Alleppey. It offers a quieter and more relaxed experience of the back waters using a house boat that is powered by men using poles (no noisy engines). The houseboat is clean and comfortable with its own bedroom and bathroom. You also have your own cook(s) for the day and the food was very good. The trip through the canals is filled with amazing views and wildlife and is an entirely different experience from a motorised boat trip in Alleppey (which we also tried later).

We also enjoyed our second night staying in the honeymoon cottage which is very cute and designed almost like a little temple. Inside it is spacious, well furnished and comfortable with an excellent bathroom.

Overall we're really happy we booked these two days at Breeze Backwater Homes. The staff were very helpful and even agreed to drive us up to Munnar (the next stop on our trip). The overall experience is very relaxed and comfortable and I will never forget the sunset over the water. Wonderful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pbd2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

A group of 6 of us stayed here for couple of days earlier this year and it was great! Really chilled and relaxed vibe and nice rooms with nice basic toilet facilities. We also did a cycling day tour which was a great way to see the town and ended the day with a sunset canoe ride back to the home. The staff are always there to help, from food prep'ing to room arrangements. I remember we wanted coconuts at one stage and they went and bought some and opened them for us! All in all great value for simple resort style stayed if shared between mates.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyL44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

a great place to unwind and chill... located right on the backwaters it serves a spectacular view... a very homely cozy feel to the whole place with a nice garden and hammocks, just the kind you would want to chill at with a book and a beer! The staff is friendly, they prepared some delicious traditional fare for us... away from the hustle bustle of the main town, quaint and pretty, a great getaway, about an hours drive from the main town of alleppy.
they also have their own private house boat and boat, just in case you want to stay in the house boat.
We took a ride on their private boat through the serene waters for about 2-3 hours, which sure was the highlight of the trip.
Rooms are reasonably equipped with basic facilities like geyser tv and ac...
i am looking to go back soon !

Room Tip: choose the one cottage they have... its a marvel with a tiny little private garden space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank footloosefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the breeze backwater cottages one night and on the houseboat another night. The rooms and houseboat are VERY clean and the staff are very kind and helpful. Any time we wanted something, the staff went out of their way to get it for us. One of the houseboat staff even climbed up a palm tree for us to get coconuts. The only downside is that the houseboat was a little on the small side as my partner is very tall. However, as the price of this boat is much less than other places we looked at, it was a small consideration. Overall, this boat is excellent value for the money.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank kiki1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a really wonderful time on the houseboat at Breeze Backwaters Homes. The surroundings were spectacular and the boat was in excellent condition and kept very clean. The staff on the boat made our trip, however, as they were very friendly and attentive but not overly so and the onboard cook prepared some delicious traditional Kerelan dishes. Great value for money and we will definitely be coming back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrilots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
1.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
23.2 mi away
Thevercad Homestay
Thevercad Homestay
#11 of 204 in Alappuzha
109 reviews
24.7 mi away
Our Land Island Backwater Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Malayalam Lake Resort Homestay
26.7 mi away
Kait's Home
Kait's Home
#36 of 204 in Alappuzha
140 reviews
27.9 mi away
Ayana's Homestay
Ayana's Homestay
#7 of 204 in Alappuzha
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breeze Backwater Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breeze Backwater Homes

Address: Breeze Homes, Thazhuppu, Parayakadu PO, Cherthala Alappuzha (dist), Kerala, India - 688 540 | Breeze Homes, Thazhuppu, Parayakadu PO, Cherthala Alappuzha (dist), Kerala, India - 688 540, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 204 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $29 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Breeze Homes… A Backwater Retreat. At Breeze Homes we welcome you to experience Traditional Kerala Architecture with pure fragrance of tradition. Situated amidst scenic Backwater Landscapes, guests can relax and be on in one with nature. Experience traditional wooden ceilings, wonders of yoga and Ayurvedic massage and scent of the real Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Breeze Backwater Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breeze Backwater Homes Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing