We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly and top quality place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Breeze Backwater Homes
Ranked #18 of 212 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

There are so many adjectives to evaluate this place that i do not know where to start from. We have stayed for 3 nights and simply loved it. It stands in a very quiet and relaxing place, just on the side of backwaters ´area, where there are no engine boats. You can easily wake up in the morning and feel the calm atmosphere with plenty of green and wild landscape. There are no tourists around, only sympathetic people from the village with whom we spent some time chatting and playing football. We were also invited to join some of their homes - truly humble people!
Both breakfast and dinner are lovely and we also had a typical keralan lunch with banana leave.
Enjoy the spot to walk around the area, meet the locals, take a train at Thuravoor station (5 minutes by tuk-tuk) to ernakulam and visit the city and Fort Kochin.
Rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean and Sreejith will always make sure his guests are happy with everything.
Also, if you look for a trip around backwaters, then this is the place - 2 to 3 hours around beautiful and peaceful areas without anyone around.
Will stay on the top of my recommendations!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JdaC0sta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 125 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Me and my wife like travelling a lot. On recommendations of a friend, we decided to visit this place which was just 40 kms drive from Kochi - my current location of stay.... We decided to try out the same for a overnight experience and were quite surprised to see the cleanliness and service standards to be at par with 5 star hotels with limited amenities.
Built in the nature's hub facing the backwaters in Kerala, breeze homes is a small property with only 4 cottages (One reasons for the service being extremely good). We were happy with the simple but really sumptuous food preparation - Authentic Kerala Food which we had to dinner and breakfast. Do ask for idiappam with veg stew for breakfast. The sunrise is a mersmerising experience which will stay for long in our hearts. Our son enjoyed the freedom of the garden and spacious luxury cottage we had booked.
We also took a houseboat trip for a day on the next day. It was non motorized boat with 2 boatmen who used a Bamboo to pull the boat- a hell of a job and hats off to these guys.The only drawback is because of the amount of hard work involved, the trip is short compared to the other trips in Alleppey. They took us to a nearby beach which is a fisherman village which was good but was stinky of the fish which was dried on the beach. The Boat was anchored in the middle of the backwaters for Lunch for almost 2 hours but was peaceful and refreshing.

We were so pleased that we have decided to return and celebrate our sons birthday in this place.

Overall an excellent experience in the residential cottage and average in the houseboat....

Room Tip: Get the premium cottage which is more spacious than the regular rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgpatil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed two nights Jan 2013 as I had visited the previous Jan 2012 for a day visit and promised myself to return to stay which I did. Breeze also now has its own houseboat, its brand new and absolutely gorgeous!! So keep that in mind as an option. The location is beautiful, it feels like your own private island complete with hammocks and boat. Food was absolutely delicious authentic Kerala cuisine. Staff helpful and caring. Rooms are clean, bathroom spotless. We stayed in the cottage. There was no faulting our experience and we had a thoroughly relaxing time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heidi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Breeze Backwater Homes is the best place we have stayed in during our month in Kerala. It is a beautiful little place right by a river in a small village, at the end of a peninsula in the middle of the so called “Backwaters” of Kerala. There are no other hotels or guesthouses in sight. On the small property there are two newly built houses (with four rooms all together), built in a traditional Kerala-style, a separate veranda where the food is served, and a palm tree garden with two hammocks. We stayed in the honeymoon cottage, two meters from the river with windows (with curtains of course) on three sides of the cottage.

The manager/co-owner Sreejith and his staff are the friendliest people we have met in Kerala. Their service is also excellent and their food is extraordinary. During our five-day stay, we were served a more delicious, more varied and, as we perceived it, a more genuine Kerala-cuisine than we had encountered anywhere else. There is no menu. Sreejith simply asks what you want for your next meal, and then prepares it. Our advice is to let them prepare whatever they suggest. (In reference to one of the other comments on Tripadvisor: they did have beer when we were there).

If you want to relax in a hammock and let minutes turn to hours watching the river float by, this is the perfect place. It was so relaxing that out planned two days, turned in to five days. They have complimentary wifi on the property (even in the hammock). If you get restless you can go for a really nice walk through the nearby villages, go on a three hour boat ride, borrow Breeze’s vintage wooden canoe and paddle by yourself for a while or take an autorickshaw 15 minutes to the beach.

We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jens L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

One of our highlights of India was staying at breeze homes! Cannot speak highly enough of this place-rooms are clean and comfortable and the service is exceptional-continually went out of their way to help us! Took us on a 3hr canoe tour of the backwaters which was lovely. The food is AMAZING! Each meal was delicious and gave us a great feel for southern Indian food. Set right on the water, this is a Very relaxing place to spend a few days, highly recommend!

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cathie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I was there on Jan 6th and while I did not stay overnight I had their backwaters cruise and a relaxed lunch afterwards. Simple, nothing fancy but a neat, clean place. They service is excellent. I would recommend it for someone who is not finicky about having 5* comforts and would like to experience the essence of living in a serene, timeless place

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alpa2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

My partner and I used this homestay during our 2 week travel through Kerala. We booked this homestay based on the other reviews on Tripadvisor, and they were not wrong. We booked 2 nights to begin with, but we had such a lovely time that we extended our stay. The location is breathtaking, directly on the backwaters.The hospitality of the staff and owners was absolutely amazing. We arrived quite late, but we were greeted with a smile and we were told to get settled as dinner was all ready and waiting for us. The food was prepared fresh everyday: prawns, grilled fish, traditional Keralan lunch- to name a few dishes, and they all tasted superb! This homestay is situated 30km away from Kochi and it can be easily accessed by train (2km from the station). If you are looking for a place off the beaten track, to relax and unwind, then this is it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSCV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 212 in Alappuzha
171 reviews
19.4 mi away
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
20.1 mi away
The Wind n' Waves Alleppey Beach Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Bella Homestay
Bella Homestay
#4 of 212 in Alappuzha
343 reviews
0 mi away
Dazzle Dew
Dazzle Dew
#55 of 212 in Alappuzha
60 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breeze Backwater Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breeze Backwater Homes

Address: Breeze Homes, Thazhuppu, Parayakadu PO, Cherthala Alappuzha (dist), Kerala, India - 688 540 | Breeze Homes, Thazhuppu, Parayakadu PO, Cherthala Alappuzha (dist), Kerala, India - 688 540, Alappuzha, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $26 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Breeze Homes… A Backwater Retreat. At Breeze Homes we welcome you to experience Traditional Kerala Architecture with pure fragrance of tradition. Situated amidst scenic Backwater Landscapes, guests can relax and be on in one with nature. Experience traditional wooden ceilings, wonders of yoga and Ayurvedic massage and scent of the real Kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Breeze Backwater Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breeze Backwater Homes Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing