We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed November 3, 2013

this resort is in the centre of backwaters to be approached only by boat which the resort provides. Staff is extermely professional. Rooms are big and spacious. The view is breathtaking .right on the backwaters... One can see the sunrise sipping tea on the balcony or while sitting on the shore of backwaters watching houseboats go by. Nice pool ,spa is excellent. Food is very nice.
Howeever be prepared to be charged for everything as you are at the mercy of the hotel for each and everything(food that is). But excellent stay. would love to come here again.

Room Tip: backwater facing side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pk_0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 717 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2013

Me and my friends from bali stayed at Citrus for one night and nothing could have been better. The property was maintained very well and the staff were extremely courteous. The boat ride on the way was magical and we had a great time playing music on top of the boat. The food was excellent. All of us over ate. The buffet had a very good variety and always kept us wanting to come back. The resort also gave each of us a 10 minute complementary massage which we thoroughly enjoyed. The rooms were beautifully designed and the beds were as comfy as they can get. All in all, it is a retreat I would recommend to anyone visiting Kerala. Go for it, I guarantee a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Achyuth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights only; the hotel was very quiet during our stay.
Lots of positives and some minor hitches.
Very accommodating and obliging staff. Well appointed rooms with large bathrooms. Very easy to walk along the canals; our morning walk allowed us to see local village life on the backwaters and some interesting birds.
The Spa - most welcoming staff who made us all feel very special. Excellent quality massages.
Very good a la carte menu, meals cooked from scratch which meant longer wait (we didn't mind it at all given the food quality).
The hotel organises a free 1 hour backwater cruise daily.
Not so good: most reception staff could improve their English (unlike the Spa staff who spoke very good English).
We booked 2 rooms, one with twin beds and the other one - a double. It turned out on our arrival that 2 doubles were provided and a makeshift bed had to be added to the room. Not ideal.

Overall, a rather pleasant stay which I would recommend

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hester37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create few happy memories for you!

Please be assured that the suggestion you’re raised have been address, and the appropriate action has been taken. The principal goal of our Resort is to provide dependable service to our entire guest.

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights at Citrus and were extremely impressed.

On arrival at the airport the citrus rep was waiting for us and after a 2 and half drive we reached the Jetty. We were a bit concerned, when we were dropped off at the Jetty with no further information. Not sure of what happens next, we waited in the waiting area, hoping that it was not a mistake to book Citrus.

After about 10 minutes, 1 house arrived and we were welcomed by the General Manager, Santosh Nair himself. We arrived around 4pm at the hotel and had not had lunch. Anticipating this, Santosh called the hotel and asked them to prepare some snacks for us on arrival. After a 10 minute ride on the house boat, we finally reached citrus. Being tried we requested to be brought directly to the room so we could freshen up. Once we reached the room, we were called to check if everything was okay in the room and should we wish to relax, they would send the snacks up to our room.

We had booked a pool villa and decided to stay indoors and snack around the pool area. The weather was very pleasant and we were glad we opted to stay by the our private pool.

After snacking, we plonked on the hammock just outside our patio facing the back waters and almost dozed off due to the lovely breeze. The Spa Manager then called us to discuss the spa schedule for the duration of our stay. Our package included 5 spa treatments per person.

As were a bit jet lagged, we opted for a couples massage on the same evening. The result was stunning, I slept like a baby for the first time in YEARS!!!!!! For the next 5 days, we were treated to a signature massage, Himalaya wrap, Ayurveda scrub, Oxygen facial and so on. The team at the Spa was extremely professional. The pressure of the therapists was just perfect and I felt I was Cleopatra :) Pamper is an understatement. The Spa Manager would have nice short conversations with us to understand us. The minute he found out we were movie buffs, he got the IT team to download a bunch of movies for us to enjoy during our 6 day ordeal :)

On our day of departure, the spa manager arranged for a wash & blow dry and did not even charge us.

The staff pampered us to the core, including the F&B team, Chefs, Spa Team, FO team, Housekeeping Team.

We opted for the full board option at the time of booking. Bad idea! The kitchen fed us until we were about to burst. On some days we skipped lunch as we were full.

The Chef is always keen to prepare dished as per choice & taste even if not available on the menu.

Since we wanted some peace & quiet, we requested that all meals be served in our room. This request is usually not considered in most Hotels. (I know since I am a hotelier). At Citrus no questions asked and everyday during meal time, a menu was presented for us to choose from. No limited on number of items ordered! Some occasions we had to send back the food as the quantity was so large :)

Food was always delicious and piping hot at every meal, be it breakfast, lunch or dinner. The first evening the Chef came to our room to check if the meals were satisfactory and if we had some special requests or some special food required. Hats of to the Kitchen & F&B team.

Housekeeping guys were always full of surprises. Every evening, they would provide turn down service with a beautiful flower arrangement on our bed. Daily something new & creative. The team also went out of their way to buy us certain brand cigs which were not available at the hotel.

All in all this was a fantastic stay and I would definitely be returning next year. Keep it up Citrus team and see you all next year for sure.

The only reason, I have rated a 4 not 5 is because I thought the AC didn't cool enough. The staff did offer to change our rooms but we were too lazy after unpacking. However to add to that my husband was frozen most of the time due to the AC and I usually had to thaw him out :)

TIP: Do not leave the bathroom lights on at night. The lights attract all the possible flying creatures you can imagine. I am talking in thousands. The hotel do fumigate regularly but due to the paddy field on one side and back water on the other side, this is eminent. We made this mistake on our first night. During the rest of the stay, we ensured to switch of the lights in the bathroom at night, only switching them on when required. That was fine, no flying creatures to face after that. Also, I am terrified of any kind of insects, be it crawling or flying but even I was completely at ease.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create few happy memories for you!

Please be assured that the suggestion you’re raised have been address, and the appropriate action has been taken. The principal goal of our Resort is to provide dependable service to our entire guest.

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Awesomely beautiful location with very approachable management. Hotel rooms, Spa, Restaurant, Food are all of excellent rating. Wish I had some more days to spend there. They can definitely add some more dishes to the "DESSERTS LIST". I suggest- "GO visit CITRUS....its an experience in itself !

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneha0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed there for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. it aligned with vision of holiday, lots of space to do absolutely nothing. The view around was excellent with lake on one side and paddy fields on the other. We had a room which has this view for either side and would recommend this room (211). But the only issue is the insects in the evening, (sometimes throughout the day itself, so cannot key the balcony doors open. Not sure if this is something specific here, as I had stayed in similar secluded resorts in Kerala like Athrirapally, where we did not these insect issues.

The food was good, but the menu was not that elaborate, however chef Rehman helped us with the maximum varieties as possible. The day we arrived, apparently had a large group of north Indians the food available was only north indian, I am allergic to that food to my health conditions, but Rehman was able to get me different food.

Spa was also great with nice service and would strongly recommend that as well.

One more interesting aspect of this resort was the huge bathrooms, really spacious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmadhanraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!

Please be assured that the suggestion you’re raised have been address, and the appropriate action has been taken. The principal goal of our Resort is to provide dependable service to our entire guest.

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Concept of the Retreat is very good and unique apparently a new property very well done up it only needs continuous maintenance and a little more attentive as well as guest oriented staff. Food section needs a total overhaul keeping in mind the popular proverb the way to a wo-man's heart is through his stomach.

We reached Alappuzha in the evening by road from Munnar and sought directions to the hotel from front office staff on phone but, to hardly any avail. We found our way with the help of locals & GPS. Since all the tourist ferry boat men were on strike we were ferried across the river by an emergency motorboat hired by the hotel. Upon arrival we felt lost and felt not welcome, perhaps due to change in shift staff. We had to impose ourselves on the duty staff to allot us rooms and serve drinking water.

Rooms were nice and tidy facing the riverfront on the back side with a small covered sit-out with chairs. Semi open attached bathroom was neat & clean attached pool was not clean enough to attract us due to rainy season. Mosquitoes were big menace after the sunset in electric lights. Greenery lawn and swimming pool was fairly well maintained.

Dinning hall and reception area was connected through stoned pathway in lawn but, for rains & sunshine no canopy is provided as well as lights in pathways for night stares in the eye's instead lightning the pathway.

The General Manger of the Hotel Mr. Nair himself was a wonderful host covering up all the deficiencies in services with his personal touch and charm and the gesture of visiting us in the room after due intimation is a rare gesture more then appreciated. He also properly guided about the places of prominence to be visited. We are genuinely grateful to him for the gift samples of Kerala herbs.

All in all in was a good experience. The undersigned is open to provide the consulting and implementing the suggestions to Citrus in improving staff efficiency & productivity through training at front office, housekeeping and F&B but retrenching and changing the staff is the last option.

Room Tip: Opt for cottages having open plan bathrooms and private pool having a river front opening wit a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satsangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create few happy memories for you!

Please be assured that the suggestion you’re raised have been address, and the appropriate action has been taken. The principal goal of our Resort is to provide dependable service to our entire guest.

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus!

Regards,

Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 71 in Alappuzha
138 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 71 in Alappuzha
384 reviews
4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 71 in Alappuzha
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 71 in Alappuzha
331 reviews
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 71 in Alappuzha
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#7 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $79 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing