We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mindblowing Citrus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #10 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Citrus Retreats,is Fantabulous place to spend your vacation,especially if you like to spend some private quite moments.
Starting from the Elegant House boat that picks you up,to the warm welcome extended at the entrance to the extremely courteous staff headed by the GM, Mr Santosh Nair to the most relaxing spa experiences to the neatly maintained rooms to the very homely food, everything was JUST PERFECT.The Dining area with bright pink sofa seating arrangements with water bodies around it forces you to visit it again & again. The beautiful location around the backwaters & the lush green paddy feild makes it a must stay resorts in Kerala.
The state of the art Spa,gymnasium & the swimmimg pool add to high points of the place.Highly qualified & trained Spa manager,Mr Chan along with his team recommended us the right massages which made us feel really rejuvinated.
Thanks Team Citrus for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Paddy feilds are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ranjan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

562 - 568 of 701 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our second stay at Citrus and everything was as great as we remembered. Fantastic situation overlooking the river and rice gardens, the hotel is ideally situated for a walk around the backwater villages which is a great way to see the beauty of the area. The rooms are spotless and large and the swimming pool is situated in a fantastic position overlooking the rice gardens.
The staff are fantastic and we would like to say a very big THANK YOU to Santosh and all at Citrus Alleppy.
If visiting the backwaters don't overlook this magical place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamTracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

What a lovely hotel! We only stayed one night as part of a tour but wished we could have stayed longer . Lovely room with beautiful views and really quiet. Everthing very clean. A welcome break from the hustle and bustle that is India. The solar heated swimming pool was idyllic , situated next to rice fields and with a spa which provided massages and facials. Dining area lovely and good food. Service excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bellou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We were a group of 12 people and everyone enjoyed this hotel .Citrus hotel is a lakeside hotel with beatiful views .The spa and pool was fantastic even had a great massage .The paddy fields tour behind the hotel was enjoyable . The reception was fantastic and the food and cultural dance was amasing .The rooms was neat and tidy. Asess to this hotel is by ferry and the going and commings was not an issue .We departed very early and the hotel staff even gave us a packed breakfast for later.The hotel staff was very friendly .

Room Tip: the photos speak for themselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vijay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Citrus Alleppey is located some 6-7 kms from railway station . There is jetty point from where the houseboat takes us to the hotel. The location is awesome . Beautiful calm backwater is just perfect for eyes.
Check In process was a bit lengthy as there was some group of 10-15 people checkin at the same time. The reception staff had limited resources to handle such situation. hope it is one odd situation. We were staying in the lake view room. The view from balcony is awesome. Beautiful quiet morning which we can never see in any metro city is picture perfect. We stayed for one night.
The breakfast was good. We went for the al a carte option. The choices were very limited. The staff in restaurant were in limited numbers and as it was made to order it took a good 20 mins for the food to be served post order. Chef personal touch and interaction with the customers was missing for all our three meals.
The housekeeping can be improved. The swimming pool was dirty mixed with some muddy water. After inquiring we understood it is closed. I failed to understand if it was closed there must be some sign to indicate so. It must be communicated to the customers when we check In.
Gym facility is ok! nothing to boost off. The garden is maintained well. The sunset cruise is good.
Overall not a satisfactory stay as expected from the Citrus Chain. The staff did not have a smile and were not customer friendly on most of the occasion. Have shared the feedback to Mr Shamsher Singh's and he has promised to implement the feedback and get back.
Overall as per the current state not worth the price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 111sagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent two night stay observed as far as the location and premises are concerned. Warm and courteous staff observed. True tranquility spreads around. There are no sight scenes around except the back water and a small village. And of course the paddy view. We stayed a night in Lake View room and a night in Pool side room. Both were loaded with great amenities. Food was bit of concern during the stay. Specially the menus are limited with items. Though you may customized your food with your chef. Still we felt that there should be more fast food and north indian items along with some snack thing. Also, you may please note that travellers are travelling across the glob and therefore, please have some english (and hindi) news channels, atleast to stay connected with outside world. This resort is only approachable via boat (10 minutes ride from the road end point) which feels bit extra ordinary. Had a great experience overall.

Room Tip: Pool villa is a great property to stay in.. Though glass doors adjacent to bed makes hell lot of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pratik129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 7 night tour of Kerala booked through Goaway / Czech it out in UK. Only accessible by water taxi which sails from a jetty next to a main road ( VERY difficult to get a taxi or tuk tuk from here to town ). Pretty hotel front on the backwaters, rear of property quite scruffy & neglected. Room was OK but no quite basic other than lovely outlook over backwaters. Breakfast adequate, restaurant average.

Room Tip: view from higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
755 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
375 reviews
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
111 reviews
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 70 in Alappuzha
635 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 70 in Alappuzha
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#7 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $80 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing