We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Serenity all around_ A place to just relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #6 of 62 Hotels in Alappuzha
Rajkot, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Serenity all around_ A place to just relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent two night stay observed as far as the location and premises are concerned. Warm and courteous staff observed. True tranquility spreads around. There are no sight scenes around except the back water and a small village. And of course the paddy view. We stayed a night in Lake View room and a night in Pool side room. Both were loaded with great amenities. Food was bit of concern during the stay. Specially the menus are limited with items. Though you may customized your food with your chef. Still we felt that there should be more fast food and north indian items along with some snack thing. Also, you may please note that travellers are travelling across the glob and therefore, please have some english (and hindi) news channels, atleast to stay connected with outside world. This resort is only approachable via boat (10 minutes ride from the road end point) which feels bit extra ordinary. Had a great experience overall.

Room Tip: Pool villa is a great property to stay in.. Though glass doors adjacent to bed makes hell lot of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pratik129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    149
    55
    18
    12
See reviews for
245
213
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of a 7 night tour of Kerala booked through Goaway / Czech it out in UK. Only accessible by water taxi which sails from a jetty next to a main road ( VERY difficult to get a taxi or tuk tuk from here to town ). Pretty hotel front on the backwaters, rear of property quite scruffy & neglected. Room was OK but no quite basic other than lovely outlook over backwaters. Breakfast adequate, restaurant average.

Room Tip: view from higher level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience Citrus Alleppey.
I offer my sincere apologies for not delivering to the level of finesse and detail you have grown to expect out of Citrus. I have read your feedback sent to my attention and have read it in utmost detail.

Personalised and attentive service and food taste at our restaurant is our strength and Lack of promptness and efficiency from our team which you experienced is a rare lapse and one which I truly regret. Thank you for highlighting the inconsistency. I assure you that I will personally address your inputs with the team and take measures for ensuring that such incidents do not repeat.

Please do consider staying with us again and give us an opportunity to showcase the best of our hospitality to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Right at backwaters.....
If you want to just laze around and enjoy the backwaters, this can be an excellent option. Ideal for short stay only as it's inside backwaters and will not have much activities.

Only way to reach the resort is by the boat which is arranged by hotel. So advisable to be in touch with the hotel about your arrival time. We reached the spot, from where the boat starts at 2:00 p.m.Have to wait for 45 minutes before they could arrange for the boat, which will take us to the resort.

Food quality was good, but had more of south india touch. We took an all meals inclusive plan as no accessible restaraunts are near by.

Value for money; is not as expensive as kumarokam properties, where we had to pay some obscene money.

overall a beautiful expereince

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooing backwaters in no case paddy view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Èxcellent place to stay for few days with your family. .great location. .amazing staff service and attention. .The food was very good. .the chef ensured that each guest's taste pallet is amply satisfied. .he sometimes made dish to order which were not there in the menu..my wife and mother had a day when they were fasting during our stay at Citrus Alleppey, so the chef took special care of them with out of the menu jain food..we had excellent time there. .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishekpansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travelled here in Nov,2012. Going in he boat to the hotel in itself was different and pleasurable exoerience. We reached there at 3:30 PM. we have included lunch in our bookings and we were later as the lunch close time was 2 PM.Still the people were ready to arrange the lunch for us without any disappointment on their face,,, we ordered very less as the lunch tme was already passed and they insisted we could order more.. A gesture to be appreciated.

Then we had the sunset cruise for them which was complimentary.. we enjoyed every bit of it..
A complimentary head or foot massage was again a fun.

The rooms are just awesome looking at the backwaters...very comfy.. neat and clean beyond our expectations... Food is just excellent and their manager (forgot his name) who helped us while dining was very polite and took care that we were comfortable and enjoyed each momment of the stay.

WE had take a massage from them which was excellent.. and coz of it we were late for breakfast which gets over by 10 AM but still they provided us the same at 11: 00 AM.what a good service.. wwe were glad.

Also , not to forget the mohininatyam dance organised by them during dinner. a must watch..

We just didnt realise how our two days got over and wnated to stay more here. We would be definitley back here again.. Thanks Citrus for pleasurable stay...

Room Tip: You should take lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruti_Sant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

i visited this resort from dec 8 -9 2012 . ultimate resort , rooms are big and beautiful , nice view of backwaters from balcony . bathroom was big and ultramodern . pool was great . food was delicious and tasty . evening boat cruise was in ac house boat . thanks for making our trip wonderful....................................................

Room Tip: back waters facing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeetu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

a long road trip and a 10 minute boat ride out to the resort means that this retreat really is far from the maddening crowd. We stayed for 4 nights; and loved every bit of it. The staff was stretched thin at times (esp housekeeping folk) but they can't be faulted for effort. The food is a great mix of Indian and typical Keralaite delicacies. Beyond the hotel, is one of the most beautiful places on earth... which boasts some of the big name chain resorts - and that is a good thing. A day trip on the houseboat (arranged through the hotel) and strolls around the verdant greens are great options to consider; once you get done with the hotel spa or lazing by the pool. All in - great value. We loved our time there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellsrikanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#3 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#15 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
12.4 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 stars 260 reviews
5.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 62 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing