We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to just laze around and enjoy the backwaters, this can be an excellent option.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want to just laze around and enjoy the backwaters, this can be an excellent option.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Right at backwaters.....
If you want to just laze around and enjoy the backwaters, this can be an excellent option. Ideal for short stay only as it's inside backwaters and will not have much activities.

Only way to reach the resort is by the boat which is arranged by hotel. So advisable to be in touch with the hotel about your arrival time. We reached the spot, from where the boat starts at 2:00 p.m.Have to wait for 45 minutes before they could arrange for the boat, which will take us to the resort.

Food quality was good, but had more of south india touch. We took an all meals inclusive plan as no accessible restaraunts are near by.

Value for money; is not as expensive as kumarokam properties, where we had to pay some obscene money.

overall a beautiful expereince

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms overlooing backwaters in no case paddy view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAY17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    186
    66
    22
    22
See reviews for
297
245
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

Èxcellent place to stay for few days with your family. .great location. .amazing staff service and attention. .The food was very good. .the chef ensured that each guest's taste pallet is amply satisfied. .he sometimes made dish to order which were not there in the menu..my wife and mother had a day when they were fasting during our stay at Citrus Alleppey, so the chef took special care of them with out of the menu jain food..we had excellent time there. .

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abhishekpansari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I travelled here in Nov,2012. Going in he boat to the hotel in itself was different and pleasurable exoerience. We reached there at 3:30 PM. we have included lunch in our bookings and we were later as the lunch close time was 2 PM.Still the people were ready to arrange the lunch for us without any disappointment on their face,,, we ordered very less as the lunch tme was already passed and they insisted we could order more.. A gesture to be appreciated.

Then we had the sunset cruise for them which was complimentary.. we enjoyed every bit of it..
A complimentary head or foot massage was again a fun.

The rooms are just awesome looking at the backwaters...very comfy.. neat and clean beyond our expectations... Food is just excellent and their manager (forgot his name) who helped us while dining was very polite and took care that we were comfortable and enjoyed each momment of the stay.

WE had take a massage from them which was excellent.. and coz of it we were late for breakfast which gets over by 10 AM but still they provided us the same at 11: 00 AM.what a good service.. wwe were glad.

Also , not to forget the mohininatyam dance organised by them during dinner. a must watch..

We just didnt realise how our two days got over and wnated to stay more here. We would be definitley back here again.. Thanks Citrus for pleasurable stay...

Room Tip: You should take lake view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shruti_Sant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

i visited this resort from dec 8 -9 2012 . ultimate resort , rooms are big and beautiful , nice view of backwaters from balcony . bathroom was big and ultramodern . pool was great . food was delicious and tasty . evening boat cruise was in ac house boat . thanks for making our trip wonderful....................................................

Room Tip: back waters facing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeetu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mysuru (Mysore), India
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

a long road trip and a 10 minute boat ride out to the resort means that this retreat really is far from the maddening crowd. We stayed for 4 nights; and loved every bit of it. The staff was stretched thin at times (esp housekeeping folk) but they can't be faulted for effort. The food is a great mix of Indian and typical Keralaite delicacies. Beyond the hotel, is one of the most beautiful places on earth... which boasts some of the big name chain resorts - and that is a good thing. A day trip on the houseboat (arranged through the hotel) and strolls around the verdant greens are great options to consider; once you get done with the hotel spa or lazing by the pool. All in - great value. We loved our time there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellsrikanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a beautiful stay at Citrus Retreat in alleppey in October, 2012.
The access to this property is only through boats and boat ride each way everyday was much enjoyed by us.
The warmth and hospitality of the staff was quite pleasing. Chef-Rehman took personal interest in ensuring if the food met with the group's taste and whether the staff could do something extra for us.
The room opened outside to backwaters frontage and it was a treat to see the fishermen and other locals sail by early morning as they went about their daily chores on the water!
The room itself was beautiful with a small attached personal pool and an open to skies shower area.
The complimentary foot massage was much appreciated!
Would recommend the place to family and friends for the warm and friendly nature of staff!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaliniCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 13, 2016
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to have you stay at Citrus Alleppey, and we appreciate your time to review us on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay and that our service and facilities exceeded your expectations.

Our location is indeed the best in Backwater.

I do hope that you have many more occasions to visit us again and hopefully, in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nedumbassery, India
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Citrus Hotel - Location of the hotel , Rooms & Ambience where Very Good, They have got a fast Check in process, Rooms With private pool is really good one(Very spacious & Good Private Pool). We can see the backwaters & houseboat cruising from the room itself.We enjoyed the sunset cruise & Evening cultural program which makes the hotel very live.
Regarding the food Chef Rahman made us happy with good food.We will come back again

Room Tip: Try Room With Private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OjusIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
594 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
335 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 68 in Alappuzha
321 reviews
25.9 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 68 in Alappuzha
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing