We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality and wonderful experence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Are you looking to unwind, relax and rejuvenate? You want to just slow down, clear your head and calm your senses? Then go for it.

Thats what our stay at Citrus did for us. It was a great experience. Resort's location is just so perfect. Its beautifully placed Lake is such a treat to the eyes. It soothes and calms you totally. Have the sumptuous dinner at the restaurant, take a walk towards the pool, sit back, look at the blue skies and listen to the blue waters... :)

Hospitality is amazing. Staffs goes of their way to make guests comfortable and happy. Rooms are super neat and clean.

Their restaurant serves some of the best delicacies and whatever they serve, it tastes very authentic. food choices are plenty but don't miss to try the local dishes like appum. You just have to place a request and restaurant is more than happy to serve your special requests. We also tried their spa services was the right way to refuel and rejuvenate. We would like to thank you Shamsher and to all your staff for their hospitality

Overall I highly recommend this place to stay. No matter you travel solo, in a group, family or are a couple, this is one place you don't want to miss.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khem g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (686)
There are newer reviews for Citrus Retreats Alleppey
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 686 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We took a liking to the place the moment we reached it. Accessible by boat, the property has a terrific view with the backwaters on one side and paddy fields on the other. We were pleasently surprised to find that the vegetarian fare was good. The staff is very courteous and is willing to take go an extra mile to ensure you enjoy your stay. This place will not disappoint you in any area.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms have the best view but require you to carry insect repellent
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Though I had first picked a resort near Vembanad Lake, a crisis at the venue made me choose an alternative and I got introduced to this one beautiful extremely friendly resort and I am so happy that I stayed at Citrus Retreats. The nature’s beauty doubles up the luxury here. Thanks Sandhya for the room upgrade. The room was really spacious and the view from the balcony was mindblowing. Rahman, the Executive Chef played a perfect host. After meeting him, our theme at the resort changed from relaxation to food extravagance. He prepared good traditional Kerala cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner and we just went on eating. I forgot what hunger was during the stay as my stomach was always full. Would recommend to try out his Kerala fish curry. Real yummy and very spicy too..One good thing about this resort is that you get to know the staff by their names and you really look forward in meeting them, always smiling and ensuring that we are taken care of.. Read my travel experience at this resort rashmisreedharan.blogspot.in/2012/09/backwaters-treat-at-citrus-retreats.html

Room Tip: Take the lake view room on the top floor for good view and privacy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsnbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

On our 9 days trip to Kerala we spent 3 days and 2 nights in Citrus Retreats Alleppey. We had booked the place based on recommendations on tripadvisor. The tour agent was Antilog Vacations who did his reputation no harm (as #1 fr kerala) by giving us a suitable & under budget Kerala Tour.Everything was booked online in haste a week before touring so we cudnt get bookings on few other hotels but luckily had this one

The Hotel is located on the bank of the Pallathuruthy River surrounded by green paddy fields. It takes us 15- 20 mins to reach the hotel by cruise because there is no road transportation to the hotel. Location of the hotel itself is one of its plus points, so no need to think twice before booking the hotel. The reception was warm and the welcome drink was served.

We booked the deluxe room with lake view. Rooms were elegantly designed and having morning tea standing in front of lake gives pleasure. In the lake gorgeous lotus were floating all along the length of the hotel. Bathrooms were also neat and tidy. Rooms were provided with the Wi-Fi internet connection, TV, Phone and other necessary things. 24 hours room service was available.

Food was up to the mark. Breakfast we preferred in the room itself but for dinner we went to their dining hall which is in the floating restaurant. In the restaurant they organize cultural program of half an hour which was very entertaining.

They have massage and spa centre in front of paddy fields where they give 10 mins head and foot massage free. They also provide complimentary 1 hour boat cruise which is very refreshing. Some other captivating activities in the hotel were paddy walk, paddy reaping, fishing, experimental cooking and games. They have also maintained the large and neat swimming pool.

Above all, each and every staff member is friendly, hospitable and always eager to listen, help and customize.

We really enjoyed our trip to Citrus Retreats Alleppey. It gives you the facilities of five star hotels. So I refer it to all my friends, should try this hotel if you are planning your trip to Alappuzha.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Usha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife & I had been planning a trip to Kerala for over two months and i happened to share the same with a close friend of mine. She suggested me to go to Allepy and stay at the Citrus Retreats. Before I landed up at Citrus we had a very long and hectic journey covering three states and I was really looking forward for a break at Citrus. I had booked the Spa package as well for the both of us. All in all the stay, the food and above all the staff were excellent. They made sure our stay with them was a memorable one and everything was looked after. Mr. Santosh the GM is an excellent leader and he ensures that his staff understands and caters to the customers requirements. I would definitely suggest this property to one and all and its a must visit if you want to spend time with your loved ones and with Nature! Thank you once again for making this trip a cherish able one.

Room Tip: Pool Villas!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Syedkazimhameed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Went for a 3N/2D stay.
The place is located off Pallanthuruthy Bridge on Alleppey Changanassery Road. When you come from Alleppey, it is the first big bridge(name on the left) with lot of houseboats in the canal. Take a right and park in St Thomas Church compound. Remember parking is open only from 8 to 6pm

Waited about half an hour for the boat to arrive, decent waiting place. Boarded the boat, its about 15 minute ride. Reached the hotel. Was given a traditional welcome. The check in took unusually long since the rooms were not ready. Almost qualified for the win – win offer in which it says 3 min check in or we dine free. After about one and a half hour of waiting and roaming around the place, I contacted the duty manager who was apologetic and upgraded us to a pool room.

The room – very spacious, airconditioned and comes with a fridge,tea maker, DVD player and a sit out. The bathroom was nice. The pool was quite small compared to other pool villas we have seen – about 2mx1 ½ m with a depth of about 4ft

The main pool was about 10mx5m with depth of 4ft. It had a kids pool (which was a lifesaver for my 2 yr old). A team of Manipuris were running the spa. We availed the complimentary 10 min massage which was excellent.

The menu was limited, but the quality of food was good. The tandoor – rotis/naans etc were not great though. The breakfast is a pure veg affair but with a decent spread.
There is a cultural programme at 8 to 9 during dinner time – could have given a brief intro to the programme for the lesser mortals who has no clue which dance is which

A complimentary house boat cruise in the evening at sunset was nice. The house boat is well equipped. A recorded commentary would have enhanced the experience.

In room dining and housekeeping was fast and efficient.

Limtiations : Accessibility is by boat only. so cater for snacks specific to children and any other amenities you might need. There is no nearby knick knack shop.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank schungath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you!

It is guests like you who help us achieve greater heights
Please rest assured we shall take corrective actions and leave no stone unturned to ensure quality guest experience.

Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Going to Kerala with my family was like a dream and it was made beautiful by Citrus Alleppey hotel in every sense.:-)

Citrus Alleppey is beautiful and huge.Starting from the boat ride to the paddy fields it is totally mesmerizing.We have such beautiful memories in the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has cottage suites and lake-view rooms that give you a breathtaking view of the backwaters.

The hotel offers a 24 hour service that is very efficient.All the staff from the front desk to the waiters to the spa staff were extremely courteous.

I would especially mention the chef Rahman Vipin who took really good care of us and made us awsome tasty food. He is an excellent human being as well.

I would recommend Citrus Alleppey to all the people visiting kerala in order to enjoy the real essence of kerala..

Way to go Citrus..Cheers!

Kanika Alagh

Room Tip: Choose a room close to nature with a view of the back waters! Its mind-blowing.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kanika_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santhosh N, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy we could create happy memories for you! Looking forward to your next visit to Citrus! Regards, Santhosh Nair

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 68 in Alappuzha
711 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#1 of 68 in Alappuzha
611 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
3.3 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $63 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing