We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven on Earth!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Alappuzha
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

We travelled to Allepey this March,2012 and were put up at Citrus Retreat@ Allepey. The property is splendid and gives a much needed break from the mad city life. Located along the backwaters of Allepey, this resort is abt 2 and half hrs drive from Kochi. It has the backwaters on one side and paddy fields on the other side!! :)
We stayed in the Lake facing room - which was extremely spacious and well equipped! The service was impecaable, every request was fulfilled immediately. They were v courteous n ever smiling, warm and friendly. Gave us some good tips and encouraged us to use different facilities that the hotel offerred us.
The best part of our stay was the complementary sunset cruise that they offer to all their guests, its a 1 hr trip in their houseboat along the backwaters of Allepey, you get to see some of the most breathtaking sights - just out of one of Mani Ratnam's movies.
They usually have a buffet in the afternoon, which was quite a good spread. Their food quantity is quite good. At dinner time, they also have regular classical dance performance.
On the whole a superb and fantastic stay, definitely an must visit for all!!

P.S.: The only not so great thing abt this property is that it is accessible by jetty only and not by road, can get a little taxing if you have too much luggage.

Room Tip: If you go during low season, you can ask them for an upgradation of ur room type (subject to availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shiraz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    178
    65
    21
    20
See reviews for
281
243
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

Everything was lovely. . .the rooms, bathrooms (totally updated), delicious meals, spa (many of us had glorious massages), pool, and the "sounds of India" echoed in the landscape. . . .we absolutely loved everything about this hotel and I want to come back. We did the Backwater Tours also which were really fun. . .watching the people living along the banks of the waters. . .washing clothes, bathing children, etc.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

I am reviewing the Hotel Experience in Citrus.

We were there for one day in the total 5 day trip of munnar. And instead of loading in the houseboat (Overrated and Over expensive) we choose to lodge at the hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and had a wonderful view facing the canal.

The amenities were good, the swimming pool and the spa are well kept... there were good options in food (very economical) which was coupled with a live performance. There is a complimentary boat trip from the hotel side, which takes you around the backwaters..

And very importantly the staff is very polite, courteous and helpfull

Totally made our visit worthwhile...and we had a very nice experience.

A BIG THANKS.. to CITUS Team

Room Tip: Request them for a canal facing room on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I am reviewing the houseboat run by Citrus. We stayed on the "floating spa" called Nirvana. It was amazing. Beautifully appointed boat, first class private chef, lush, lovely scenery, friendly and helpful service. And to top it off, wifi when docked at the hotel at night. The backwaters are a bucket list experience, and easy to access from Cochin. Just do it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We got a package deal for our first wedding anniversary celebration (3 nights/4days). We were picked up from the airport and were taken to the houseboat jetty. From there on, we were taken by boat to our hotel. The hotel is located on a serene lake and from our room; we could see houseboats passing by all day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were offered welcome drinks and our lunch was satisfying. Our package included breakfast and we had an option of choosing one free meal - either lunch or dinner. The next day, the hotel arranged a cab to take us sightseeing. We went to the famous Sree Krishna Temple, Mannarasala, Karumadi Kuttan, Ravi Karuna Karan museum (must visit, if you are into museums) and Alappuzha beach! I would recommend visiting the Indian Coffee House, near the beach if you want to taste some yummy mutton cutlets!
A complimentary sunset cruise was also part of the package but that couldn't be arranged due to some houseboat maintenance issues. That was a bit disappointing. I couldn’t get a spa treatment due to unavailability of a female masseur at the hotel. However, the staff arranged for us to get Ayurveda massages elsewhere. Also, they decorated our table on the day of our anniversary and arranged for flowers and cake. That made our day special! Overall, our stay was pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The package cost us around Rs 22,000 (excluding air fare)


* You must also check out the KTDC restaurant at Alleppey! We had a delicious meal of traditional vegetarian specialties and my husband ordered a fish fry (a la carte) which was delicious!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank n_poornima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went to enjoy the backwaters of Kerala and enjoy is what we did. The first surprise was the resort has access only through a boat. No vehicle can enter the premise. So no noise no pollution.
The staff was very good and cordial.
One issue being the ferry from land to the resort. It can be an agonizing wait with no proper arrangements made while you are waiting.
Food is excellent. Specially the Kerala delicacies. Also the night performances while you enjoy your dinner was a very pleasant surprise.
Swimming pool staff need to be a little more available. You cannot be at the pool without anyone looking over your safety, specially if you don't know swimming and you are with a kid.
Overall a very good experience and worth the trip.....
Go enjoy your backwater experience and I bet you will be in GODS OWN COUNTRY.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajavankayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Citrus resort for our honeymoon during the new years eve and new years day 2012.The resort was completely bought out by a group,but still the management made generous arrangements for us and made sure it was a special day for us.They invited us for a very well planned fun evening at the resort which we enjoyed very much .
The next day the management gave us a very pleasant surprise by upgrading us to a pool villa at no extra charge which was really an awesome experience .
The resort is located right in the middle of the backwaters and is a perfect gateway if you not planning to be on a boat or even before you take it. The service at the resort is impeccable and the staff is very friendly .We couldn't have hoped for anything better.Thanks Mr Santosh and your team for making our stay so memorable!Keep it up.
We definitely plan on visiting your resort again in future !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaushik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this review, July 15, 2016
Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#19 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Abad Turtle Beach
Abad Turtle Beach
#2 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
12.4 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#7 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
5.6 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#4 of 67 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Property: Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Business Hotel in Alappuzha
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing