We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Nearby Hotels
Punnamada Resort(Alappuzha)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$55
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Deshadan Backwater Resort(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$51
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$130
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abad Turtle Beach(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$84
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Alleppey(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$80
Ramada Alleppey
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The World Backwaters(Alappuzha)(Great Value!)
$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (743)
    Filter reviews
    743 results
    Traveler rating
    412
    199
    75
    26
    31
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    412
    199
    75
    26
    31
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewspaddy fieldspool villafoot massagefloating restaurantpaddy view roomssunset cruisecultural programtraditional dancecomplimentary massageboat ridedance performanceevery eveningcooking classback watersgames rooman awesome experienceboat service
    Filter
    Updating list...
    700 - 705 of 743 reviews
    Reviewed March 1, 2012

    I am reviewing the Hotel Experience in Citrus.

    We were there for one day in the total 5 day trip of munnar. And instead of loading in the houseboat (Overrated and Over expensive) we choose to lodge at the hotel. The rooms were tastefully decorated, and had a wonderful view facing the canal.

    The amenities were good, the swimming pool and the spa are well kept... there were good options in food (very economical) which was coupled with a live performance. There is a complimentary boat trip from the hotel side, which takes you around the backwaters..

    And very importantly the staff is very polite, courteous and helpfull

    Totally made our visit worthwhile...and we had a very nice experience.

    A BIG THANKS.. to CITUS Team

    Room Tip: Request them for a canal facing room on the first floor...
    • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Priyank D
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

    We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 22, 2012

    I am reviewing the houseboat run by Citrus. We stayed on the "floating spa" called Nirvana. It was amazing. Beautifully appointed boat, first class private chef, lush, lovely scenery, friendly and helpful service. And to top it off, wifi when docked at the hotel at night. The backwaters are a bucket list experience, and easy to access from Cochin. Just do it.

    • Stayed: February 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ichiji
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

    We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed February 13, 2012

    We got a package deal for our first wedding anniversary celebration (3 nights/4days). We were picked up from the airport and were taken to the houseboat jetty. From there on, we were taken by boat to our hotel. The hotel is located on a serene lake and from our room; we could see houseboats passing by all day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were offered welcome drinks and our lunch was satisfying. Our package included breakfast and we had an option of choosing one free meal - either lunch or dinner. The next day, the hotel arranged a cab to take us sightseeing. We went to the famous Sree Krishna Temple, Mannarasala, Karumadi Kuttan, Ravi Karuna Karan museum (must visit, if you are into museums) and Alappuzha beach! I would recommend visiting the Indian Coffee House, near the beach if you want to taste some yummy mutton cutlets!
    A complimentary sunset cruise was also part of the package but that couldn't be arranged due to some houseboat maintenance issues. That was a bit disappointing. I couldn’t get a spa treatment due to unavailability of a female masseur at the hotel. However, the staff arranged for us to get Ayurveda massages elsewhere. Also, they decorated our table on the day of our anniversary and arranged for flowers and cake. That made our day special! Overall, our stay was pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

    The package cost us around Rs 22,000 (excluding air fare)


    * You must also check out the KTDC restaurant at Alleppey! We had a delicious meal of traditional vegetarian specialties and my husband ordered a fish fry (a la carte) which was delicious!

    • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank n_poornima82
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

    We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 29, 2012

    We went to enjoy the backwaters of Kerala and enjoy is what we did. The first surprise was the resort has access only through a boat. No vehicle can enter the premise. So no noise no pollution.
    The staff was very good and cordial.
    One issue being the ferry from land to the resort. It can be an agonizing wait with no proper arrangements made while you are waiting.
    Food is excellent. Specially the Kerala delicacies. Also the night performances while you enjoy your dinner was a very pleasant surprise.
    Swimming pool staff need to be a little more available. You cannot be at the pool without anyone looking over your safety, specially if you don't know swimming and you are with a kid.
    Overall a very good experience and worth the trip.....
    Go enjoy your backwater experience and I bet you will be in GODS OWN COUNTRY.

    • Stayed: January 2012
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Rajavankayala
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

    We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 18, 2012

    We stayed at Citrus resort for our honeymoon during the new years eve and new years day 2012.The resort was completely bought out by a group,but still the management made generous arrangements for us and made sure it was a special day for us.They invited us for a very well planned fun evening at the resort which we enjoyed very much .
    The next day the management gave us a very pleasant surprise by upgrading us to a pool villa at no extra charge which was really an awesome experience .
    The resort is located right in the middle of the backwaters and is a perfect gateway if you not planning to be on a boat or even before you take it. The service at the resort is impeccable and the staff is very friendly .We couldn't have hoped for anything better.Thanks Mr Santosh and your team for making our stay so memorable!Keep it up.
    We definitely plan on visiting your resort again in future !

    • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    4  Thank Kaushik C
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

    Dear Sir,

    Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

    We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews