We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing backwater cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Ranked #9 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed February 22, 2012

I am reviewing the houseboat run by Citrus. We stayed on the "floating spa" called Nirvana. It was amazing. Beautifully appointed boat, first class private chef, lush, lovely scenery, friendly and helpful service. And to top it off, wifi when docked at the hotel at night. The backwaters are a bucket list experience, and easy to access from Cochin. Just do it.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ichiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 724 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2012

We got a package deal for our first wedding anniversary celebration (3 nights/4days). We were picked up from the airport and were taken to the houseboat jetty. From there on, we were taken by boat to our hotel. The hotel is located on a serene lake and from our room; we could see houseboats passing by all day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were offered welcome drinks and our lunch was satisfying. Our package included breakfast and we had an option of choosing one free meal - either lunch or dinner. The next day, the hotel arranged a cab to take us sightseeing. We went to the famous Sree Krishna Temple, Mannarasala, Karumadi Kuttan, Ravi Karuna Karan museum (must visit, if you are into museums) and Alappuzha beach! I would recommend visiting the Indian Coffee House, near the beach if you want to taste some yummy mutton cutlets!
A complimentary sunset cruise was also part of the package but that couldn't be arranged due to some houseboat maintenance issues. That was a bit disappointing. I couldn’t get a spa treatment due to unavailability of a female masseur at the hotel. However, the staff arranged for us to get Ayurveda massages elsewhere. Also, they decorated our table on the day of our anniversary and arranged for flowers and cake. That made our day special! Overall, our stay was pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

The package cost us around Rs 22,000 (excluding air fare)


* You must also check out the KTDC restaurant at Alleppey! We had a delicious meal of traditional vegetarian specialties and my husband ordered a fish fry (a la carte) which was delicious!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_poornima82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We went to enjoy the backwaters of Kerala and enjoy is what we did. The first surprise was the resort has access only through a boat. No vehicle can enter the premise. So no noise no pollution.
The staff was very good and cordial.
One issue being the ferry from land to the resort. It can be an agonizing wait with no proper arrangements made while you are waiting.
Food is excellent. Specially the Kerala delicacies. Also the night performances while you enjoy your dinner was a very pleasant surprise.
Swimming pool staff need to be a little more available. You cannot be at the pool without anyone looking over your safety, specially if you don't know swimming and you are with a kid.
Overall a very good experience and worth the trip.....
Go enjoy your backwater experience and I bet you will be in GODS OWN COUNTRY.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rajavankayala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at Citrus resort for our honeymoon during the new years eve and new years day 2012.The resort was completely bought out by a group,but still the management made generous arrangements for us and made sure it was a special day for us.They invited us for a very well planned fun evening at the resort which we enjoyed very much .
The next day the management gave us a very pleasant surprise by upgrading us to a pool villa at no extra charge which was really an awesome experience .
The resort is located right in the middle of the backwaters and is a perfect gateway if you not planning to be on a boat or even before you take it. The service at the resort is impeccable and the staff is very friendly .We couldn't have hoped for anything better.Thanks Mr Santosh and your team for making our stay so memorable!Keep it up.
We definitely plan on visiting your resort again in future !

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kaushik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed in Citrus Resort in the month of January 2012. The lake & paddy view is mind blowing; they enhanced the natural beauty with additional landscaping and interior. Everything is perfectly build there with high standard.

Citrus Staffs are so pleasant and welcoming they had solution for everything.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2012

If you are looking for a secluded getaway or romantic retreat-- this hotel is for you! The rooms are nice, new and clean-- none of the others I have visited in India are. The location so close to the backwaters create a gorgeous atmosphere, enhanced by the resort's gardening. The only con I will mention is that, because the resort can only be reached by boat, visiting the city for shopping/ business can be hindered. However, as a retreat away from it all, this one takes the cake.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backwaters provide a beautiful view from the second level balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank christan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is clean and well maintained. The staff was excellent and very responsive. Room service was top notch and fast, and when my wife fell sick, the general manager personally brought a doctor from the mainland. He also ensured the prescription was filled and the medicines delivered to us the same day. I will definitely stay here again in the future if I am in Kerala.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farhan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince_Kuriakose, General Manager at Citrus Retreats Alleppey, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Citrus Alleppey and for highlighting the pleasant experience you had with us.

We strive everyday to deliver the best experiences to our guests and are grateful to patrons such as you for recognising our efforts. I also thank you for such a profound description of the ambience and the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.1 mi away
Lake Canopy
Lake Canopy
#1 of 70 in Alappuzha
154 reviews
4 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#10 of 70 in Alappuzha
802 reviews
12.7 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.4 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
14.5 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#20 of 70 in Alappuzha
333 reviews
2.8 mi away
Paloma Backwater Resorts
Paloma Backwater Resorts
#15 of 70 in Alappuzha
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Retreats Alleppey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Retreats Alleppey

Address: Karimba Valavu 8/504a - 504n | Alleppey - Changanassery Road, Alappuzha 688003, India (Formerly Citrus Backwater Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#2 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Spa Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $70 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Citrus Retreats Alleppey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort is located on national waterways surrounded with lush greenery and paddy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citrus Retreats Alleppey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Retreats Alleppey Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing