We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and hospitality!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #14 of 66 Hotels in Alappuzha
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
“Excellent location and hospitality!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just wanted to let everyone know that we had a wonderful experience in Bamboo lagoon resorts. We stayed here for 2 nights and 3days and it was wonderful experience in front of backwaters. Jose chetta food was yummy, we felt like we were at home. we enjoyed the canone boat ride in backwaters with the help of Boat man Grandfather(You wont belive he is at his 70's still riding the boat like anything). on top of this we loved thier hospitality(Thanks Jose chetta and Anup for this memorable trip).I would highly recommend this resorts for your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SELVAKUMAR87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Bamboo lagoon team would like to thank you for letting us being a small part of your trip in Kerala. Your feedback on Trip Advisor website is much appreciated. your appreciation and best wishes were shared with our staff

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and satisfied with our residence, amenities, service, and location. and food in particular

Should you visit alleppey again, please do not hesitate to return stay with us! We, the staff and management of Bamboo lagoon are looking forward to welcoming you back here again in the near future.

Have a Blissful Day!

bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    118
    43
    10
    11
See reviews for
139
137
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our stay at Bamboo lagoon was a memorable one. Really best place to check in at allapuzha. fantastic back water resort. To feel the essence of backwaters. Their hospitality and service is so good. Food is delicious, you need not try for an alternative. Cheta's cooking is awesome and magical. Credits to his splendid Tea. Mr.Anoop is friendly and he is free to give good information, suggestions. All the staff right from room keeper to gardeners are keen in maintaining the quality of service and keeping up the reputation of the resort.

IF you really want to feel the backwaters of kerala then this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diniadonis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience at bamboolagoon on TripAdvisor website. Your kind feedback is much appreciated.

We are so delighted that you had a comfortable stay and satisfied with our residence, service and location.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose us in the next time you're in kerala

Have a Blissful Day!
bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I basically wanted to experience life in Alleppey and got exactly that.. There is a tour via boat you can take for 1-3 hours for about 400 Ruppees. In addition there is a menu of omlets, rice, nann, curry, and beers. I stayed for 2 nights and while the wifi in the outer area was strong, wifi signal IN my room was non existant. They need to upgrade the coverage to the outer room areas.

Room Tip: Bring bug spray or a net, the outer / cheaper rooms will need it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erikmcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed with my family here during the end of May 2013. Booked at short notice, it turned out to be a great resort and the highlight of our vacation. Located next to the backwaters, we enjoyed the boathouses sailing past through the day and those anchored close by. Room was clean albeit small/cramped but well furnished, with good AC. Service was great and courteous, food was great -tasty and homely. Jose is a great cook-thanks.Anoop the Caretaker/Manager was smiling & always helpful. The resort's Shikari Boat service was most enjoyable. Parking of our car was arranged in secure place before the channel. The only jarring note (if I can call that) was that we had to use a small boat every time to cross the channel -something we are not used to and therefore scary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MohanPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Good hospitable staff, very accommodative cook...
but very bad experience with the management, I stayed about a month back, paid some advance and while checkout it was not adjusted. Even after so many reminders hotel authorities are not refunding nor responding properly.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BalajiRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Traveller community,

please note this revew is not true experiance of this traveller and intendent to mislead,this Guest booked 3 rooms by paying just 1000 INR advance for 14 may 2013,subsequantly we have booked rooms for the guset as usuvall,however on 14 he has called up and cancelled the booking
we have promptly repalid him advising our policy please find belwo communications send to the gust from our end

R R, Balaji (GE India)Dear Mr Jayachandran, as per our telephonic discussion, here are my account d...
May 22

Dear Mr Jayachandran, as per our telephonic discussion, here are my account d...


R R, Balaji (GE India)
May 30 (11 days ago)

to me


Dear Mr Jayachandran, can you please confirm the refund of advance amount of Rs 1000/- at the earliest. RegardsBalajiFrom: R R, Balaji (GE India)
Sent: Wednesday, May 22, 2013 1:53 PM
To: 'Bamboo Lagoon'
Subject: RE: Room reservation - 3 rooms @ 14th may Dear Mr Jayachandran, as per our telephonic discussion, here are my account details. Can you pls refund transfer the advance amount of Rs 1000/- back and confirm at the earliest. My account details: Bank: Citibank, NA, Bangalore IFSC Code CITI0000004 Name R R BALAJI A/C NO: 5178111808 RegardsBalaji From: Bamboo Lagoon [mailto:info@bamboolagoon.net]
Sent: Friday, April 26, 2013 12:41 PM
To: R R, Balaji (GE India)
Subject: Re: Room reservation - 3 rooms @ 14th may Dear Guest Thanking you for choosing us Your Booking for 3 double bed rooms a/c on 14th may is confirmed kindly confirm your arrival time within 2or 3 days in advance best regards Jayachandran9446818893 On Thu, Apr 25, 2013 at 8:51 PM, R R, Balaji (GE India) <RR.Balaji@geind.ge.com> wrote:Hello, I have transferred Rs 1000/- as advance. Pls confirm booking for 3 rooms. Attached is the bank confirmation details. RegardsBalajiFrom: Bamboo Lagoon [mailto:info@bamboolagoon.net]
Sent: Sunday, April 21, 2013 12:09 PM
To: R R, Balaji (GE India)
Subject: Re: Room reservation - 3 rooms @ 14th may Hello, we appreciate a bank transfer or depsoit to below acount BANK DETAILS FEDERAL BANK-ALAPUZHA / CONVENT SQUARE A/C BAMBOOLAGON RESORT-current acount A/C NO-13310200010450 IFSC CODE-FDRL0001331 Cancellation policy 100% refund in case of booking cancelled two week in advance(no refund for house boat) - The amount will kept credit for future booking's if booking is cancelled 48 hrs Advance kindly get in touch with us for any more information/clarification Looking forward to receive you and wish u an exciting holidays ahead and ur personal attention offered Best regards Jayachandran9446818893 On Sun, Apr 21, 2013 at 10:26 AM, R R, Balaji (GE India) <RR.Balaji@geind.ge.com> wrote:Ok, will do so in few days time. You want by cheque or pls advise how to be sent? RegardsBalaji From: Bamboo Lagoon [mailto:info@bamboolagoon.net]
Sent: Sunday, April 21, 2013 10:53 AM
To: R R, Balaji (GE India)
Subject: Re: Room reservation - 3 rooms @ 14th may Hello, Thanks for the booking You can settle payemnt through credit card at resort,however we advise you to send INR 1000 as an advance payment regards JayachandranOn Thu, Apr 18, 2013 at 7:50 PM, R R, Balaji (GE India) <RR.Balaji@geind.ge.com> wrote:Dear Sir/Madam I would like to book 3 double rooms in the name of Balaji, Bangalore- Ph no: 9880131667 Checkin: May 14th eveCheckout: May 15th eve Im unable to book 3 rooms together online in your website.Can you please reserve 3 rooms and confirm.Pls call me for any clarifications RegardsBalaji Reply Forward

Bamboo Lagoon <info@bamboolagoon.net>
May 30 (11 days ago)

Dear sir,

we have confirmed our cancellation policy through our mail on 21st april,our records does not show advance cancellation notification before two weeks for refund

sighting above we regret to inform you that no refund is possible as per our policies,however as good gesture we can use this amount for future bookings depends availability

Best regards

Jayachandran

Hope the above communications are cristal clar

Best regards

Gopinath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
169 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

we stayed for two days and it was a very pleasant relaxing stay. If not for the room size, would have rated it as excellent. The location of this place is fantastic. It was right on the backwaters and the view is amazing. You can reach to the resort only through a rowing boat. So plan your arrival accordingly. Coming late in the night or very early will not work out. It was bit messy during rains as well but the staff made sure we did not get wet. crossing the back waters in that boat to reach the home stay itself was a unique experience. the staff were remarkable. be it Anoop or the cook or the boat man they took extra care to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The food was yummy, lite on stomach. We had some yummy idiyyapams, puttu, chicken curry and even tea was yum. Anoop was at his feet all the time ready to help. We took small walk outside the resort and got to know the everyday life of local people.
the room size was small though. we took the twin room which is supposed to be the biggest. it was a bedroom with hall attached and the sofa in the hall is convertible into bed. the inside bedroom had hardly any space to walk around. the bath room was also small. the walls of the bathroom can be kept cleaner. Mirror is present only inside the bathroom. Power fluctuations didn't bother us much as we were more occupied sitting outside and enjoying the view.
Overall a nice place to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MasalaBox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed at the Bamboo Lagoon in March for three nights. We had picked it for all the great reviews on trip advisor but were a bit disappointed. The room was a decent size and the bed was ok, but the walls could do with a clean or a new coat of paint. The toilet was not fastened to the floor properly and it was a balancing act every time you had to use it.The generator was very temperamental and our room didn't have a key. It is vey nice to sit on the front verandah in the morning or in the evening, with a drink or having your meal, watching the boats go by. In the afternoon it gets full sun and it is far too hot. A shade sail or bamboo blind would be great.
The food,I must say, was wonderful and the young man who is employed to look after the guests does a great job and couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

We are very concerned to note that we did not live up to your expectations during this particular stay of yours.. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we assure you that we will make every effort to correct the situation,the resort is currently under renovation including painting and misalenious works

While we are happy to note that you were very pleased with the quality of our services at the staff and food,it is only when you stay with us next will we achieve true redemption.All of us at bamboolagoon are looking forward to that opportunity.Request you to let us know of your travel plans,wherein I will be happy to personally ensure that you have a wonderful stay with us.

Warm regards,

for Bamboolagoon team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
4.9 mi away
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
Citrus Retreats Alleppey
#8 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
21.0 mi away
Grand Ayur Island
Grand Ayur Island
#11 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The World Backwaters
The World Backwaters
#18 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#3 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 66 in Alappuzha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Property: Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#5 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing