We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and comfortable place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited bamboo lagoon from 11-14th jan, and all we can say about it is its a wonderful and leisurely place to stay and explore the backwaters of alapuzha. The in house cook, Jose was a warm and friendly person, and an awesome cook (he definitely cooks the best food), additionally he had a help, Vimal. They catered to all our requests and enquiries about the sight seeing around and arranged for things when asked for. Our holiday was a perfect one, thanks to Jose, Vimal. We also did book a house boat through Jeyachandran, and it was good enough. But recommend to look around for other house boat options. Over all we were extremely satisfied with our stay there and would like to visit again with our families.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the canal, preferably go for the rooms which are just opposite to us while...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica_NatureLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 377 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

Reviewed jan 17, 2013 If you r looking for real peace and comfort this is he place guys, friendly staff, clean and very charming ambiance. I got to say that the stay was very very comfortable and i would definetly like to visit again....keep roking..!! special food made to order instantly though it takes bit time worth waiting for fresh cooked sea food

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank Timon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Hotel has returned to the high standard expected of a 5* hotel in terms affectionate service and food though they have some limitation human factor covered all short comings. Will continue using this hotel for our trips for sure. The last stay was perfect, everything worked well from excellent airport transfers, Excellent location with a great ambience is a must for any stay. Highly recommended if in Alleppey

Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
Thank KKrish1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Dear fellow travelers



I came across this place referred by a travel portal

This has been perhaps my best stay in the last 10 years, I am a traveler and have seen many places ,stayed at many fine hotels but this hotel's hospitality is outstanding at the price they are offering. note this is not so called 5 star hotel but staff is very helpful and Professional up to the mark . The rooms and bathrooms are sparkling clean and yes ! thankfully the house keeping was excellent. food is awesome and I would like to recommend this to other people who r planning a short stay within your budget I am looking forward to stay in the hotel on my next visit .



Ahmed

Room Tip: select river facing large room for which they charge 2800
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank afransharja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, and must say really loved this place. The rooms were good for the price, the staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, and the service was good.
Some of the highlights of the stay were:
The shikara ride on backwaters: I would recommend this over houseboats (which I feel are dingy and overpriced) any day! The hotel has a lovely shikara boat, and provides 1 hour complementary ride. We ended up extending it to 5 hours. It was the most beautiful boat on the waters, and we had it all to ourselves. The boatman stopped at a local dhaba type of place situated on the backwaters itself for lunch, where we enjoyed a very authentic and yummy malayali thali. Overall an unforgettable experience.
Marari Beach - This beach is a little far from Alleppey town. The staff arranged an auto for us for a very reasonable price. This is one of the most pristine beaches I have seen in India. There was very little crowd, as most people don't know about it. Really beautiful and serene.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alpana_anand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013


Bamboo lagoon is a nice place to stay.
If u get rid off from your hectic life u will get a new kind of experience there like-

-u need to travel with a small boat to reach the resort,
-cool and peaceul environment,
-clean & odour free rooms,
-fresh and mouthwatering cuisine,
-small canopy for dining, etc etc.

Staff member is very friendy and if u ask they can arrange any kind of boat nd houseboat for u.
Otherthan a boatride there are more thing to do like u can walk onto the narrow path parallel to backwater and reach to the
vembanad lake nd can see the sunrise we also did the same.

U can do fishing also nd much more.
Totally feel wonderful experience there.


Thanks joseph and vimal for your hospitality,
we will surelly come again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Drakhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently spent a day at Bamboo Lagoon resort Alappey. It's right on the bank of branch of Vembanad Lake. Dont expect a luxurious resort spread over a vast area of land. This is in fact a small resort with water frontage maybe in 15-20 cents of land, but you wont be disappointed...

On reaching Alappey you have to call them up and reach the pick point from where they will take you across the backwater to the resort in a country boat.

Ask for a 2-3 hours of backwater cruise in a shikara in the vembanad lake and you will find it wonderful. Also you can walk through the resort side towards the paddy fields and vembanad lake, which will be a walk in nature's lap.

Cleanliness, service and hospitality were excellent.
The food served was very tasty and special thanks to chef for that.

Ask for the fishing rod from the resort, and you can do fishing right in front of the resort. And if lucky enough you will get the fish for your dinner. :P. We got 2-3 karimeen. :)

Again as many has said, houseboats will park close to the resort, though they wont obstruct your view to the backwater. And the atmosphere will become a bit noisy depending on the tourists in the boat between 6Pm to 9PM.

Though the room was good, clean and secure, we lost our sleep for almost an hour in the midnight due to the noise from the roof, which I guess was created by nocturnal animals running on the roof. Again I am not sure what noise it was,(man made or animal made) but it was loud enough to spoil your otherwise comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: choose one among the three rooms close to the backwater.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepu_SS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
192 reviews
1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.2 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#16 of 70 in Alappuzha
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $35 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HostelWorld so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing