We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no frillsplace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #12 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed December 8, 2012

we have visted this place after get refered by our frind who has visted last year,this place is located in tiny islad filled with green paddy fiels and village habitat,the peoples are good,including the villagers,tuktuk drivers etc,,we rech this place by medium sized country boat rowed by an old man with smile !!! rememberable journey

this is 8 room resort,few more rooms are underconstuction though we choosed a medium sized room i understand they have rooms of different catogary

the food is home made which we did not find in any other place we visted during our india trip,they have only few staff but well behaved ,though they have limited menu,you can order special dishes,bit advance,do not miss tastey river fish dishes -reasonably priced

we are delighted by peronal care by the owner who came down and personally appologised for few minitues power interuption

Highly recomnded for meduim budget travellers

parkinsonand family

Room Tip: choose room up to budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parkinsonyaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're very happy to hear that you were able to get a tretment up to your expectation

we do look forward to welcoming you again should you decide to give bamboolagoon another shot.

Best wishes from the bamboolagoon Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a perfect honeymoon at this Resort After few days at goa, two days at this hotel was wonderfull. It's a very romantic place, with a beautiful lake side,very calm and peacefull,village peoples and staff are very help full,they had organised a nice flower decorated house boat and nice candle light dinner for us!
The tour in the River is nice by canoie, and so clean rooms,they had offered a free boat ride up to bus station

we strogly recomend this place for medium budget travellers

Room Tip: select small room which they charge around 1500
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilrodrigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted to hear that we offered you nothing less than a 5 star stay!!
We appreciate that you noticed our outstanding service, the cleanliness of our product and our favorable location. Your comments are very much appreciated. Please know that it will be shared with my staff.
We look forward to your future visits.
Our very best regards and thank you again,

Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

we had a family vacation with my two kids,the place is excellant with a cool brezze and lovely food the room service is excellant the staff too, the owner personally visted us and arranged afforadble cab service,the north indian food is very tasty,while therecan enjoy fishing and back water cruise all together a memorable vacation

Room Tip: select river facing room,remember to order food in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abudhabi2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all your comments and value your input. I am very happy to hear that our staff made such a good impression on you. I have passed along your accolades and thanked them personally.

Please contact me personally should you plan a return trip to kerala. I would like to be sure you have one of our exciting packages.

Warm wishes for the holidays and a very Happy New Year,

Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

RESORT IS VERY NICE.
GOOD AMBIANCE.
ON THE EDGE OF BACK WATER. ITS LIKE AN ISLAND.
FOOD IS ALSO VERY NICE.
ONLY THING I WOULD LIKE TO DRAW YOUR ATTENTION AT IS PLEASE PRE COMMUNICATE THE FOOD PRICE. I.E. DINNER PRICE. THEY CHARGE RS. 150/- PER PERSON! YES THE FOOD IS GOOD. BUT THE CHARGE IS VERY HIGH COMPARED TO CHOICES GIVEN. THEY GIVE FIX ONE SABJI, DAL, RICE, CHAPATI IF ORDERED AND SOME SALAD! BUT IN NO CASE ITS WORTH 150 Rs. per person. If you order some extra thing, say one sabji, it will cost you another Rs. 150/-! When we stayed there and asked in advance, they dint bother to clarify that its 150/- per person! and due to that, our 3 days stay cost us so much. if you will take 1500/- to 1800 rs. room, you will get one lodge type room with no window! and it is so small that one can not walk properly even.
so keep this in mind while booking the room.
The room service is available but every time you have to keep asking the boy over there to clean the room.
for eg we ordered food in room and we had it then they took away the utensils but dint bother to clean it up till another day untill we forced them to do the same.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank archana1808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanking you for visting us and good words for food and location

however we have following clarfications on your reveiw,traveller communitity can recheck and confirm the same with us

1.the room offered to you( as requered by you as low budget room) is of size 10feetx20 feet with one 6feetx51/2 feet double bed ,2 posh chairs and one coffe table room rental is priced @1500 INR in the standard(budget) Room catogary,the room is fully aircondioned with generator back up,the rates are inclucive of taxes(18%) With a complimnetry break fast and 1lit free mineral water

2. the room is provided with a big door along with 2 windows which is opened directly to river veiw (which up to my information no lodge is having this facility)

3.the food we charged in line with market price please note we serve only fresh vegitables and fish coked instantly and do not overcharge (please refer previous traveller revews to varifay this claim)
4.we have offered excellant service to all our customers and to you too,as per my information you eat your food by sitting out side near river bank where is the question of cleaning room

we wish to remaind you that since you have opted for a budget room we have provided you the same .please note we do not treat guests based on budget,hope you did feel so

Thanks and regards

Bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We chose bamboo lagoon based on trip advisor reviews for 4 days stay and needless to say , bamboo lagoon is one of the best upcoming backwater front resorts . Right from the owners of the resort to the house keeping lady, everybody is committed to offer great service.
Place,staff and food : All were an experience in it self. Mr Jose was the star of the resort, who is all in one. He is always with a smile and very welcoming personality. Never die attitude and was at our sericce at all times.Before going to this place, we were little concerned about our 3 year old daughter's food arrangements but was very happy with the food there. Cannot forget to comment about Mr Vimal who was on his toes to get us what we wanted. Moopen who rows the canoe was there for us to move around:). Rooms are very neatly maintained. Value for Money !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShashiKumarP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The Resort is located in an island with beautiful view of the backwaters It's a small resort with seven rooms. the resorts exteriors look very cute and beautiful, it feels like home here.

The rooms were small but clean and the cook Mr Jose was there at service with a smile on his face always. The food was very tasty, my wife liked the food too much.
A private canoe of the owner was always available. We did some fishing sitting on the banks of the back waters outside the resort.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msksap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Dear Valuing Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the bamboolagoon. We value your comments and I have share this feedback with my associates..
Should your future plans include a return trip to kerala, we would be honored to welcome you back. I hope you will contact my office so that I can personally oversee your reservations.
We send warm wish for the holidays and all best for a happy New Year.

Sincerely,
Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The one thing anyone first looks for in a room is cleanliness which the rooms lack. Especially the toilets are poorly maintained. Does not have the basic requirements like water glasses or even a phone to call for one(they have a call bell although)We booked one night here purely on the comments on trip advisor and sadly the hotel hasn't lived up to it. However the staff are very co operative and friendly. They do take a bit of time but thats the least of my necessities here.
They did arrange excellent and affordable cab services which I must say after staying 3 nights at lake palace resort were not able to get us this service.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skymaiden009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanking you for visiting us

we offered you our best service and rooms which is proivided for thousadnds of travellers who are visited us,our place is well admired by travellers for cleanness and food,till today we have not got any compliants

it seems u had a bed experiance at lake palace resorts we doubt this may be a reflection of their serivce ,also our policy not allowing guests to consume alcohole in public however guests are free to drinkany thing the want in side rooms ,may be you are up set because we did not allow you to sit and drink out side which in turn agnist law of this place and may cause incoviniance to athor guests

regarding telehone etc. we have provided intrenal call bells in every room and our staff is sitting just a call away

regards
Bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
378 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 70 in Alappuzha
193 reviews
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
761 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmgrove Lake Resort
Palmgrove Lake Resort
#15 of 70 in Alappuzha
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $36 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Cancelon so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing