We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Island in the heaven of Alleppey backwaters”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #11 of 70 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This resort was a typical homestay but the facilities provided by the caretaker Mr. Jose were amazing along with his courteous & friendly nature & understanding the traveler's needs. Not only stopping at this, He is also a genius cook who makes awesome finger-licking fish curry at his best from the Menu of other dishes. Me & my wife were on a honeymoon trip & came across this homestay resort via Mr. Sharad who was very helpful. Our houseboat 1-day journey dropped us at this island resort which makes you feel you're in Venice of Alleppey. The rooms cleanliness was also remarkable. I would say its the best deal if you need peaceful home-like experience in Maharaja style. I wont ever forget this resort & will be back soon if they do so maintain the same way. This is not a paid written review nor I am relative/friend of anybody related to this resort. I personally visited this resort & I can vouch on the best service I have got here. Lots of love to the Doggie "Black man" I miss him so much. Please give him a sweet snack to eat on my behalf. Myself Pradeep & my wife Nidhi will be back soon :-)
You gave us forever marvelous remembering days of our lives at your resort. I wish this could become the best homestay in all over the Alleppey backwaters.

Thank you Mr. Jayachandran

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PradeepBachrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 377 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was in Alleppey for two days. A day in the resort and another in a houseboat arranged by them. Located amidst the backwaters, this place is perfect for those looking for some tranquility. The rooms were clean, the cook was at our service anytime. A private canoe of the owner was always available. We did some fishing sitting on the banks of the back waters, which was like having a fishing spot right outside ones own house. The hammock, the little breakfast shade, everything was just awesome.
The houseboat arranged by them was good too. They arranged for cab service when requested at the last moment for transfer back to Cochin. The stay, I would say was extremely comfortable and welcoming. If safe, clean, positive environment is what you wish for, one must choose the Bamboo Lagoon.
Neha Berlia

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NBerlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The bamboo lagoon is a great place to relax and unwind on the Kerala backwaters. The accommodation is on an island requiring a small boat transfer from Allepey. Its about a 10 minute tuk tuk ride from Allepey town to the boat dock. 

We really enjoyed relaxing at the Bamboo Lagoon. It was nice to chill out in the hammock and watch the house boats driving by. 

Because of the remoteness of the accommodation, you need to advise the staff early on in the day whether you require lunch or dinner prepared. There is no menu to choose from as such but the staff get an idea of what you like / want (i.e fish curry, veg curry etc) and you will not be disappointed. The food was amazing. Joes, the chef, is so talented and also a friendly genuine person to chat too. 

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Your kind appreciation is worthless -Thank you

Please we are located an island like place but it does have aceses through bridge around ,we do not generally use this to provide agreat feeling of backwaters and save time,next time we will make you to enjoy a long walk through bridge

Thanks and regards

bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Surprises....
1. The resort is on an island...you have to leave your car and reach the resort by a small boat....wow....felt great to see that...i could see my car from resort as the car was parked just on the other side of the back water...around 100mtrs...and it was safe...
2. new constructed small but very cute rooms....presently there are 3 room (in a cottage structure)..very soon they will start 4 more rooms...the rooms very very tidy, clean, good bathroom and fittings...a LCD...AC...
3. A cook with a smile on his face...always and prepares the best food we had during our 7 days tour of kerala at various hotels and restaurants....but you have to tell him in advance about the food you want as there can be a maximum of 3 families at present in the resort....
4. the price of the food was icing on the cake....125 Rs per person for dinner....its just an example....
5. you can do fishing whole day....just sitting in front on the resort gate...they have fishing sticks and the cook will give your baits...
6. we got a complimentary shikara (2hr) which was also a experience to have...
7. at night when all boat house were parked on the shores, we felt staying in this resort is better- you can enjoy backwater during 2 hr shikara ride, at night when your movements are restricted on the deck of boat house, we felt we could walk in garden during night....our kids were more comfortable in garden than in shikara....
8. A VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY....UNDOUBTLY

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharmaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a place to be in at alleppy. The hospitality was remarkable. People were very helpful and unexpectedly we had a very good cook named Jose. He was good at north as well as south Indian cooking. The energy of Mupan uncle was to watch out for.Then the Shikara man.. Shiva.. was very silent but again his smile was warm and friendly. The place would give you a very homely feeling and you would feel very relaxed. Its will feel like a home. The view and sorroundings were beautiful and enchanting.

The only thing that could improve was Bathroom linen.

Hats off to Mr. jayaChandran, who was flexible enough to accomodate our requests and personally helped us out for everything. Whenever we come again, the choice will be the same. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Take the front cottage room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Udit_bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It was my first trip to Kerala and with many apprehensions, but believe me when i say place was amazing, people were good and facilities were good too! would love to go more often. A heaven for creative people!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meenashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was a nice trip we are group of 9 .We took shikkara Boat for sight seeing and nearby places it also very good.The resort was neat and clean and also the maid served us a good food.I will surely refer this resort for my friends thanks to the resort people.


Vinoth

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinoth006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 70 in Alappuzha
190 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#9 of 70 in Alappuzha
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Alleppey
Ramada Alleppey
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
743 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
0.7 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $31 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing