We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the back waters, a small yet pretty place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #11 of 68 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This place is right on the back waters and we definitely did not miss not taking a house boat! The 3-room guesthouse is a small yet pretty property. They are now adding 4 rooms there. You actually reach the place by a boat steered by an old and friendly man.

The rooms are small but very neat and clean. I loved the architecture, very traditional and homely. They have 2 hammocks where you can read and chill out. Sharad, our caretaker was extremely helpful and made our stay comfortable! The food was delectable, home made Kerala traditional food. On our request, we were served on banana leaves and the experience was nice

Room Tip: Take the room on extreme left in the front side as it is the biggest one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tushita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Honorable guest,

Thanking you for the very positive review
We are building more spacious rooms, recreational facilities to serve you better next time

Thanks for visiting us
Bamboolagon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were extremely happy with our decision to stay at Bamboo Lagoon backwater resort. The location of this resort is away from the crowded city, in the middle of an island, main backwaters and one can easily take a trip around Alleppey backwaters.
Sharad provided very good room service and left no efforts in keeping our stay comfortable and memorable.
Food is freshly prepared by the staff (on-demand/request). They also assist in arranging all facilities, including the day backwater short trips.
Tip: one must stay here to enjoy complete backwater experience in Kerela. Limited rooms only, they are expanding no. of rooms from the coming season 2012.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank preetiNits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Bamboo lagoon has 3 clean, smart double rooms right on the backwaters. The food was great and we enjoyed a tour of the smaller backwaters which he arranged. The price of everything very reasonable.
We had planned to stay for 2 nights and booked over the phone but arrived to find that we had only been booked in for one night due to a miscommunication. The owner was very professional about the whole thing and arranged for us to stay at another place on the coast for the same price. He also organised the transport to that place and back the following day for a houseboat, also arranged through him. Everything over those few days ran so smoothly and was probably the least stressful part of my time in India due to his friendly and effective organisation.
I would thoroughly recommend bamboo lagoon as a place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Valued guest,

bamboolagoon team use this opertunity to express great happiness for choosing to stay with us
your revew will definitly encouraging for us to improve our service in future

we wish to welcome you again to enjoy a more wonderfull stay in alleppey

thanks and regards

Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a great experience of the Bamboo resort from start to finish.

We booked over the phone and were picked up by a super friendly guy who went out of his way to ensure we had a lovely stay. It may be a bit of a trek from Alleppey centre but it was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle and the family are happy to organise any transport. (not sure how you would find it otherwise!!)

The family cooked as amazing food on arrival and were always exceptionally helpful. Our room was fairly small but clean and in a lovely setting. would recommend to all.

Booked houseboat through them which was also fantastic... were not pressurized at all to do this but so glad we did as initally were worried at spending the money (seemed like a lot for India) but in retreospect it was a great deal in comparison to other boats. Definitely worth doing,.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear valued guest

Thanking you for providing an opertunity to serve you

we appreciate your wonderfull feed back and encouraging revew

we are geraing with more 8 speacious room overlooking river vew to recive you next time

thanks and regards

Bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Bamboo Lagoon totally surpassed my expectations for Quality, Reliability and Excellent customer service. I organised this first trip to South India by reading many reviews and found on the Tripadvisor review for Bamboo Lagoon to be most reliable and accurate.The location is a little chunk of paradise best soon asap in my opinion due to the rapid evident commercialisation based on the volume of houseboats along the river. The locals are friendly and the general atmosphere is very safe and secure, I am a British citizen but from North Indian descent and have travelled across many parts of India over the last 20 years and reluctant as I am to declare that the food, cleanliness and general sense of helpfulness exceeded the standards previously encountered from other regions of the sub continent. The staff were excellent - We were treated with respect and courtesy always and all requests were efficiently acted upon, after meeting with the owners Gopinath and his brother Jayachandra who were both charming and made a appearance at the resort all five days of our stay, you realise how the high standards are maintained both of the brothers regularly enquired about feedback on their service levels. My particular itinerary was organised by Gopinath wholly I entrusted him with picking up from Kochi airport from the 12 March 2012 to dropping off on the 17 th he also organised Ayurvedic massages and trips to the beach a local temple excursion and shopping trips and the fabulous houseboat day/night sailing on the backwaters.
To summarise I would highly recommend this resort sooner than later now that the big boys i.e "Oberoi" houseboats are in on the action the inevitable exploitation of paradise will affect its serene and natural beauty.

Bon voyage

Gin Uppal

Room Tip: We stayed on the first room in view on the photos, but even the cleaning lady was so clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thanking you for the most valued reveiw and appreciation

we are looking forwade to recive you again

thanks and regards
for bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked our stay with this resort for one night and two days. The resort is very strategically located right in front of the backwaters near Vembanad lake. Our room was very nice and clean, with very comfortable beds. The resort manager Sharath is a very friendly and adorable person. He was on his feet round the clock to ensure we get a homely feel by taking care of almost everything from food to suggesting nice places to see in Alleppey. Even the owner visited us couple of times to ensure we are having a pleasant stay. Each of the staff including the boatman, the humble lady cook, and the house keeping were very nice.
We also booked houseboat for a day through the resort which was yet again very admiring. FYI..the resort has couple of their own houseboats which are very well maintained and has a very friendly crew.

Overall we would like to thank the entire management, personally the manager Sharath for making our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: Every room is a good one, as all the rooms are facing the backwaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thanking you for the most encouraging revew and response

we are gearing up with a lot of new features to recive u next time

thanks and reagrds

bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We arrived at the Bamboo Lagoon by the resorts water taxi miandering through the backwaters at a very lazy and enjoyable pace.On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Charad, an absolute jewel in the crown.Nothing was to much trouble.The food was wonderful,in true Kerellian style.The accomodation was clean and tidy no frills and the exterior facade was very appealling,the location quite idylic getting a true taste of India living amongst the local people.After 2 nights at the Bamboo we boarded our houseboat ,picking us up directly outside our room.All in all a truely memorable stay.Once again a big thankyou to Charad and the rest of the team.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear valued Guest,

thanks for the kind revew posted,we are getting ready to recive you in the next time with a host of features

Thanks on behlaf of bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 68 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#5 of 68 in Alappuzha
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $31 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing