We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first experience of South India/Kerala.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort
Ranked #12 of 69 Hotels in Alappuzha
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Bamboo Lagoon totally surpassed my expectations for Quality, Reliability and Excellent customer service. I organised this first trip to South India by reading many reviews and found on the Tripadvisor review for Bamboo Lagoon to be most reliable and accurate.The location is a little chunk of paradise best soon asap in my opinion due to the rapid evident commercialisation based on the volume of houseboats along the river. The locals are friendly and the general atmosphere is very safe and secure, I am a British citizen but from North Indian descent and have travelled across many parts of India over the last 20 years and reluctant as I am to declare that the food, cleanliness and general sense of helpfulness exceeded the standards previously encountered from other regions of the sub continent. The staff were excellent - We were treated with respect and courtesy always and all requests were efficiently acted upon, after meeting with the owners Gopinath and his brother Jayachandra who were both charming and made a appearance at the resort all five days of our stay, you realise how the high standards are maintained both of the brothers regularly enquired about feedback on their service levels. My particular itinerary was organised by Gopinath wholly I entrusted him with picking up from Kochi airport from the 12 March 2012 to dropping off on the 17 th he also organised Ayurvedic massages and trips to the beach a local temple excursion and shopping trips and the fabulous houseboat day/night sailing on the backwaters.
To summarise I would highly recommend this resort sooner than later now that the big boys i.e "Oberoi" houseboats are in on the action the inevitable exploitation of paradise will affect its serene and natural beauty.

Bon voyage

Gin Uppal

Room Tip: We stayed on the first room in view on the photos, but even the cleaning lady was so clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gin U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear valued guest,

thanking you for the most valued reveiw and appreciation

we are looking forwade to recive you again

thanks and regards
for bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 374 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2012

We booked our stay with this resort for one night and two days. The resort is very strategically located right in front of the backwaters near Vembanad lake. Our room was very nice and clean, with very comfortable beds. The resort manager Sharath is a very friendly and adorable person. He was on his feet round the clock to ensure we get a homely feel by taking care of almost everything from food to suggesting nice places to see in Alleppey. Even the owner visited us couple of times to ensure we are having a pleasant stay. Each of the staff including the boatman, the humble lady cook, and the house keeping were very nice.
We also booked houseboat for a day through the resort which was yet again very admiring. FYI..the resort has couple of their own houseboats which are very well maintained and has a very friendly crew.

Overall we would like to thank the entire management, personally the manager Sharath for making our trip a memorable one.

Room Tip: Every room is a good one, as all the rooms are facing the backwaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volverino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thanking you for the most encouraging revew and response

we are gearing up with a lot of new features to recive u next time

thanks and reagrds

bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We arrived at the Bamboo Lagoon by the resorts water taxi miandering through the backwaters at a very lazy and enjoyable pace.On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Charad, an absolute jewel in the crown.Nothing was to much trouble.The food was wonderful,in true Kerellian style.The accomodation was clean and tidy no frills and the exterior facade was very appealling,the location quite idylic getting a true taste of India living amongst the local people.After 2 nights at the Bamboo we boarded our houseboat ,picking us up directly outside our room.All in all a truely memorable stay.Once again a big thankyou to Charad and the rest of the team.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NigelSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear valued Guest,

thanks for the kind revew posted,we are getting ready to recive you in the next time with a host of features

Thanks on behlaf of bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

we stayed at bamboo lagoon for a few days. the place is very small and in a very good spot on the edge of the backwaters near punnamada lake. our room was nice and clean and we had some great food here. we really enjoyed our stay here, and Charad really helped make it. A lovely guy who is a real asset to bamboo lagoon. he was happy to try and organise anything we wanted without the feeling that he was hassling us. the place is building 3 more rooms on the 3 it currently has, i m sure it will be just as nice and friendly once this happens, however will depend heavily on Charad staying there as he made our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear valued Guest,

Thanks for the encoraging revew and good words for sarath and bamboolagoon family members ,let me take this opertunity to breif you about us the resort is planing to develop in three phases ph-1 we have 6 rooms and 2 more in the next property,ph 2 under constuction of 6 rooms in two cottages,which will be ready by augest for famous nehru trophy boat race,phase -3 we are planing a few tree hutts with small forest ambiance hope by 2013 we will entertain through this, total land we own is 1800 sqmts in the bank of punnmada river
this propert is promoted by my self Gopinath and my brother jayachandran( we both are proffesional engineers)

we wish to welcome you again to kerala with a lot of new featurs every year

best regards bamboolagoon team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We initially thought this place was some kind of resort, and planned to have a night or two there before heading onto the back waters. It had some good reviews and looking at the pictures it seemed like Karl Pilkington himself had stayed there.

We arrived at the boarding point and took a canoe over to the other side of the river and were greeted by the manager who showed us to our room. The room was fairly basic but clean and reasonably priced at 1500 Rs. The location though was perfect, overlooking the back waters and watching all of the boats pass from the comfort of a hammock in the nicely maintained gardens.

We ate in the hotel that evening, chicken curry with chapattis and a couple of beers and it was delicious home cooked food.

The manager was very attentive and actually couldn't do enough for us. If your looking for a quiet place to recharge your batteries then I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nakedukulaleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Owner at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear valued guest

Thanks for the encourgaing revew,we hope this will help a lot of travelers around the globe to understand us

we are in developing phase by adding more cottages and private pool etc-- to welcome you next time

thanks a lot

Gopinath(director)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We had an excellent one day stay at bamboo lagoon.
Wonderful location to spend holidays, clean room and toilet.
The food served was really delicious.
Very good and prompt service.
Thanks for making our trip so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jajabor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2012

Dear valued guest

bamboolagoon team thanking you for the very positive and encouraging revIew,

we are gearing up with a lot of new features to revice you again

thanks and regards

Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Bamboo Lagoon, it is such a beautiful place, really peaceful, perfect for relaxing. The rooms are beautifully done, and located on the water front in the backwaters very close to the entrance to the lake. We were taken across to the island by boat and had the most wonderful welcome with flower garlands and fresh coconut juice.

The manager was utterly charming and made us feel so welcome while we were there. He took us on a walk around the local village which was lovely, and arranged for us a boat trip around the lake and the back waters, which was stunning.

The food was some of the best I’ve ever eaten, delicious traditional home cooked local dishes, very generous portions too! The hotel has a lovely little perfect for relaxing on the hammocks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarrietKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bamboolagoon, Director of Sales at Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear valued guest,

Thanks for visiting us and providing Bliss full revew

we are gearing up to revice you again with a lot of new features

wishing you exciting holidays ahead

kind regards

Gopinath

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
20.5 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.6 mi away
Nova Holidays
Nova Holidays
#5 of 69 in Alappuzha
187 reviews
7.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#10 of 69 in Alappuzha
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
1.9 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 69 in Alappuzha
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kayaloram Heritage Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort

Address: Nehrutrophy Ward, Punnamada, Alappuzha 688006, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Best Value Hotel in Alappuzha
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Alappuzha
#6 Romantic Hotel in Alappuzha
Price Range: $32 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lap of the spectacular Punnamda backwaters in Kerala, Bamboo Lagoon Resort offers basic modern comforts at easily affordable rates. The hotel is ideally located in proximity to the azure Puunnamad River and also offers the exclusive privilege of a house boat cruise where you can have loads of fun all day long. Cochin airport is located at 46 km from hotel and the nearest railway station is only 5 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Lagoon Backwater Front Resort Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing