We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Indian Homestay”
Review of Tharavadu Homestay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alappuzha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tharavadu Homestay
Ranked #72 of 198 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Saint-Junien, Limousin, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect Indian Homestay”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband and I are used to travel in India but we always stay at the hotels in the cities. Tharavadu Homestay has changed our point of view. We are French and also used to travel in Ireland. Tharavadu Homestay is a mix of a calm Irish Bed and Breakfast with a gastronomic restaurant. In fact, the house is out the rush of the city and also closed to the shops. Bedrooms are confortable (A/C, good mattress) very clean, spacious and with a good taste of decoration. We can't eat too chilly food, so thanks to Maria, we enjoyed Indian traditional style receipies very well balanced. And after shopping species in Cochin, I will try her receipies at home with her book. We have so much enjoyed to speak with them about their family and their way of life. They are open-minded and curious about our way of life, so very good conversations. To finish, you don't need any tour operator because Zac and Maria will explain and tell you what to do all around (Backwaters, coco factory, fish farms...) We will be back in Kerala maybe next year, we will be loyal to Zac and Maria.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lydie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenboro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Dear fellow travelers,
The review entitled "All round excellent homestay!" does an excellent job painting an accurate picture for the homestay with Maria and Zac. So please be sure to reader it in conjunction with our review!
Maria and Zac are a charming, sophisticated, and gracious couple that welcomed us whole-heartily into their lovely and spacious home. Having traveled extensively themselves, they are more than a little aware of the needs and wants of their guests who are far away from their own homes. On that note, we can truly say that after spending only 24 hours with them - we left feeling like we had made some wonderful friends. Maria and Zac are relaxed, comfortable, and easy going. They are willing and able to engage with their guests on the level and manner in which each guest prefers. We were eager to discuss the state of affairs of the world, of India, and what delicious repas Maria was preparing in her kitchen. If you find yourself in or around Alleppey, staying in the home of Zac and Maria is a “must” experience. We feel fortunate to have had the opportunity – you will too!
Madhu and Camilla Cornelius
USA

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IndiaGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My husband and I spent 3 weeks travelling in Kerala and Tamil Nadu and arranged 3 homestays through Mahindra Homestays. We enjoyed all 3 but Tharavadu was definitely our favourite because Zac and Maria exemplify the spirit of homestays - they genuinely welcomed us into their home and gave of their time as well as their hospitality to share something of their lives in Kerala.
Their home is at the end of a quiet lane off Cullen Road which is within walking distance of the bustling high street shops and a short auto-rickshaw ride from the sea. Zac's family have lived in this area for generations and he built this beautiful home next to the house in which he was raised, It is airy and spacious and the guest bedroom is large and very comfortable with an ensuite shower room and full a/c and ceiling fan.
Both Zac & Maria, without being too obtrusive, were happy to talk about their family and to tell us about the history and culture of Alleppey. Zac took us on a tour of his coir factory and to see the paddy field and fishing lake which he co-owns. Best of all, Maria is a superb cook and was very happy to spoil us with a variety of Keralan dishes for breakfast and supper and to share her recipes with us (she has written a recipe book).
We had a great time and would highly recommend this homestay to other guests.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

When I had booked this homestay, honestly I was unsure. I had never stayed at a homestay before and I had lot of apprehensions. But what a stay it turned out to be!! I can say with lot of affection (and on behalf of my family) that we now have a family in Alleppey! Uncle and Aunty are so nice! It's not a money making venture for them. It's a genuine way to welcome guests and treat them well. And hey, it's even better in reality than the pics on their website.
Uncle was kind enough to pick us up from the station, arrange boat ride and cabs for us. He made it all so easy and convenient for us. And now the best part....Maria Aunty's food!!
She cooks so well and serves it with such affection that I never felt that we were meeting them for the first time. My kid kept remembering them throughout the week even after we had moved on to Munnar! It was a privilege staying with them and we are already planning a short second trip to Alleppey!! Thanks to both of them for the warm hospitality and welcoming us in their beautiful house. I would strongly recommend this Homestay to other travelers - I bet they won't be disappointed on any count.....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prabal_834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alappuzha
0.0 mi away
Tharavadu Heritage Home
Tharavadu Heritage Home
#17 of 26 in Kumarakom
112 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tharavad Heritage Resort
Tharavad Heritage Resort
#43 of 198 in Alappuzha
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lake Palace Resort
Lake Palace Resort
#6 of 68 in Alappuzha
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
806 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
0.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Vembanad Lake Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tharavadu Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tharavadu Homestay

Property: Tharavadu Homestay
Address: Cullen Road | Vaikathukaran House, Alappuzha 688001, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 198 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a home stay. The home is situated in the center of the town but in a quiet area away from the noise and pollution of the town. We are an elderly couple who love meeting people and exchanging information and views. Local cuisine meals will be provided on request. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tharavadu Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing