We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Place”
Review of Ayana's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayana's Homestay
Ranked #6 of 195 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Place”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We really enjoyed Ayana's, away from the chaos of India. A warm welcome, delicious food, & a peaceful setting.
The canoe trip was lovely with the setting sun to finish it off.
We had a room in the house, where we slept with the windows open, covered ourselves in DEET & were not bitten. My only recommendation would be mosquito screens on the windows.

We were starved for air at night in India as we like to have at least one window open, we ended up smothered in DEET & in some modern hotels the windows could not be opened. Surely air & a fan is better than air conditioning, better for health & better for the environment!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    27
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
33
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Very warm and welcoming hosts, great home cooked food, comfortable and very clean rooms. and really enjoyed the relaxing canoe ride around the backwaters and the informative walking tour. Hammocks a nice touch. Thouroughly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Annieb888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time at Ayana's Homestay. The food was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. Johnston's backwater tour in the canoe was very interesting because we learned lots about the area and how the fields were reclaimed. We highly recommend Ayana's Homestay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank robby5005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Very enjoyable. It's right on the river so the view is wonderful. The home cooked food was not to be missed - better than any restaurant, I'd rate it 100/100. Very nice and friendly people and accommodation very good. Have to experience to believe it.

Room Tip: All the rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 919Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

A wonderful warm welcome and excellent hospitality from our hosts. The home cooked Keralan food was excellent and sitting outside the house watching the sun set will always be a fond memory. The trip on the canoe and talk by the owner gave great insight into the lives of local people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chetwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayanas, Owner at Ayana's Homestay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review for Ayana's Home Stay in Kerala Backwater. We appreciate your time and effort for the same and look forward for your next visit.

Thanks,

Venugopalan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Situated in a the beautiful backwaters of the state of Kerala, India this homestay is in a fantastic location. Your hosts are welcoming, polite, and extremely accommodating. The home cooked food is authentic local cuisine and you can tell the cook has many years of welcome experience! Go for a swim in the sacred river outside the front door or chill out in one of the hammocks. Go for a walk through the endless greenery of coconuts and palms. It's easy to catch the river bus back to "civilisation" if you wish to travel around and visit some of the many historic monuments or bustling town and cities. I travelled to ten different states during my time in India and Kerala was my favourite by far.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ajax2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayanas, Owner at Ayana's Homestay, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent review for Ayana's Home Stay in Kerala Backwater. We appreciate your time and effort for the same and look forward for your next visit.

Thanks,

Venugopalan Nair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Ayana's was one of the highlights of my trip to Southern India. The rooms were clean and the beds and pillows were cozy. The food was incredible- bring a big appetite and you will not be disappointed! The staff was very attentive and Venugopal, the owner, went above and beyond to teach us about the area. He even invited us to participate in his morning yoga session where he taught us traditional yoga techniques. It was a very memorable trip and I would highly encourage anyone who will be in the area to plan a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aly5340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
28.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
7.9 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 195 in Alappuzha
158 reviews
7.6 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 195 in Alappuzha
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#27 of 195 in Alappuzha
54 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Pamba Heritage Villa
The Pamba Heritage Villa
#2 of 154 in Alappuzha
195 reviews
9.0 mi away
Punnamada Resort
Punnamada Resort
#2 of 68 in Alappuzha
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayana's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayana's Homestay

Property: Ayana's Homestay
Address: Vaishyom Bhagom | 255A, Padma Vihar, Alappuzha 688505, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 195 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayana's Pampatheeram Home Stay is situated 14 Kms from Alleppey Town. You can reach by road or by boat at the Home Stay, which can be provided by us on request at an extra charge. Ayana's is a Community based home Stay where in you stay with different families, if you have a large group all close to each other, and experience the Traditional Kerala experience. The rates are per person basis per night, includes all meals for A/C rooms. We do have Non A/C rooms as well. We will be delighted to serve as our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ayana's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing