We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If I could rate this experience 6 stars..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayana's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayana's Homestay
Ranked #6 of 192 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
“If I could rate this experience 6 stars..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

This homestay was amazing. I was made to feel so welcome. The food was fantastic. Gopal and Padma, my hosts were so lovely. Ayana's Homestay was my favourite experience I had during my time in India. It was beautiful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    26
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
23
32
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I stayed at Ayana's Homestay as part of an Intrepid trip and it was definitely one of the best memories I have taken away with me. The home is in a beautiful setting and very clean. It really feels like a home and the food was some of the best I had while on the trip. A great experience and worth the journey to Alappuzha. Don't expect luxury- you may have a bucket shower but it's all part of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshmanCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socotra Island, Yemen
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I really enjoyed this homestay experience. The family was very friendly and informative. The food was a great introduction to local cuisine. The rooms were clean and the hosues were very well organised and comfortable. Highly recommended for a real local experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

I had a delightful stay at Ayana's Homestay. The service was great and the food delicious and leant of it, yum. Gopal and his wife Padma were kindness itself, interesting and informative. They go out of their way to ensure everyone is happy and enjoying themselves.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikaL512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

A breathtaking scenary,great people, amazing food, lovely accommodation...can't wait to go back!
Kerala State is my favourite Indian destination...I took one third of my photos there...The people are easy-going, relaxed, friendly, accommodation great and I just loved the food...the portions very generous and tasty of course...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeacherZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay here, it was part of an Intrepid tour. The location on the river was so peaceful, my room was large and clean and the family very accommodating. Excellent food too! I was taken on a guided walk around the area and an ayervedic massage at the local hospital was booked for me. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JJT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

This homestay visit, for two nights, has given me memories to last a lifetime. Gopal and his wife Padma made every effort to ensure that I was happy, comfortable and that my many questions were answered. I learnt in some depth about the river system, about rice farming, about Ayurvedic herbs and ingredients, and about Indian religions. To top it off, my passion for cooking was able to increase through the opportunity to be involved in cooking three meals, involving several of my requested South Indian favourites, all of which I wrote down to cook back home. The beauty and serenity of these backwaters was not just seen but also felt, during a canoe ride one afternoon, a walk through the river-side village, a brisk early morning health walk through lanes in the paddyfields, Another example of their devotion to my interests was when, upon hearing of my interest to see the sea, they organised a driver to take us to the beach, and I was able to dip my toes in the Arabian Sea, a thrilling experience, whilst eating chilli pakoras abd watching camels give rides on the sand.
On my last night, the family honoured me greatly by organising a dinner actually on the water. A table was placed in the canoe and lit with oil lamps, and we travelled gondola style, gliding along whilst the "gondolier" pushed with a long pole. Lights flickered on shore and the atmosphere was magical.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
7.5 mi away
Kalappura Homestay
Kalappura Homestay
#4 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
7.6 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#3 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
7.9 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
Lovedale Lakeside Homestay
#2 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#31 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.9 mi away
Erathra Homestay
Erathra Homestay
#22 of 192 in Alappuzha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayana's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayana's Homestay

Property: Ayana's Homestay
Address: Vaishyom Bhagom | 255A, Padma Vihar, Alappuzha 688505, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayana's Pampatheeram Home Stay is situated 14 Kms from Alleppey Town. You can reach by road or by boat at the Home Stay, which can be provided by us on request at an extra charge. Ayana's is a Community based home Stay where in you stay with different families, if you have a large group all close to each other, and experience the Traditional Kerala experience. The rates are per person basis per night, includes all meals for A/C rooms. We do have Non A/C rooms as well. We will be delighted to serve as our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ayana's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing