We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it so much I came back rather than go back to Kochi”
Review of Ayana's Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ayana's Homestay
Ranked #6 of 211 Alappuzha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2011

I guess the title says it all! My experience was so great I decided to return to Ayana's rather than go back to Kochi after being on the houseboat. The hospitality was spectacular as was the chance to become part of the community. The whole Nair family were warm and welcoming and my time spent with them was both stimulating and relaxing. I can't recommend this homestay more highly.

Room Tip: Doesn't matter - they're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 227 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2011

I spent a great night here as part of an Intrepid trip and had such a lovely time - I wish we could have stayed more than 1 night. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food was delicious - we were fed until we could eat no more!

The whole family were great hosts, but Mr Nair senior in particular was brilliant - he has a smile that can light up a room & nothing is too much trouble.

I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckyandRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was a bit apprehensive about staying in a homestay as I really didn't know what to expect, but the Nair family are so warm and welcoming, it was perfect! great food, clean and comfortable, can't recommend highly enough :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The home stay experience is part of an Intrepid travel trip we were on in Kerala we weren't sure what to expect however on arrival we were warmly welcomed and were made to feel like honoured guests by the family. The Nair family go out of their way to ensure you have an excellent experience in the backwaters, Vishal keeps you comfortably informed and clearly enjoys hosting people - we also had the opportunity to meet his lovely new wife. .All this is accompanied by Padmas very good food (no chance of losing weight here!).
We spent a relaxing afternoon sitting by the water watching the world go followed by a walk and sunset boat trip back to the house - venetian style - now i understand why it is referred to as the Venice of the east). A short stay here is highly recommended we look forward to visiting again sometime in the future

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwimadeinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I have just spent three wonderful nights in Ayana's Homestay with the Nair family. They are so friendly and accomodating and made me feel like part of the family. The tour of the local area is so interesting and Vinit is inspiring with his knowledge and love of the area. I highly recommend a few days in the Backwaters to rest and unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephBriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

Had a great time. Vinit was so easy to deal with. I got picked up by boat and taken to the house where I was treated fantastically. The food was amazing and the company even better. I felt like a part of the family in no time. It was also great to learn what the family are doing to keep the environment clean and offer the local people more work opportunities. This is an experience you should not miss if your headed to India.

Room Tip: Speak to Vinit or Vashal direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gooner78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2011

We had the most wonderful time in the backwaters. Ayana's was one of the highlights of our trip to Kerela and the food at the homestay is the highlight of that highlight. The Nair family are insanely friendly and never miss the opportunity to make you feel at home. They open their lives up to you and within no time you feel part of the family. Taking a stroll around the village you see how friendly and welcoming everybody is. A highly recommended experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walypala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alappuzha hotels
28.9 mi away
Kondai Lip Backwater Heritage Resort
15.9 mi away
Deshadan Backwater Resort
Deshadan Backwater Resort
#8 of 70 in Alappuzha
376 reviews
7.9 mi away
Alasr Heritage Home
Alasr Heritage Home
#1 of 211 in Alappuzha
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kurialacherry House
Kurialacherry House
#34 of 211 in Alappuzha
58 reviews
7.6 mi away
Venice Castle
Venice Castle
#2 of 211 in Alappuzha
434 reviews
7.5 mi away
Bella Homestay
Bella Homestay
#4 of 211 in Alappuzha
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayana's Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayana's Homestay

Address: Vaishyom Bhagom | 255A, Padma Vihar, Alappuzha 688505, India
Location: India > Kerala > Alappuzha District > Alappuzha
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 211 B&Bs / Inns in Alappuzha
Price Range: $64 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayana's Pampatheeram Home Stay is situated 14 Kms from Alleppey Town. You can reach by road or by boat at the Home Stay, which can be provided by us on request at an extra charge. Ayana's is a Community based home Stay where in you stay with different families, if you have a large group all close to each other, and experience the Traditional Kerala experience. The rates are per person basis per night, includes all meals for A/C rooms. We do have Non A/C rooms as well. We will be delighted to serve as our Guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ayana's Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayana's Homestay Kerala/Alappuzha, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing